We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch golf vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Alicante Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Husa Alicante Golf to your Saves list
Husa Alicante Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de las Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain (Playa de San Juan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch golf vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for a full week. Really enjoyed the golf course and the hotel. However the food might be little better. The dinner table is something you give up on and you go downtown for dinner (which is really good and fun).
The golf course is excellent!!! Played from blue, yellow and white tee's. The most fun is to play from the white, you understand the design better from those tees.
Have fun

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    81
    50
    14
    13
See reviews for
45
84
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here with my mam in august for a week.Rooms are lovely and we got one overlooking the golfcourse,cleaned daily with fresh towels.The pool area was really nice although the ducks kept going into the pool but still didn't bother us.Cant fault the hotel at all but the area is a bit tricky if you cant speak spanish,but dont let that stop you as san juan is a really nice area.The beach is a 10 minute walk but they did a free shuttle service to and from daily which was good.If you want good restaurants head towards the beach and walk right along the promenade as there are loads and loads and they have english menus and food is good.If you go behind the hotel there is a little square they have a tapas, burger king and pizza place(burger king is really nice away).There is a tram line right outside the hotel and can take you anywhere and its really easy to use as when you get on you can change the machine to english and print your ticket think it was about €1.50 at most.Would recommend this hotel and area if you are wanting a relaxing holiday and have to say was nice that i didnt hear many english or irish around felt really peaceful ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I returned to this hotel following a lovely 5 day break last year around this time last year. We booked a superior deluxe room and were initially given what seemed a lesser room which although overlooking the beautiful golf course was in ear shot of the main road, however we asked to change and the staff were very accomodating. Our tip here is to ask to be allocated a pool side room away from the road.

This hotel is obviously not for everyone as some of the negative comments illustrate however if you don't mind being a little bit away from the tourist areas but within a short ride into the tourist areas b tram then this hotel will suit you. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and most speak a little English. The hotel is of a high standard and the grounds and views are very good. Yes it's a little pricey but you get what you pay for and it is 4 star. The pool area is very nice and despite the presenc of ducks most of the time the staff keep the pool area reasonably clean. Personally the wildlife; ducks and roaming peacocks is a bonus for me, however there is a trade-off in that they do make a little mess but the hotel try very hard to keep the area clean. My wife had a massage and we would recommend that too.

Perhaps the biggest compliment I can give is that I am already looking forward to return visit next year. We met a few English people while we were there and they said the same, so obviously they are getting something right.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Travelled here for a birthday getaway with my husband for 4 nights for my 30th. We booked a non smoking room and on arrival was given a smoking room on the 1St floor. The room smelt disgusting!! Stale smoke and to top it off the only thing to hold the patio door closed was a small tiny bent bolt.
I went to reception to ask to change rooms to be told to return in an hour as they had no other rooms. After an hour we returned to be told no rooms available but would give us a free upgrade to a suite!! Our new room was fantastic. Clean big etc. Not the 4 * it like to suggest but better.
Sadly the hotel goes down hill from there...
1 lacking badly in staff.
2 because of lack of staff tables are not cleared, long waits for service (20 min wait for 2 drinks at the pool bar)
3 buffet breakfast avoid at all cost. Cold hot food and at 13 euros per person a huge let down.
4 location... this is not in alicante.. it's miles away. 35 euros each way in a taxi. Playa San Juan is a 10 min brisk walk away.. beach is amazing clean tidy and full of locals. Can't fault it.
5 eating out is not easy unless you like tapas or pizza... extremely lacking decent restaurant's here and it badly let's it down.
6 don't come here if ty out can't speak Spanish.. NO ONE speaks English here and it's impossible to read he menus..
Lastly don't waste your time on the hotel pool.. the sun beds need condeming... they hurt and dangerous. Too many palm trees to see the sun. Grass like a back yard and the pool is tiny not like the pictures like to make out. Oh and the spa is a small salon with no staff so even if u wanted a treatment u would need to find a English speaking person to tell u what u can have!! And don't trip on the very dangerous in door pool flooring!! You have been warned... not 4* English or any other nations standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

the hotel is about 35euros from the airport(20 minutes drive).the hotel and staff are friendly,they let as have are room at 11am when check in time is 4pm.the rooms are big,shower nice,shower gel and shampoo really smell bad,do not use they stink.the balcony view was good room 415.the tv was not good,we had about 50 channels only english speaking channels was sky world news,euro sport and bloomburg.the breakfast was ok(not the best)but the food in the rest of the hotel was proper bad.the hotel food was reasonable priced but tasted really bad.the beech is a 10 minute walk but when you get there it is pure delight.the beech is the hilight of the holiday.there is plenty of room for everyone,the water is clear and warm and plenty of water sports for use.the resterents are few and far between but we did find a little gem in milan pizza cafe bar(its oppisite the head tennis courts).overall its a nice place to stay for a weekend the downside is there are no english speaking staff or people in the area.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed for a week at Husa Alicante in order to enjoy the beach in San Juan. The hotel is actually the only decent one in Playa de San Juan, and even though it is about 10-15min walk to the beach (about 1 km), we would choose Husa Alicante again.

The hotel is good according to Spanish standards: the rooms are basic but good, sleep quality is ok, noise level is ok (though some guests love slamming doors as of 7am). We have not used any of the hotel's facilities like bar and restaurant as we always went out, even for breakfast, what I would recommend to everyone staying on hotel basis in Spain. The pool area is nice though I imagine it to be too small in high season.

Overall a nice stay, as good as it gets in Spain.

Room Tip: Choose for superior room withg Golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

3rd time we have been - 1st time under Husa brand. Accept some comments by previous reviewer that some of the frills have gone and staff are busier but we found them very pleasant and helpful and had a great weekend

We flew out early Saturday as two couples and played at 14:30 that afternoon and then again on Sunday. We flew back late Monday so had 09:50 tee time that day. The hotel was relatively quiet with regard to residents but had weddings during the day both Saturday and Sunday - but this did not affect us as our rooms were well away from the action! If you are worried about noise then you might object to the two peacocks who were stridently vying for the attention of the peahen but I liked them.

I am used to slow golf in Spain and Portugal generally but on this occasion we had the afternoon rounds virtually to ourselves and on the Monday morning we had players in front and behind but we completed a four ball in 4hr 20 min. The course is really good and because the holes meander through the development most of them feel independent from the rest. Considering the course is hemmed in, it is a tribute to the design that you never really notice this.

I disagree with the previous reviewers comments about breakfast. Sure it had some shortcomings in that the hot food was tepid but the choice overall was vast. At least 5 types of fresh fruit as well as some tinned and stewed, freshly squeezed orange juice as well as about 4 commercial fruit juices. About 5 types of cheese and 2-3 types of chorizo/salami/ and both " plastic" ham and proper dry-cured ham. Spanish bacon and sausages are not the same as British but two of the three types of sausage were spicy and good and I avoided the beans, scrambled egg and anaemic ?frankfurter-style sausage. They also had a big selection of croissant, Danish pastries and cakes. So if the cooked breakfast wasn't to ones liking there was plenty of alternatives. The tea was dunking a tea bag which is never going to make a really good brew but the coffee was from a nespresso machine and was excellent.

The set price dinner including a perfectly acceptable bottle of wine between four was pretty good and was 18 euro each and room service which we had on the Monday afternoon was really excellent with a fillet steak and chips and a Caesar salad for 4,and a bottle of wine costing 25 euro a head

If you are a golfer you should try it, if not there are better situated hotels on the coast and further inland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Husa Alicante Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Alicante Golf

Address: Avda de las Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#10 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Alicante Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Husa Alicante Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alicante Golf Hotel Alicante
Husa Alicante Golf And Spa
Hesperia Alicante Hotel
Hesperia Hotel Alicante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Alicante Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.