We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Amerigo to your Saves list
Hospes Amerigo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our second stay, for two nights this weekend. We took the Suite for four of us and loved the room. The roof terrace is great for an evening swim and evening cocktails and the food and service in the restaurant are fantastic. A unique building adds to the feeling of somewhere a bit special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel again in your last visit to Alicente.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our exclusive suites, and also the service of the roof top Bar and Restaurant.
We only have a total of three suites in the Hotel, all of them with an independent living room area that offer all the comfort and facilities that you can expect.
All the Hospes Amérigo team is looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    268
    106
    27
    14
See reviews for
107
514
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights earlier this month to celebrate my birthday. It was our first time in Alicante and we chose the hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor as we did not know anything about the city. Overall we had a great stay and there are many things to recommend this hotel but unfortunately my husband did not sleep well due to the noise from the street below which slightly spoiled the experience for him - if you are a light sleeper take earplugs or ask for a quieter room.
We were lucky to get an upgrade on our room and could not fault the room itself - the bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom area clean and modern with 2 sinks a bath and separate shower. Although the toilet was sectioned off with an opaque glass door which was a bit strange. There was a safe and plenty of wardrobe space although not a lot of hangers which seems to be the norm in hotels but for a 3 night stay was adequate. The air con was really good and kept the room extremely cool which was needed in the July heat.
We had a Juliet balcony overlooking a narrow street filled with bars and restaurants (hence the noise at night) and from it we could see down towards the castle which was lovely.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, pastries etc. We didn't try any hot food but found plenty to eat. Plus there was cava available on the weekend. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a couple of drinks in the bar which were reasonably priced. Whilst sat at the bar we saw food being brought from the kitchens and it looked really good, as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant, although the prices also reflected this. We found there to be plenty of lovely restaurants in Alicante itself and had a fantastic meal at El Portal on the recommendation of Fernando on reception.
The hotel is clean, modern and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. At check in, as others have mentioned, you are greeted with a glass of homemade lemonade. Fernando who checked us in gave us some useful information and kindly spoke in English when our limited Spanish ran out. We had an issue with the safe during our stay but we reported it and it was fixed within minutes - excellent service.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning to Alicante in the future. If we were to stay at the Hospes again though we would have to choose a quieter room.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante to celebrate that special birthday.
We will pass your very kind comments to all our team, specially the ones regarding the attention and service including our varied and fresh buffet breakfast.
On the other hand we would like to send you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by noise coming from the Street. Being the Hotel a former 16th century Convent right in the city center of Alicante in some occasions we may encounter noise coming the street.
In your next visit to Alicante, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance so we can offer you a courtyard room or a room facing the Hotel passage that are quieter.
Again thank you for your comments. All the Hospes Amérigo team is looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

On a hot Alicante day it was lovely to be checked in by staff who could not be more charming or welcoming and given a glass of a cooling drink.
All staff passed in the corridors were also smiling and friendly.
The location is great just back from the sea,at the cathedral and old town and set in a lovely old building. The room was a good size and clean. we were assisted with our bags to our room and given a run through eg air con. we had a lovely view of the cathedral and castle.
The beds were also very comfortable and gave a good nights sleep. the rooftop bar was cool of an evening and gave a lovely view of the cathedral and castle.
I would recommend to anyone going to alicante.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us and for choosing our Hotel in your last visit to Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities and the service provided by all our team.
As you could experience we try to do our best to ensure that our Guests have relaxing and memorable stay.
Again thank you for your very kind comments. We are looking forward to welcome you to the Hospes Amérigo in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in the family suite, 2 adults and two teens, for two nights in July. The staff went out of their way t help with anything. The breakfast is a nice buffet, but you can have cooked too. The spa on the 4th floor is worth a visit, a small pool and sun-bathing area with bar, plus a small fitness area and spa treatment room, all nice and private with a view of the cathedral. Walking distance to the beach, dozens of restaurants, shopping. Our suite was pricey but worth it, this is the best hotel in Alicante.
The wifi did not work well in our room, likely due to distance from modern. Also, the air-conditioning did not go colder than 23c, but with 35c outdoors this felt ok except at night

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to wifi modem if that is important to you. The family suite was perfect, two en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are glad that you enjoyed one of our large family suites and all the facilities and services of the Hotel, including the roof top terrace and relaxing pool and our fresh buffet breakfast.
On the other hand we would like to send you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences with the air conditioning. We have passed your comments to our Maintenance Departament as normally the temperature in the rooms is lower and it can be individually set for every room to the Guest's preference.
Again thank you for your comments.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you very soon at the Hospes Amérigo.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in the Hospes Amerigo earlier this year and would fully recommend it. The rooms and the service were both great and the position could not have been better - close to the seafront, the old town and both the airport and tourist bus stops. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor experience a bit of noise from the Saturday night disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the convenient location of the Hotel right in the city center of Alicante, very close to many restaurants, shopping area and also walking distance from El Postiguet beach.
We will pass to all our staff your very kind comments regarding the service provided by all the Amérigo Team.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. The facilities are stylish and the rooms are well equipped. There was a DVD player in our room which was great as we hired a few DVD's before we left home and took them with us. We had a truely relaxing City break! The room was very large (we had a suite). It had a separate lounge area, large dressing area with twin sinks. A nice bath and spacious shower. The hotel is situated in a great area, we walked to some lovely restaurants, along the marina and up to the shopping area. Overall, not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for! The staff were extremely helpful and the bar (part of the same group) next door was also excellent, very friendly welcoming people which we highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our three spacious and exclusive Suites.
As you could experience all our staff is very dedicated to try to ensure that all Guests have a relaxing and memorable stay.
We will pass your very kind comments regarding the service to all our team.
Looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for a week in June and it was terrific. The rooms were lovely and the roof terrace the perfect place for sunbathing and relaxing. The cocktails there were pretty good too! Very central location and great wifi (always a must for me). I would definitely go back - in fact some of the other holidaymakers I spoke to were on repeat visits or had already booked them.

If you are in Alicante, I would definitely say that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco C, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo for your one week break in Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to sample all the facilities and services including the deliciious cocktails at the roof top terrace.
As you could experience Alicante is a very good destination on the summer months offering both the large offfer of Restaurants and Bars right in the city center and also the proximity to El Postiguet Beach.
Again thank you for your very kinds comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel as part of our regular Guests that choose the Hospes Amérigo when visiting Alicante.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Amerigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.