We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Alicante to your Saves list
Melia Alicante
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain (Ensanche Diputación)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

By chance, I stayed on "The Level". I had never heard of this before but at the moment ( as the hotel are in the process of updating and changing these facilities this summer) it consists of upgraded rooms on the top floor. Along with a private reception desk for clients on this level, they also provide a separate area for breakfast. Drinks and tapas are also served at various times during the day. The hotel was full when I stayed and this was obvious when you entered the ground floor but not obvious at all on the fifth floor reception which was always calm and quiet by comparison. The staff were excellent, all very helpful and friendly, they really could not do enough for you. I had a sea view room which also overlooked the pool. It is worth noting that the sea view rooms lose the sun mid morning, so if you want to sunbathe in the room, book a harbour view ( bear in mind they are a bit noisier). Ideal for a weekend away as the hotel has an excellent location just a few mins walk from all the restaurants and bars in Alicante and about 10 mins taxi ride from the airport. The hotel also has a spa which whilst not cheap, was very good. The spa is not run by the hotel and also offers an indoor pool and excellent gym but these are chargeable ( the hotel gym is poor by comparison).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    666
    267
    114
    53
See reviews for
338
748
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at a few Melia hotels now - this one is lovely but a few things could make it even better.....

Lifts need a complete overhaul – not enough for size of the hotel.

The pool lets it down - although beautiful way too small and only minimal sun loungers.

would expect for a hotel of this level to have a room/ facilities where people who have an check out but late flight have somewhere to shower / change. When we asked at reception they were very unhelpful and said no nothing you can do - no facilities (when there is a spa!) ended up paying 60€ to keep room from 12 to 6pm,

You also have to go out of front of hotel and round it when there is an exit at back (fire exit but it's locked!).

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Melia for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was perfect. Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town and medieval town. Couldn't have asked for better.

The hotel itself is great. Large reception area and the rooms bright, modern and spacious. The hotel is impeccable in terms of cleanliness. The rooms and all the public areas were spotless at all times.

Breakfast was great with all tastes catered for. Despite it being busy the service by the staff was second to none and we never waited more than 5 minutes. The bars in the hotel were nicely presented with helpful staff.

My 4 year old daughter absolutely loved the kids club too. The people running it were brilliant with the children and did lots with them in a large secure room set just for club.

The down side of the hotel is the swimming pool. It is not very child friendly with no shallow area for smaller children. It is also far from adequate for such a massive hotel. There were approx. 40 beds around the pool. Most frustratingly the 'sunbed hogs' were out in force. By 8 every morning nearly every bed was towelled up and these were often still empty at 11.30. With a small child we would have been and gone by that time so people who take loungers and then go back need to be managed. If the hotel manager is reading this (I will separately mail you) you really need to get on top of this. If people are not on the beds or in the pool you should be clearing the towels for other guests. A notice pointing out that there are several hundred guests wanting to use the facility would also help. That said there is a large sun terrace with more beds for people to use. I would also say that the hotel could do with a larger bar area however the staff work hard to not keep people waiting.

None of the above should put you off though. Highly recommend this hotel.

Final note, make sure to go into the medieval quarter of the town rather than the main strip as restaurants are better and more authentic. The history and streets make for greater ambience. The public beach can also get very crowded so better to walk along the beach to the far end where it is less busy.

































Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Modern hotel in great location, very clean rooms with good amenities, comfortable beds and nice clean bathroom. We asked and paid exta for a "sea view" room but this is over rated, sure we could see the sea but had a very limited view. Would have rather gone without the "sea view" and had a useable sized balcony. The breakfast was excellent, huge choice and all very good. Pity about the foul smell in the lobby, they did not seem to be doing anything about it but it was noticeable everytime you entered the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our second visit, check in was swift, all our requests were granted, two rooms opposite each other, one sea view with three beds and a marina room with twin beds. Breakfast had such a variety. Service from Reception, breakfast, bar and housekeeping staff was excellent. The only down side of our four night trip was the noise from the lift next to our room. Yes, we could have asked to move after our first night, but having already settled in, the beautiful views and having rooms so close together, we accepted the lift had won.
Thanks again Melia Alicante for another great stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 5 nights on The Level (5th floor). First room excellent but overlooking very noisy area where fashion show being held with lots of noise. Moved to another room overlooking sea - excellent, quiet. Private Lounge with free bar included for The Level clients was a very great asset. As was the private and fast reception. Staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping excellent (Angela was very good). Breakfast in main restaurant plentiful but noisy. Level lounge breakfast a much quieter affair. Not as much food choice, but still both hot and cold food available. All in all, a great place to stay for a weekend or City break. Just make sure you are on The Level and facing the sea.
Only negative - the reception area on ground level has an all pervading sulphurous smell which is quite off putting and since it's the first thing you notice on arrival it needs fixing. (it's probably not hotel's fault, but comes off the harbour water).

Room Tip: The Level, facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well located, 70 's style with looooong corridors. Excellent breakfast. Sleeping poses the greatest challenge; just above the festivity hall and next to brawling drunks outside on the busy party pier.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Heuz,

Thank you for the time you took in writing your impressions about out hotel after your recent visit.

As I can read from your lines, your experience with us was not as pleasant as we would love. We are sorry to hear that.

On the other hand, we are glad to see that you really enjoy our breakfast.

You will be really welcome to Meliá Aicante.

Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Family Hotel in Alicante
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.