We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Alicante to your Saves list
Melia Alicante
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain (Ensanche Diputación)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
GreenLeadersBronze level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really lovely hotel. All staff were really friendly and helpful. Very centrally placed, just 2 minutes walk into town. Breakfast also great with everything you could ask for. Internet in the lounge, wifi didn't seem to work in the rooms (was available) but worked in the lounge. Rooms spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Robio123,

In all the name of Melia Alicante I would like to thank you for taking your time to post the comment in Tripadvisor.
It is extremely nice to know that all our staff made a good impression to you as we always try to do our best of being nice and friendly to all our guests.
Concerning the Wifi in our Hotel, please let me to remind you that you have it availible not only at the lounge, but also in all the rooms. In future, if you have any kind of problem by connecting, please let us know and we will be more than happy to help you to get it work.
We really hope to see you here back soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    666
    267
    114
    53
See reviews for
338
748
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay on The Level(top floor)! Free bar with tapas and snacks from morning till evening, and free minibar. Nice rooms. Ours were on the harbourside, but it is also nice to look down at the beach from the other side. Great breakfast!

Alicante was boring, but the hotel was great!

Room Tip: Book on "The Level" It costs a bit more, but is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you a lot for being so kind and post your coment in Tripadvisor!
Please do not doubt that all the team of Melia Alicante is extremely happy and proud to hear that you had an enjoyable stay on The Level - the floor of our superior rooms with an exclusive lounge.

We really hope to have a chance to see you here soon again and to make your stay nice and pleasant as you deserve!

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First, on the positive side is the location and the lack of very much competition in Alicante's high end category. Even on the Level floor, the room was amongst the smallest encountered in three weeks of travelling around Spain. The cost was certainly up there, particularly give the size of the room and construction in progress. However, I must confess that the perks included with the Level room were better than normally found anywhere. Food, snacks and all drinks were readily available from late morning until 10 pm. There are dozens of good restaurants located literally within a 5-10 minute walk. Most of the working staff were friendly and helpful. Sadly, the management types were not. At checkout, we learned that someone had charged about 50 Euros of bar food on our room. We were forced to stand around for 20 minutes, treated like "thieves", until someone appeared with the purported bill. Surprise, no name or signature, only the penciled-in room number! Barely an apology as the mistake was finally rectified. When asked to speak to the GM, was told he was on vacation (hopefully in a better place); the so-called fill-in was very young, inexperenced and basically of no help. Hard to believe that a multi-million dollar facility would be entrusted to one of so little managerial experience. If someone would have only cared, this could have been a rather delightful stay. Instead, it left a sour taste for days to come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, many thanks for taking your time to post your comment and in this way to share about your experience in Melia Alicante with other Tripadvisor users.

We appreciate your opinion and it is a great help to our team in order to be in a constant improvement what leads to the guest satisfaction what we consider the most important criterion.

We look forward to seeing you once again and to have a chance to change your negative impression by offering our best service and attention.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, Leics
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I can only reiterate what the other reviewers have said, a lovely hotel in a perfect position, for the sea views and proximity to the town.
I spent 4 sunny days here in November, at that time of the year, frequented mostly by business visitors.
On arrival, to be met by a building site was a great disappointment, with the pneumatic drills working full time!
I had booked a room on the Level and thankfully, because this hotel is so huge, the noise could not be heard. The room was extremely warm even during the cold nights and with the balcony door open, there was no independant control for the room temperature.
Breakfasts were good, with every taste catered for.
The bar was not well used at this time, due to the lack of front doors to keep the wind and dust out, but probably when all the work has been completed it will of course be much more appealing.
Take a ride up the coast on the little train/tram, pleasant sea views.
In conclusion a very pleasant winter break.

Room Tip: The high rooms on the Level are worth the extra, either sea view for morning sun and marina for afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment and in this way sharing about your experience in Melia Alicante.

We regret to know that the building works of our main entrance had some negative impact on you, we really express our apologies about all the inconveniece you might had.

On the other hand, we appreciate a lot your nice words regarding our Breakfast Buffet and our service!

All the team of Melia Alicante hopes to welcome you once again very soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice Hotel and lovely breakfast. Stayed in room 4015 for 7 days, the terrace had fantastic views over the beach, the room was large also very quite. Beside having a main door there was another one inside our room which cut out any noise from corridor area.
Room was serviced by friendly staff every day along with smellies and towels in bathroom.

If i had to make any comment of dissatisfaction it would be that Hotel made no effort at all for customers over the xmas, not even a cracker or music at breakfast so seemed just like any other day. I did think it would of been so nice to have some festive music playing after all it was xmas day.
The swimming pool was having work done on it so could not use that area.
We'd stay here again for the location as it's so close to everything.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our room, which had it own CH control panel which made no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for such a nice words regarding our rooms and the service! We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful 7 days stay with us.

Also, we take a note about your suggestion of special music on Christmas day.

All Melia Alicante wishes to see you here again!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is situated in an ideal location, beautiful beach one side, marina the other and across the road is a promenade that goes for miles, with every kind of restaurant. A short walk away is the Town Hall square, and numerous little cobbled side streets with shops and bars. The hotel is very comfortable, although a bit pricey for meals and drinks. We had a basic room, which was comfortable. It is a very large hotel, so expect a long walk to your room from the lift area. Beautifully decorated. At the moment they are improving the entrance, which took away most of the elegance of the foyer, but once completed it will look very inviting. We went for the New Year. They had a Gala Dinner, but at 195 euros each (this included a 3 or more course meal, wine and cava, and entertainment until dawn, we considered it too expensive, so joined the locals in the Plaza to see the New Year in. I would consider this hotel again to celebrate a special occasion (birthday, anniversary etc.) to pamper yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side view the beach, on the west the marina. Rooms above the 3rd floor would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Joan B,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to share about your stay in Melia Alicante with others.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and you would choose our Hotel for some special occasion!

All the team of Melia Alicante invites you to visit us again and in this way to have an opportunity to make your stay unforgettable.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend in November 2012 to celebrate a family birthday.

The location is great, directly on the seafront and only a stone's throw away from a plethora of restaurants. The room and bathroom was clean and well decorated. Nice selection of shower gels etc too. My OH used the laundry/ironing facilities which he would recommend. We had booked room only so cannot comment on the breakfast. We did however have drinks at the bar; the service was great and the bar staff served us complimentary nibbles which was a very nice touch.

Building work was going on at the time but caused no disruption or noise.

A great hotel, even out of season!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for posting your comment in Tripadvisor and in this way sharing your opinion with others about your stay in Melia Alicante.

We are pleased to know that you chose our Hotel for such a special occation as a birthday! Moreover, it is really nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay and you were happy with our establisment and service.

We sincerely hope to get to see you again very soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redono
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Family Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.