We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B+B close to Altea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Rayos Del Sol

Save Saved
You added Los Rayos Del Sol to your Saves list
Los Rayos Del Sol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Rayos Del Sol
Calle Mar D'Alboran 10, 03530 La Nucia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 La Nucia B&B and Inns
hillerød
1 review
“Fantastic B+B close to Altea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 4 nights and 5 days at this wonderful B&B.
We were travelling with 3 children, 5, 11 and 13 and everyone enjoyed their stay. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. There were even 2 types of pillows, feather or tempura ( I think!),so that you could choose soft or firmer. This is an indication of Sue and Tim´s concept, they really try to think of everything.
They have a double room with french doors on to the patio with an adjoining twin/ triple room which was great for us.
The breakfast which was continental was amazing. Worth a special mention are the freshly squeezed orange juice (not limited to one glass as we´ve experienced other places), croissant and home made jam. The children were very happy with the choice of cereals, fresh fruit and nutella!
We also had our evening meal, a BBQ, on the evening we arrived. Once again, there was something for everyone, so that both the adults and children left the table very satisfied.

Sue and Tim were the perfect hosts. As Spanish speakers they had a good knowledge of Spanish culture as well as the local area. They were helpful, kind and very patient with children and adults alike.
We would without doubt visit Los Rayos Del Sol again.

Room Tip: The double with doors out to the patio was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suehorton, Owner at Los Rayos Del Sol, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we try our best to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
angus scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed in August clean basic rooms think the rooms look better on the pictures than they were.
The rooms are under owners accommodation and the first morning it was noisy like furniture being moved early on and as we were told breakfast was between 9 and 9.30am so would like to have had a long lie.
The pool area was lovely with great views.
Breakfast was continental nice and lovely area to view the scenery

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suehorton, Owner at Los Rayos Del Sol, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We are sorry if you were disturbed by noise above you, we generally lay tables up and move furniture the night before to minimise noise. It may well have been guests moving around getting their breakfast's. Just as an advisory note Breakfast is served between 9am and 10am, earlier or later by prior arrangment. This and other information is in a folder in each room. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Los Rayos for ten nights and had a wonderful experience. It was relaxing, comfortable and the views were spectacular. The old town of Altea has lots of excellent restaurants, there is a lively and friendly atmosphere.
The owners Sue and Tim were extremely helpful, and we were very well looked after.
We will certainly visit again, we loved everything about our time there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Set up in the hills with a breathtaking panoramic view of mountains to one side and the coast to the other. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome, Sue and Tim are great hosts with a wealth of information about the best places to visit (All within easy reach by car)
The photos just don't do this beautiful place justice. We will definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Spent 3 nights in early February expecting it to be slightly warmer than UK and was amazed at how hot it was! The B&B is beautiful with stunning views and so peaceful you could easily just sit and chill by the pool all day! We visited Altea,Calpe,Albir and Benidorm whilst we were there, all of which were within 15 mins drive.The photos of the views dont really do it justice as you cant fit it all in! Apart from the views the house itself is clean and airy and breakfast was lovely with lots of home made treats.We also had Sues paella which was superb!The journey from Alicante was a breeze, I definately recommend hiring a car which was cheap and we were at the B&B within an hour.We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We have visted this B&B twice and will return on our next visit, why?
1. The people - Tim and Sue are great and will do anything for you.
2. The views - of the hills and a magnificant sea view.
3. The place - offers everything you could ask for, including a great little pool, sunny terraces and even a swing!

You couldn't ask for more, a little gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Six members of our family spent five nights at the lovely Los Rayos Del Sol with the hosts Tim & Sue. The holiday was wonderful with great weather, first class service, and a lovely breakfast in a wonderful panoramic area of the hotel. The pool area comes alive in the afternoon/ evening with the sun in that area. Altea is only a short drive away with lots of quality resturants and bars and Albir with more shops, bars and a long beach a few minutes more. Only a five minute walk away from the hotel is the lovely resturant Villa Romana with an excellent set menu at 23 euro inc wine. All in Los Rayos Del Sol was a fabulous experience that will suit all ages as long as you can get up a few steps and book a hire car for trips to and from the surrounding area of Altea and Albir, Highly recommended. Thank you to Tim & Sue for a super holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Rayos Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Rayos Del Sol

Address: Calle Mar D'Alboran 10, 03530 La Nucia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > La Nucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Nucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Los Rayos Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Rayos Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.