We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff! Execellent property - great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poligono Industrial Palmones III, Carretera la Termica s/n, 11379 Los Barrios, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff! Execellent property - great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

First, I have to give a huge thank you to Rocio at the front desk. My husband had left his International Driver's permit at the previous hotel. We needed to change our plans a bit and she went out of her way to help us. That level of personalized, caring service is not found at most hotels.

The hotel itself is in a great location for touring both Gibraltar and Tarifa. Yes, it not located in a pretty area - but it is easy to find and also very easy to get on and off the highway in order to visit both places.

We did not encounter the issue others have reviewed with the shower. The tub has a glass partition door that needs to be placed correctly before turning on the shower. It was quite a treat to have a powerful shower - more of what we are used to in the US.

The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate as has been posted. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in the area. Perfect!

Room Tip: We had room 320 and it was quiet. Not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest;

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly appreciated your comments about our staff service and attitude and you can be sure that your warm comments will be shared with our them.

We also appreciate your clarifications regarding the shower and your nice explanation about our location, this will help other travelers with the distances to Gibraltar and Tarifa.

It is always a great pleasure to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    64
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
44
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We decided to go drive to Gibralter for couple of days ...to do some shopping and general sight seeing and the Holiday Inn was our first choice....situated in an Commercial Area and only around 30 minutes from Gibralter (due to traffic). After check in we went up to the room ...it was bright and clean ....however the only problem we had was the shower....as there was no door I found that the water escaped everywhere....causing flooding !...We had to use all the towels to soak up this water as I did not want to slip and cause injury.....The bed was not very comfortable but I had good nights sleep. We ate dinner in the hotel which was very nice....and reasonably priced. Breakfast the following morning was adequate. We did not visit any of the shops which were in the surrounding area....deciding to visit Tarifa instead which was approx. 20 minute drive away again depending on the traffic .If we decided to visit Tarifa again we would definitely stay in this hotel again due to the location.

Room Tip: check where your room is located as if its near a lift then it could be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others!

We hope to see you again very soon, It will be a pleasure to welcome you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour to tangiers and Gibraltar. The rooms are nice and comfortable although the bathroom is very poorly designed. There is no door to the shower and the high pressure of the water( which we learned can be turned down) causes water to cover the floor of the bathroom. Used 4 towels to get enough water off the floor so we could use the toilet without drowning! Looks nice but very impractical. The worst part of this hotel was the 2 suppers we had included with our stay. One meal consisted of canned vegetables, watery rice and boiled greasy pork. The chicken dinner was at least edible. Breakfast is somewhat better although needs to be replenished more quickly considering the number of tour groups staying here. It took about 10 minutes for staff to replenish the forks and even after that time they could only find five.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar is located in a commercial area which offers advantages and disadvantages: you find everything for your daily needs in very close vicinity or a few minutes driving away but the area is not romantic. The hotel fully maintains the known Holiday Inn Express standard (HIEx), it is quite new and very much cheaper than a (worn and torn) hotel room in Gibraltar (about 12 km away). The staff and the management of this hotel are extremely friendly, helpful, open to and interested in their customers well-being and they truly want to make your stay nice. The simple, somewhat stereotype, but adequate breakfast (where a boiled egg as a variety add-on, however, would not really harm...) is included as in all HIEx worldwide.
Altogether in this hotel you get more than you pay for: he hotel itself, the rooms and the HIEx amenities are adequate while the internet (free for gold and up members of their IHG-Club) is excellent. Thus a very good deal when visiting Gibraltar or Algeciras or the area - when you have your own car.
And a little add-on attraction is in the hotel's walking distance: a micro brewery boutique beer outlet pub called "Kettal". Try local wines but the Spaniards there have really caught up in making upscale craft beers...

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same. Above the hotel main entrance it can become (surprise, surprise...) some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest;

We are very happy that you took time to give us your comments and suggestions, in order to offer the best possible service to our guest we enjoy getting feedback from you.

Your positive remarks are gratifying and encouraging for our colleagues to continually enhance their performance.

We are please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in November 2013. Very new hotel, so the amenities are very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite good. Shopping is close by. It is a little tricky to find as it is behind the shopping mall and theaters and the driveway wasn't finished. Parking lot is a little limited. I'd go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience and our customer service and We sincerelly hope that we will be your place to stay in Campo de Gibraltar.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our vacation itinerary was screwed up thanks to British Airways (I will never fly them again). So, we quickly had to find a hotel near Gibraltar for a reasonable price. I was travelling with my adult children so needed two rooms. We were quite surprised by the quality and value of this hotel - located just minutes from the Spain-Gibraltar border.

Driving up, you get a bit worried since the road isn't the best and it is in a very industrial area. But, it was a long day and we just wanted to get a snack and a few shots of Caballero (a liqueur native to the Andalucia area of Spain - where this hotel is located). When we arrived inside, the staff was very welcoming and the hotel lobby was clean but nothing spectacular. The room rate for each room was only 50EUR/night. Since I was a Priority Club member, we got WiFi for free.

We went down to the restaurant and ordered a couple of appetizers, the Caballero, a few beers and other beverages. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant and we met a family from the United States also staying there - who we saw a few days later in Seville (what's the chances of that?!). There were soft, comfortable couches near the bar/reception where we relaxed before going to bed.

The accommodations were very nice. We had 2 rooms, each with twin beds. The rooms were very clean, well appointed, and roomy - but, not much of a view. But, for 50EUR, I was ok with it. If ever in the area again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with a view, don't pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely.

I truly appreciated your comments about our staff service and attitude and you can be sure that your warm comments will be shared with our them.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is located on the outskirts of the Algeciras. It is situated in a industrial area making a good option for business travelers though it is very close to the Highway.

The hotel is a low cost hotel with very little or no service. The rooms are Ok though pretty small. The room has a Hairdryer, TV and an Almirah as amenities. The Wifi is chargable but the connection is good.

The staff is pretty warm but it being a low cost hotel has no room service. The lunh and dinner is menu is pretty limited and the food is very average in taste. The Breakfast is included and is the only saving grace when it comes to the food.

Apart from the same there is no recreational facility in the hotel. It has no gym or pool.

Overall a good place for a short business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your stay with us is highly appreciated and we wish to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Andres Roda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios

Address: Poligono Industrial Palmones III, Carretera la Termica s/n, 11379 Los Barrios, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Barrios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re staying for business or pleasure, you can expect ultimate comfort and convenience with the Holiday Inn Express Algeciras. We have 119 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all equipped of the highest standard and quality. Convenient dining options are available at the hotel including a complimentary continental buffet breakfast and snacks and soft drinks are available 24 hours at our vending areas. Familiar rooms available for two adults and two child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Algeciras Hotel Los Barrios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.