We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, nice restaurant, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Amerigo to your Saves list
Hospes Amerigo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Alicante
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice bar, nice restaurant, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is wonderful with the exception of a tiny pool and glass doors on the bathroom!

The restaurant in the courtyard is amazing. We had a tapas set menu and it was amazing and worth every penny. The bar was also lovely with delicious cocktails to sip as you while away an hour waiting for cabs/friends.

Visually the building is stunning, every single element has been carefully considered...but the bedroom was a little too trendy for us, with frosted glass on the toilet meaning no privacy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful in all the areas of the hotel we sampled.

Overall a lovely weekend break!

Room Tip: Be very comfortable with the person you travel with given the exposed toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the service provided by all our staff, the cuisine from Monastrell Tapas Bar and your favourite drink at Isla Incity Lounge Bar.
Regarding your comments about the pool and as you could experience due to its location on the 4th Floor, this area has been designed for relaxation and we are lucky enough to have the luxury to have a pool with views to the city center and Santa Bárbara Castle and as you rightly mentioned it is meant for relaxation due to its size.
All the Hospes Amérigo Team is sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    251
    102
    26
    14
See reviews for
100
482
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, 1 minute from the port, and in the heart of the old town. If arriving by train/tram, get off at Mercado -about a 10 minute walk. We had a superior room which was very nicely appointed and a good size. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We indulged in some spa treatments and they were excellent. We enquired when booking if there were any special offers available, and were given 20 euros discount per person - if you don't ask you don't get! Plenty of breakfast places within a 2minute walk, so we didn't have breakfast as part of the package. We did eat at the Monastrell Restaurant (see my separate review).

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, inlcuding the hospitality of all the Amérigo Team and specially a relaxing masage at the Bodyna Spa.
Eventough there are many bars and restaurants around the Hotel, for your next visit to the Hospes Amérigo we recommend you to sample at least once our fresh buffet breakfast.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is definitely overpriced. It is not even close to 5 stars. There is no door (!) in the shower and even toilet, this was a surprise for our friends and their son. Shower itself was broken with cold water. Breakfast might be ok for 3* but is not acceptable for 5*, only ham and cheese. Our friends had to change the room because of terrible smell. Rooms are dark and uncomfortable (it has nothing to the pictures on the web site). Staff is unhelpful and unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in your last stay at the Hospes Amerigo.
Regarding your comments about the bathroom, the facilities of all our bathtubs are equipped with a fixed glass screen, except for those rooms that have a walking shower. Then the shower is equiped with a glass door, and the bathtub open. As per the toilets these are equipped with a sliding door with an opaque glass.
I have to say that we were surprised with your comments regarding the variety of our buffet breakfast. This includes a selection of cheese, continental meats, smoked salmon, cererals, 6 differente varieties of fresh fruits and a wide selection of cereals, pastries and breads amongst other items. Again we are very sorry that you did not find these to your liking. I can assure you that we emphasis in the quality, freshness and variety of our breakfast.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that you can enjoy the true 5* experience that you expect.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked this hotel online through Mr & Mrs Smith.

The hotel was absolutely incredible, we got upgraded from a Junior Suite to the Presidential Suite which was amazing!

The decor was fantastic, the staff were polite and attentive.

The location was great and the restaurant they recommended for our anniversary dinner was perfect.

We look forward to many more return trips!

Room Tip: The presidential suite was amazing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for chossing the Hospes Amérigo to celebrate this special occasion.
As you could experience, all the Amerigo Team is very dedicated to try to make your stay a memorable one.
Most surely we will pass your comments to all our staff and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Been before, in the apartment. Lashed up booking this time told we had been upgraded to a hotel room. What a load of rubbish front door handle broken, shower room flooded shower thermostat did not work. Got the apartment next day. Door missing off kitchen unit. Light bulbs hanging out of bathroom ceiling, cooker broken. I could go on and on. May try contacted MD but will probable fall on deaf ears.
Go on the way they are, will be 1 star soon
Plus side the breakfast was good. Some staff try.

Room Tip: So sad to see a rapid decline in standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
Regarding the up grade to the Hotel, there was a problem with the apartment that you were asigned and we decided to offer you a room in the Hotel. We consider this an up grade, as the price of the room in the Hotel was higher than the price of the apartament on the dates that your reservation was made.
Obviously we would like to send you our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. All the Hospes Amerigo Team works very hard to try to make your stay a memorable one and we sincerely appreciate to be informed of any problems arising during our Guests stay, so we can have the chance to try to have these solved or to change you to another room or apartament.
As you can imagine your opinion is very important for us, for that reason as soon as I was informed that your stay was not satisfactory, I approched you to have feed back about the issues that you have mentioned.
Be assured that we do care a lot about your opinion, and all our Front Office Team, the Manager on Duty or myself are always at your service to assist you at any time and listen to your comments.
As I told you after your check out we would like to thank you for the time that you spent giving us feed back about your stay, that most surely help us to improve our levels of service and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that your stay is the true 5* experience that you expect.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Handy to Puerto del Mar bus and tram stop which gives you direct access to the airport. Staff were very polite and spoke good English. Asked all the right questions at the end of our stay. Rooms were large with good selection of accessories and DVD player in room. Well stocked minibar, with complementary chocks one evening. Good size bathroom, lots of space in closets. Nice balcony. Good cocktail bar in restaurant champagne bar next door. Small bar opposite is very lively, however I got to play guitar with a mariachi band so I was happy. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also had the chance to enjoy your favourite cocktail.
As you could experience, all the Hospes Amerigo team are very orientated to try to make your stay a memorable one.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

A full package; perfect location, lovely design and spacious room. Delicious breakfast buffet and nice tapas bar. Staff friendly and helpful, especially the Norwegian woman in the reception desk Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to sample the cuisine of Monastrell Tapas Bar and our fresh buffet breakfast.
We will pass your very kind comments about the service provided by Christine from our Front Office Team and also to the rest of our staff.
All the Hospes Amerigo Team is sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Amerigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.