We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Alicante
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

very good price for very nice and clean room in june. A/C, balcony, and just 50m from the beach.
The hotel is quite far away from the centre, so there is not that much people on the beach, just from the hotel. you can walk to the centre, app 20min by foot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    63
    19
    26
See reviews for
32
84
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful four day stay at the Albahia Hotel in Alicante, Spain. Located about 5 minutes outside of Alicante proper, the hotel looks out over a rocky sea coast.
My husband and I played tennis everyday on the hard courts; I was hoping they would be red clay!!
WE had lunch at two terrific restaurants situated a few hundred feet from the hotel.
What could be better than outside dining, the waves crashing against the rocky shore, eating fresh seafood and enjoying a glass of wine.
I am looking forward to my return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Clean & nice hotel! Friendly & sweet staff!! The best I've experienced ever!!! Recommands +++

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maestrodimente
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel is situated several KM outside of Alicante town centre. Initially it appears like the worst remnants of some Benidormesque construction nightmare; a tasteless apartment block with poorly lit entrance ways and a lack of proper pavements. Don't however, permit first appearances to prove conclusive; the hotel itself is reasonably well appointed, clean tidy and was very busy when we visited. Staff in the main were ok, although the reception team could perhaps use further training in additional languages, as despite my own Spanish proficiency, they struggled to understand absolutely anyone who didn't speak the lingo The reception desk was frequently unmanned, and when someone did arrive to help, their attitudes were best described as less than welcoming, something fellow guests frequently alluded to.

The facilities at the venue are reasonable too. The bar/restaurant is nicely set out, though their menu variation and choice is very limited and very over priced compared to what you can buy locally. The restaurant staff are hard working and efficient, although there's a young bearded waiter who permanently looks like he's had a big suck on a sour lemon, and seems to hate absolutely everyone and everything. It got so bad I told him he looked unhappy and he just shrugged. Great way to be served dinner! The housekeeping staff were always cheerful and pleasant, and more than happy to assist with any additional services that might have been requested during our stay, so I hope they got the nice tip we left for them!

You'll notice a local mini-market as you approach the hotel; it's staffed by what is possibly the rudest Chinese man on the planet, who besides his own tongue, claims to know no language at all, not even Spanish. I spoke to him in 5 languages, only to hear him call an elderly Dutch lady a profane name in English, something I promptly addressed with him. His approach to pricing regularity is equally rubbish, so make sure you know how much he's charging when you go in; he does speak English and he does understand you, other wise he'll just make it up when you reach the till. Beware!

There's also a fewf intimate seafront cafes and bars just 5 mins walk from the hotel; their menus are varied and reasonably priced, the staff pleasant and attentive. They're well worth a visit, as is the hotel sea front beach-hut bar which is open each evening until late. The staff members there are young (compared to us anyway!), but chatty and charming and willing to help; I;d recommend it for a night cap. It's also a nice way to meet and chat with others from around the globe, which we love doing, so much so that our regular night cap session involved new friends from England, Scotland, Ireland, Germany and Italy.

If you're not able bodied, or need wheelchair access, then I think this hotel might prove a problem. My partner and I saw no obvious wheelchair access to the place, and there are steep inclines to be negotiated both to and from the hotel. This said, for any traveller, there is a fast, frequent and affordable tram line which runs next to the hotel, the station just 5 mins walk from the entrance. You can easily get to Northern Valencia for around 6 quid; it really is that cheap, the service superb. We chose to walk into Alicante each day, which takes around 30 mins, although the pavements to be negotiated along the way are narrow and the driving standards truly scary at times, so please do be careful! The tram service takes you straight to the Marina zone of town too, which is great for access to all you'll need in the town itself. Alicante is big on shopping, but there's little you won't find anywhere else in Europe; the prices actually seemed much higher for luxury items than they are here in the UK.Again though, there are some gems to be found with great service and unique goods. Alicante also has a rich arts and cultural scene, and you'll find lots of info posted on notice boards around town, or check out one of the city's dedicated tourist websites for info. I'd avoid the tourist info office however; the staff seem appalled that you might dare to interrupt their day spent doing nothing with an actual inquiry. They seem more content to text away on their mobile phones than actually help their queuing customers. Strange attitude in a town in a country which is more dependent on our tourist Euros than ever.

In summary, I'd go back to the Albahia as a last resort. It's not situated in the most accessible area; the staff are a bit dodgy and hotel is situated within a domestic apartment block. This means lots of arguing couples, screaming children, and flying fag ends launching from balconies. The pool opens when it seems the staff feel like they want to open it, the bearded man in the restaurant is not a fan of people, and the access is rubbish if you're not able bodied. Then there's the local shop keeper to consider...

Alicante is brilliant, but there are better places to stay. The tennis courts are good though!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and preferably a room which isn't situated immediately beneath a family'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a good hotel on the bus route -about 20 minutes from Allicante city.
Paradise it aint as some rooms look on to either other buildings or the hotel carpark at the back . The upstairs bar and dining room have a nice sea view however and the food wa tasty and reasonably privced. It is a CITY hotel and so those who complain about ciy features surrounding the Hotel -city streets , alleyways and other buildings need to HOTELfurther away maybe out at Playa San Juan. If busrides or nearby streets are off putting the why not use the taxis . They are very fast usually and for a couple not much more than 2 single bus fares to town.

Room Tip: book a balcony room with a sea view. you have to pay extra and insist you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Please don't be fooled by the pictures!
The hotel itself is the 3rd and 4th floor of a 1960's block of flats, the rooms are tiny, dingy and sticky. The 'sea view' is just about visible if you look over the blocks of garages and manky tennis courts. The staff of one use the 'i don't understand' when you dare to complain.
We were originaly booked in for 8 nights in august, stayed just 2 nights.
The only good point of this hotel is leaving.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBAAlicante, Revenue Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Sir,
I regret the experience lived during your holiday in Albahía Tennis and Business. Effectively the Hotel is a part of a building and it is on the 3 first floors.The pictures of hotel are real, and I can tell you that the dimensions of the rooms are from 14 meters squared till 20 meters squared. I so sorry if you felt the impression of not be attended as well as you deserved, I apologised for it. My best regards:

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I had never been further than the airport at Alicante but from other peoples experiences thought it would be great for a short break. Everything went smoothly thanks to Low Cost Travel and Easy Jet. We arrived at the hotel and from the outside its a bit grim and could use a face lift BUT its location right on the beach and with public transport links right outside. The fact that it was in a residential area wasn't a problem. The staff were really friendly, the room was cleaned everyday and was very pleasant with a large balcony overlooking the sea. It was a bit noisy and if we were staying longer than 3 nights we would have asked for a quieter room and I am sure the staff would have been obliging. The breakfast was lovely and lots of variety. Alicante itself was everything we hoped for, a city with beaches and really nice ones too. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants nice shops, very Spainish, so you felt as if you were in a foriegn city not touristy and a very good transport system and warm considering it was October and 70%
Overall it was a really nice break and we were very pleased with everything except it rained on the last day :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't going to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia

Address: Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albahia Hotel Alicante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.