We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quirky gem....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal les Monges Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal les Monges Palace to your Saves list
Hostal les Monges Palace
Calle San Augustin 4, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Alicante
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant quirky gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Firstly, Alicante itself is so often overlooked as a destination - airport then Benidorm for most travellers - but, it's a mini Barcelona, beach, culture, night life etc. We saw this Hostal when we were there earlier in the year and promised ourselves we'd do an 'overnighter' in Alicante when next in Spain and stay there. This place isn't 5* luxury by any means but, it's clean, comfortable and quirky with a great location. Woke up with a view (from bed) of the castle. 5 mins (if that) to the beach. Reception staff, have to say we only saw 2 - one day and one night / early morning - were both great, with the night staff doubling as waiter serving our table outside in the early hours. For one or two nights this place is an ideal choice and very reasonable price wise - even the room minibar - I would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
9
56
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a superior room, eccellent accommodation, friendly staff, hotel has parking 10 euro a day, will be going back again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The sign outside says it all: This is a "hotel con encanto"--a charming hotel. The location is great too, as other reviews have noted.

Don't stay here if you like the predictability and perfection of a chain hotel. This is a small, family-run operation, and some may find it quirky. I have stayed here on two occasions, and both times I had a nice room with a balcony (or two) onto the street. This is the casco viejo of Alicante, so on some nights there will be some street noise, but it's a trade off for being only steps away from the best attractions in the city. The bathrooms are not large (at least not in the two rooms I had), but they were adequate.

The house has been artfully restored, and the charm comes from the typical architecture and the wonderful antiques in the rooms. (On my last trip I had a beautiful four-poster bed with "dosel" on top.) The floors are all typical Valencian tiles, a feast for the eyes.

The breakfast is not luxurious, so I'd recommend going out to get a café con leche and an ensaimada (a must try pastry in this part of Spain).

If you come by car, the hotel has a garage in an adjacent building that is far cheaper than any other option in the city.

In sum, this little gem is well worth the incredibly low prices The staff was incrediby friendly, and I enjoyed the beautiful atmosphere and the unbeatable location. I'd stay here a third time without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

NIce cozy accomodation, ideal for a short stay in Alicante as its in the middle of everything. 3 min from main square, 10 min from beach, 15 miin from Marina. Shopping area 2 blocks away.

Room - just big enough, clean and nicely decorated.
Bathroom- small but clean.

Breakfast area can get crowded as there are only few tables. We only eaten there 1st morning, the rest of the trip we went to nearby cafe which had a good selection of pancakes, waffles, sweet bread etc for a very reasonable price. Think with a hot drink and freshly squeezed orange juice it was not much more than in hostel.

Many restaurants near the hostel. .

Accomodation offers good value for money, would go back.

Room Tip: Many restaurants with live music nearby the hostel so it can be loud in the evening/night. Choose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a lovely little Spanish B&B bang in the middle of everything.Only a short stroll from the beach,marina,shops,bars and restaurants.
We booked a four poster room and were not disapointed.VERY comfy bed.Nicely furnished.Little balcony overlooking the convent.Bathroom was big with a separate shower and also one over the bath.Flat screen T.V that we could get World news on.Also a very cheap minibar.The only niggles were that the extractor fan didn't work in the bathroom so got very steamy and the key was broken in the safety deposit box so not usable.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.Does help if you can speak a little Spanish.
The whole place was very clean and you could have fresh towels every day if you wished.
As usual, no tea and coffee in room, so make sure you take a travel kettle for that early morning cupa.Didnt have to be out of the room until midday ,which was great. they will also store it for you .Overall , a very good place to stay and would defiantly stay again.
Alicante is a beautiful city steeped in history,With the plus of having a beach.It has some lovely restaurants ( see my other reviews ) and is only 15 mins from the airport ( 20 euro taxi ride) .Our third stay in the city and cant wait to return.!!!

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a bigger room.Think some rooms are a bit small. Ones overlooking the convent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent 9 nights at this small hotel and found it very comfortable. Our room was small but nicely decorated - others are available at a higher rate. It is very well situated for the beach, shops and tram. The breakfast area is tiny so could be problems when hotel busy. We really liked it here and would go again. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking on to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for a week in October. The bedroom and bathroom were not massive but certainly fine for us. We loved the quirky decor but the best thing was the location. It is just off the nicest square in Alicante and has lots of bars and restaurants nearby. This does mean that you get noise later at night (together with some buiding work opposite) but this wasn't a problem with the windows and shutters closed. If you aren't a late night person it might not be the place for you but if you want to join in the Spanish hours it is perfect. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but there are lots of places nearby. Try it - you'll like it.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise I think they have some rooms facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal les Monges Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal les Monges Palace

Address: Calle San Augustin 4, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal les Monges Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Les Monges Palace Hotel Alicante Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal les Monges Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.