We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torrepalma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torrepalma to your Saves list
Hotel Torrepalma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Conde de Torrepalma 2 | 23680 Alcalá la Real-Jaén, Alcala la Real, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala la Real
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is what an old ad on TV had "no surprise is best surprise "
But if you are touring the "Rota del Califato" and looking to experience a different atmosphere better look for something else
The staff was very helpful there is a busy Restaurant /bar right on the street level

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariatorrepalma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Torrepalma, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Querido cliente,

Muchas gracias por su participación. Opiniones como la suya nos ayudan a mejorar nuestros servicios cada día. Esperamos haber cumplido con sus espectativas y poder volver a verle en un futuro.

Atentamente,

Hotel torrepalma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, North Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Reasonably priced at 80 Euro for a triple room, though we had to pay an additional 3 Euro each for bike parking. The usual basic Spanish breakfast was included (fresh orange juice, toast with preserves and tea or coffee). The room was well appointed but there was no heating. It was snowing outside even though it was late April. Free wi-fi.

The hotel restaurant is closed on Sundays, the cafeteria serving cold food until 8pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariatorrepalma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Torrepalma, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your opinion. It is a very important thing for us, because we can improve our services.
We are glad you enjoy in our city and in our hotel too.
We hope to see you again, thank you very much for your time.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here again as in the area (once again) to conduct business with the expatriate community in the area. Fly out to Spain (from UK) twice per month.
Food decent enough. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms very clean and are cleaned daily.
Would help you to know even a little spanish as this is, afterall, rural Spain.
Again, can't really fault it. Apart from summer visits when it would be nice to have a pool. But again, at only 46 euros per night, it's excellent value-for-money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Here I am again, giving my view(s) on the Hotel Torrepalma. Again, business trip and stayed 3 nights. Sunday - Tuesday (11th - 13th March) and again a pleasant experience.

One thing about arriving in a town like this at 23.00 is that there is nowhere open to get something to eat/drink so bring your own!

In the morning the cafe/bar/restaurant staff are friendly/helpful and busy!
Great coffee though.

Bar does many tapas in the evenings as do most of the bars/cafes in the area.

Wi-fi is free and has decent bandwidth and speeds.

Anyone travelling to the area would / should like their stay here.

Room Tip: Only ticked swimming pool as poor as there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Torrepalma about 6 or 7 times now. Always on business.
Usually stay 2 or 3 nights.

Friendly staff. Plenty of parking in the street outside or in nearby streets.
Rooms have air-cond and get iron for your shirts / trousers etc from reception.
Nice area. However, if you visit in the summer, there is no pool if you should wish
to relax and cool off.

Food at the hotel bar is ok but restaurant doesn't open until 8pm.
There are plenty of places to eat and drink in the area though if you can't wait until then.

Very different lifestyle from the costas and people should enjoy their time here.

I am back again in December and I wouldn't stay somewhere that I didn't like even if there aren't that many places that compete with it in the area. There are quite a few B&B's but can't beat the convenenience of a hotel.

Room Tip: Book beforehand in the summer as it does get rather full from culture seekers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Good value, clean accommodations in central location. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We have stayed there twice and are staying there again in a couple of months time. The first time we stayed, knowing the price, we didn't expect too much. But we were amazed. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms would not disgrace a hotel charging twice as much and the food was excellent. Parking was easy and the hotel, although right in the town, was quiet. One of my favourite hotels!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torrepalma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torrepalma

Address: C/Conde de Torrepalma 2 | 23680 Alcalá la Real-Jaén, Alcala la Real, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Alcala la Real
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala la Real
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torrepalma 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Torrepalma, a meeting point with history, art, tradition and the best rest. Hotel Torrepalma has all necessary facilities to provide our guests a comfortable and a nice stay. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone, television, piped music, bathroom and hairdryer. We have free Wi Fi, laundry service,parking,safe in reception desk, meeting room, reception open 24 hours and fax service.In our restaurant you can enjoy homemade and market food, with international and typical meals. We also have a cafeteria,where you can enjoy varied tapas, continental breakfast, coffee, smoothies and ice cream. Be our guest and let yourself be captivated by our hospitality and by all what we have arranged for you... Enjoy visiting Alcalá la Real,a land enriched by many cultures. A town with the mistery of duality. Two hills, Las Cruces and La Mota. The upper town in the arab fortress and the new town on the plain. The rural and the urban, tradition and modernity. Time and silence. Your meeting point if you want to do The Caliphate Route or to visit Granada and Cordoba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torrepalma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torrepalma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.