We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional afternoon at the Ostrich Farm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artestruz Mallorca

Artestruz Mallorca
MA-6014 Km 40 | Gps: 39. 382500, 3. 001550, 07630 Campos, Majorca, Spain
971650562 o 639721735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Campos
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional afternoon at the Ostrich Farm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would highly recommend this trip - we read about it on TripAdvisor before we went to Mallorca, and as we have three kids (4,6,8 years) we thought it would be something they enjoy...it has turned out to be the trip they have talked about the most! Be aware that it's not a touristy attraction, it isn't snazzy or flash, it is a working family farm - but - the family who run and own it are quite simply lovely, and gave our kids one of the best afternoons we could have hoped for!

We started off feeding the ostriches, asking questions, letting them bite of hands with their beaks (it doesn't hurt, honest!) and then we visited the babies in their own area. This costs a few €'s extra but it is well worth it, they are very cute and inquisitive! They also have a real taste for children's hats/caps which is good fun! We then stayed for a drink afterwards - you really do feel very welcomed by the hosts, they know a huge amount about the animals, having been on this site for 15 years. We stayed for about 2.5 hours all in all. I thoroughly recommend this trip, whether you have kids or not, as it's an experience you don't normally get the chance to have...when was the last time you fed an ostrich?! It's also great value, a huge amount of fun and you feel really welcomed by the lovely hosts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    13
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Curious and beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Farm staff welcomed us and treated us wonderfully. They have around 50 beautiful ostrichs (and also a group of baby ones too!) One of the good points of the visit is that you can actually interact with the ostrichs- you can feed/touch them. The farm is a familiar place and you can tell they know the animals in a perfect way - they explained us a lot of curious things about them.

Fully recommended! :D

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT! attraction of Mallorca - well worth to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Life time experience in ostriche farm Artestruz. We had the pleasure to be guided by Josephine who gave as all the details about ostrich which we had no idea about. Amazing to hear it from someone with so many experience as Josephina. Only thing we regret is, that we didn't take enough cash so we were able to pay just the minimum for the entry which was £5 per adult plus £3 for visiting little baby ostrich :)if we would have more money we would be more than happy to contribuir much more for the living of these beautiful ostrich and support this lovely farm! But we will definitely come back soon as we are staying on the island for another 2 months so we will made it up next time. We have traveled the whole island all over and we have been in such a places as Valldemossa, Cala Millor, Formentor, Sa Calobra, Equilibrum, port de Soller, etc... Also the most famous beach of Mallorca es Trenc is nothing compare to one visit on Ostrich farm and couple of moments with Josephine. Specificly es Trence was a big disapointment £6 for carpark? go visit Artestruz is only couple of minutes from this most visited beach and we hightly recomend to stop by and visit this place full of fun, amazing info and beautiful shop where you can buy homemade goods from ostrich leather which is one of the most beautiful i have ever seen! You can simply buy something which would remind you this experience which you will keep for life.
Big thanks to Josephine and her husband and we wish them only the best for the future!
Hopefully see you soon!
Tereza & David

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly Lover
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family- 2 kids ages 7 and 9, parents and grandparents spent a delightful 1 1/2 hours here at the ostrich farm interacting with the ostriches and all ages agreed that it was one of the highlights of our Mediterranean cruise! We had been to Majorca before and previously spent the day in Palma. This time I was interested in doing something different. While we couldn't ride the ostritches, we did feed them- both the adults and the juveniles, and were treated like royalty by the owner who personally showed us around the farm. My girls loved holding the 5 day old baby ostriches and can't stop talking about their wonderful experience at the farm! We had hired a taxi for the day and our taxi driver said he would definitely bring his daughter back to the farm the following weekend. He had never heard of the farm and was dubious when we disembarked from our cruise ship and asked him to take us to the ostritch farm in Campos! Highly recommend the trip- make sure you have gps or a map though if you go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very authentic experience - not touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a pleasant afternoon here but it is not a big tourist centre. it is a small family owned farm. The good side is you can really get up close to the animals and the people are very friendly and knowledgeable. We spent an hour or so here and really enjoyed it but it is not a full afternoon activity and in the heat of summer an hour or so is enough. Would definitely recommend it especially for children to see these lovely animals.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artestruz Mallorca also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Majorca, Balearic Islands
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Artestruz Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artestruz Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.