We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peacefull location great breakfast !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Montera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Carlos Cano, s/n | (Frente a la Plaza de Toros La Montera), 11370 Los Barrios, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“peacefull location great breakfast !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

nice comfortable hotel,a bit off the beaten track but near all main rd connections for gibralter and spain,large rooms with well equipped bathrooms,swimming pool is quite small but nice and, clean,breakfast is great lots of choice tasty and very fresh, will stay here again definately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
17
36
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabastian Fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

somehow they exageate the size of the pool you see in the picture but other then that this is a good hotel. MOdern, and clean with parking, Restaurant and pool. the rooms are a good size, the bed is comfortable and one tv staion in english. About 20 minutes to Gilbrater and 35 minitues to Tarifa and the ferries to MArroco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Hants
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 6 Days at the Montera Plaza in L:os Barrios from 2nd December 2012, our room was excellent, bed comfortable and very quiet at night as our room with balcony looked out on fields at the back of the hotel. Good Buffet breakfast, we did have fish tapas one evening and although good was expensive. Staff were very pleasant, the hotel mainly caters for business people or people stopping over travelling through Costa de Luz in Spain.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We live in Gibraltar but stayed here for one night in order to attend a wedding which was held only a couple of miles from the Hotel. Montera Plaza is a purpose built modern hotel in the "Campo de Gibraltar", the rooms and shower area are large, spacious and finished to a high quality. Check-in was very smooth and the staff throughout the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, the pool area is immaculately kept and of a generous size. Breakfast was also very nice with plenty of staff on hand to help. Considering the price we were impressed with the Hotel and would definitely stay again.....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on our way back to Gibraltar from Andalucia, a very nice hotel for what we were looking for as a two night stop over. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant was good value with a fair selection from the house menu.
The rooms were very clean and tidy, quite large with a good size bathroom and balcony.

The pool area and gardens were also well maintained and tidy.

Overall we thought it was great value for what we needed for our short stop over.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be of the same standard which is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Definitely merits four stars and would be appropriate to be given even five stars!
Recent modern hotel ideally situated to explore Andalusia (or nearby Gibraltar - which, on the contrary, offers bad accommodation for exorbitant prices).
We had a very spacious, modern, chic room, with fine fittings, LCD TV, and super nice bathroom+shower-room (with the bath tub is "in the middle" of the room after the entrance - but separated from the living/sleeping part by a sliding door).
The staff was very friendly, speaking English.
The breakfast buffet was simply stunning - a huge choice of bread/rolls/pastry, cereals/jam/honey, ham/cheese/sausages, fruit, yoghurt, etc. accompanied by juice, tea, coffee. The variety and service worth a five star hotel.
A nice swimming pool - perhaps a bit too cold so we profited mostly of the little children´s pool which was a bit warmer:)
This all for about 65Eur in the summer season. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

A purpose built modern hotel. On first impression it lacks Spanish character BUT it is spotlessly clean with very caring staff and a good restaurant serving really nice meals to suit all tastes.

Breakfast is served in the cafe area and, in our opinion, is a good a selection for a continental as you're likely to find..

My spanish is restricted (to say the least) but ALL the staff went out of their way to help us - forget the building - this is not the "Costas" but is real Spain!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montera Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Carlos Cano, s/n | (Frente a la Plaza de Toros La Montera), 11370 Los Barrios, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Barrios
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four-star hotel is situated in the heart of Campo de Gibraltar and the National Park of the Cork Oak, at the entrance of a typical Andalusian village called Los Barrios. This cozy and modern hotel offers ideal facilities for vacations as well as for business stay. Spacious areas and modern decoration together with comfortable rooms and professional staff make this hotel “Your Home away from Your Home.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.