We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya Alicante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya Alicante to your Saves list
Hotel Maya Alicante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Manuel Penalva 2, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Alicante
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I can't fault this hotel too much. It's a modern hotel with good amenities (free wifi, pool, gym etc...), friendly staff and it's very clean - All for the price of £30 a night. It's situated right on the doorstep of the castle, a 15 minute walk to the city centre and a 10 minute walk to the beach, so location is good too. It's also served well by public transport (tram, bus etc...) and next to a large shopping mall (huge supermarket, cafe's, Zara etc...), if you're into that kind of thing. We didn't sample breakfast, but we had a wee look and it looked fairly good. The only downside is the walls are paper thin, but after a few vino's it didn't bother us:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    173
    87
    21
    13
See reviews for
55
167
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DERBYSHIRE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is a twenty minute drive from the airport, costing 22euros there and 16.50euros back in a taxi, not sure how they set their prices because on the way back it was about 11euros and as we got closer the taxi driver pressed something taking it up .5 every 2seconds but thats a rough guide on approx prices and clearly not set in stone.
The hotel is clean and nice enough. We had a family room which consisted of a double bed and a sofa bed, both were very uncomfortable and all had bad backs each morning BUT the hotel room was spacious clean and really nice.
Sadly people smoke in the hotel room, so for non smokers like us and bearing in mind a child in the room the smell of cigarettes did travel into our room, we had a chain smoker nearby and felt like we smoked 40cigs overnight which left two with bad chests.
Staff were friendly and helpful (although we werent told how to find our hotel room). Staff allowed us to leave bags there upon arriving as the room was not ready and when leaving we had a late flight out and had to book out midday, they allowed us to leave our bags there until 5pm. If you ask for a taxi to be booked, double check it has been because ours hadnt until we returned and checked.
The beach is quite a distance, about a 15-20minute walk to the nearest access point, you can see if after 5minutes but a big road with no crossing point is in the way!. For people with health problems, disabilities or frail elderly please note the walk back up to the hotel is uphill or numerous steps involved.
Easiest way we found to the beach is out the hotel, turn left, left again at the roundabout, right at the bottom, keep walking and you can either go down the first set of steps on the left or if you want to avoid steps keep going until the road seperates where there is a sign for CCTV go off to the left and down to the bottom veering left and turn right and all will become clear.
Nice pleasent stay, staff speak good english. Or turn right and follow it all around to the right.
Oh and the shopping centre you can see to the right as you walk out the hotel is worth having a look around, reasonable prices and a supermarket.......enjoy your break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Hotel very pleasant, clean and airy. Food very hit and miss and, as commented by others, not very warm! Staff excellent, very helpful and friendly. Big downfall was the noise! Although on the main road there was very little traffic noise due to the closed balcony, but the noise from the adjoining rooms was awful. Just people talking at a normal pitch was very audible. Impossible to sleep if someone came in later than you. Due to this, we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

stayed here for a three night break but didnt do the food option. so couldnt comment on that.central,friendly and spacious.5 mins to beach 10 mins to old town.if i stay in alicante again i would have no problem rebooking this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Booked this hotel for one night on the way back home via Alicante airport. The room was OK nothing special for a superior room could hear our next door snoring in the night. Went for a walk to the marina and had a beer at an excellent cafe, not cheap but an excellent location. Looked for somewhere to eat in town not successful so ate in the hotel. menu del Dia Euro 10. It was awful the poor woman serving was rushed off her feet, the food was not hot and I am sure resulted in me being violently sick during the night which resulted in a very uncomfortable flight home. The staff were not very good at speaking or understanding English. I would certainly never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Maya previously in October 2011 and decided to use it again for a return journey in February 2012.

On this occasion, we took the buffet breakfast option and I would have to agree with some previous comments - the 'hot' food really wasn't hot. On my first morning, I had taken some mushrooms to have with toast and they were stone cold tbh which was a real shame. I think the hotel would benefit by purchasing covers for the food which may at least keep some warmth in.

The walk into town is very easy. You can either walk along the sea front or via the old town. The first option gives lovely ocean views and the second offers a variety of small alleyways with something to see at every turn - look out for Basilica de Santa Maria.

The staff are always very pleasant and given how easy the hotel is to reach via public transport, if returning to Alicante I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Only stayed here one night. Easy to get to when flying in to alicante. Just catch the airport bus which is around 2.70 then there is a stop in Alicante a couple of minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town. The balcony was spacious and would be lovely in summer.Despite being by a road you don't hear much noise. It was well presented for a 3 star. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Alicante

Address: Calle Manuel Penalva 2, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Alicante Hotel Alicante
Kris Alicante
Kris Hotel Alicante
Alicante Kris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.