We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible wifi, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza del Ayuntamiento, 6, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Alicante
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible wifi, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Well on the whole I reckon it was value for money. Location great, rooms nice and we paid a supplement to look over the square! Asked for a quiet room but was told there are not any!! You are right in the old quarter, 5 min from the beach, 5 min from bars on a street that stay open till 4am, short walk to pretty areas just north of the hotel like Greek islands (keep walking up) and not too far from great shopping and a huge market selling lovely food at the top of the Ramblas and some pretty nice tapas to be had if you follow the good recommendations on trip advisor! Roof terrace is small but quite a nice sun trap!

Not that I can be trusted more than other reviewers but I can confirm its bloody noisy around the weekend. Solution, if you can't beat em join em and go out till 5am! It's a good night! The wifi is shocking, air-con didn't work (but time of year wasn't too hot in the evenings) and the rest is pretty standard. I might stay again but there are places for less with more character! Enjoy!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    159
    59
    19
    6
See reviews for
37
161
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having booked and then read the reviews I took the advice of a number of reviewers and asked for a high room at the rear of the hotel, don't bother, if you want a peaceful night stay away on Saturdays as the rear of the hotel abuts a rat run to the local Irish Pub which means noise until 4 am with screaming and vomiting. At least the front of the hotel has lovely views to the castle and overlooks the attractive square. Apart from Saturday night our stay was enjoyable, the hotel is in an excellent position in the old town and also very close to the sea front.
Air conditioning was not working in our bed room so do check it before settling in, we didn't and paid the price of some uncomfortably warm nights. Reception staff tried hard but their advice regarding sights and trips was ill informed, the boats were running to Tabaca Island and we were told the weren't. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice although the pastries were never cooked properly.
For interesting meals do walk up the hill towards the castle about a hundred yards where there are a couple of family run small restaurants. Use the trams to explore the coast,they are excellent value but you need to walk to the station near the market to avoid a tram change if you want to travel any distance towards Benidorm. The market is open every day except Sunday and is fascinating. Do walk to the castle from the hotel, its an easy walk with fantastic views and the lift down is free. If you have time also walk towards the castle in darkness, the path is well lit and the views are lovely with the town aglow below. Tabaca Island is also worth a visit with the boat leaving at 11.15 am from the sea front.

Room Tip: If you want a quit stay avoid Saturday nights, check the your rooms air conditioning works on arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for only 2 nights, however the location as others have said is in an amazing location.. We had such a nice view of the mountain and castle and the square, just brilliant

Nice good service and room was quiet.

Would definitely recommend and definitely would stay here again if I went back to Alicante.

Room Tip: Room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for one night. We booked a twin room with view on the plaza and castle. This was really unique to us, and we didn't regret at all to pay a few euros more for it! I have not seen such a friendly receptionist in long time, the welcoming was very personal and relaxed, but still formal. Perfect!
The quality of the room was appreciated: nice interior, comfortable beds and enough amenities to enjoy. I really like small boutique hotels like this!
Also the breakfast was good, but not excellent. Something was missing, but I cam't tell what. It was just not perfect maybe?!
The location though, was perfect: close to the harbour and port, close to the promenade with restaurants and bars, close to the castle entry and the old town.... Nothing to wish more to be honest!
So for me, it was worth it and I would definately go back here! Hopefully they lower the price a little bit, because it was quite expensive: 99 euro for one night, 2 persons, with breakfast and view.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In Tripadvisor this hotel has a very good rating so it was a natural choice when they offered a weeks stay for a good price. Also beeing four-star hotel is usually a good indicator, but this hotel had obviously earned their stars long ago.
Yes, it is clean and yes it is comfortable and also yes, the breakfast is fairly good, but their is no reception space to sit in. There is no possibility to by a cup of coffee if you want.
The wifi is free but it is going up and down all the time. To watch streamed film is impossible.


We got a room for disabled on the first floor with very limited view. Just outside was a dirty hotel sign and on the opposite there were a closed down kebab shop. On the positive side was that ww only had 100 meters to the esplanad and to the beaches. It is a quiet area but if there are noice outside you certainly can hear in in the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is magnificent overlooking the little square and castle, close to the beach, restaurants and all amenities.
I stayed here for 10 days in March and didn't have any bother with the noise maybe the rooms at the back are a bit louder. Excellent welcome by the very good reception staff. Offered a map on arrival and they were keen to offer any help throughout my stay. The Cafe next door is tatty with scruffy staff but many other very good restaurants and bars nearby. A tip: restauants at the front are not very good and quite expensive; go 3 streets back and you get authentic Spanish cuisine at very good prices. Lots to do in Alicante especially in the week leading up to easter - lots of parades etc.

Internet connection is a bit iffy. Roof terrace fantastic though small. Lots going on in the square - Sunday market, Saturday weddings, Sunday parades and lots of small expositons all week. All in all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the square - lots going on to look at and you'll get a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

a really nice hotel, very central and great breakfast - quite simple but a nicely done choice of fresh fruit and juice, pastries, cereals, cheeses etc. and a bit of scrambled eggs and bacon. The rooms are pretty standard but clean. No tea and coffee making in the rooms which was a bit of a problem as the hotel cafe was closed when we were there. That was he only negative as we would have liked to take the odd coffee and sandwich to our room, never the less there were other cafes and restaurants around. The hotel is super central and if you get a room at the front you can look out on to the square, fountains, town house and castle on the hill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante

Address: Plaza del Ayuntamiento, 6, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante Hotel Alicante
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Hotel Alicante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.