We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peacefull location great breakfast !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Montera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Carlos Cano, s/n | (Frente a la Plaza de Toros La Montera), 11370 Los Barrios, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“peacefull location great breakfast !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

nice comfortable hotel,a bit off the beaten track but near all main rd connections for gibralter and spain,large rooms with well equipped bathrooms,swimming pool is quite small but nice and, clean,breakfast is great lots of choice tasty and very fresh, will stay here again definately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seabastian Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

somehow they exageate the size of the pool you see in the picture but other then that this is a good hotel. MOdern, and clean with parking, Restaurant and pool. the rooms are a good size, the bed is comfortable and one tv staion in english. About 20 minutes to Gilbrater and 35 minitues to Tarifa and the ferries to MArroco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSeabastianFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Hants
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 6 Days at the Montera Plaza in L:os Barrios from 2nd December 2012, our room was excellent, bed comfortable and very quiet at night as our room with balcony looked out on fields at the back of the hotel. Good Buffet breakfast, we did have fish tapas one evening and although good was expensive. Staff were very pleasant, the hotel mainly caters for business people or people stopping over travelling through Costa de Luz in Spain.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyLad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We live in Gibraltar but stayed here for one night in order to attend a wedding which was held only a couple of miles from the Hotel. Montera Plaza is a purpose built modern hotel in the "Campo de Gibraltar", the rooms and shower area are large, spacious and finished to a high quality. Check-in was very smooth and the staff throughout the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, the pool area is immaculately kept and of a generous size. Breakfast was also very nice with plenty of staff on hand to help. Considering the price we were impressed with the Hotel and would definitely stay again.....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piero8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on our way back to Gibraltar from Andalucia, a very nice hotel for what we were looking for as a two night stop over. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant was good value with a fair selection from the house menu.
The rooms were very clean and tidy, quite large with a good size bathroom and balcony.

The pool area and gardens were also well maintained and tidy.

Overall we thought it was great value for what we needed for our short stop over.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be of the same standard which is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Definitely merits four stars and would be appropriate to be given even five stars!
Recent modern hotel ideally situated to explore Andalusia (or nearby Gibraltar - which, on the contrary, offers bad accommodation for exorbitant prices).
We had a very spacious, modern, chic room, with fine fittings, LCD TV, and super nice bathroom+shower-room (with the bath tub is "in the middle" of the room after the entrance - but separated from the living/sleeping part by a sliding door).
The staff was very friendly, speaking English.
The breakfast buffet was simply stunning - a huge choice of bread/rolls/pastry, cereals/jam/honey, ham/cheese/sausages, fruit, yoghurt, etc. accompanied by juice, tea, coffee. The variety and service worth a five star hotel.
A nice swimming pool - perhaps a bit too cold so we profited mostly of the little children´s pool which was a bit warmer:)
This all for about 65Eur in the summer season. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarkaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

A purpose built modern hotel. On first impression it lacks Spanish character BUT it is spotlessly clean with very caring staff and a good restaurant serving really nice meals to suit all tastes.

Breakfast is served in the cafe area and, in our opinion, is a good a selection for a continental as you're likely to find..

My spanish is restricted (to say the least) but ALL the staff went out of their way to help us - forget the building - this is not the "Costas" but is real Spain!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barrios
3.1 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#1 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Guadacorte Park
Guadacorte Park
#3 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#4 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
3.5 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott
2.6 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montera Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Carlos Cano, s/n | (Frente a la Plaza de Toros La Montera), 11370 Los Barrios, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Barrios
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Montera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four-star hotel is situated in the heart of Campo de Gibraltar and the National Park of the Cork Oak, at the entrance of a typical Andalusian village called Los Barrios. This cozy and modern hotel offers ideal facilities for vacations as well as for business stay. Spacious areas and modern decoration together with comfortable rooms and professional staff make this hotel “Your Home away from Your Home.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Montera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing