We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Alicante Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Alicante Hills to your Saves list
Exe Alicante Hills
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Glorieta Reino Unido 6, 03008 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Hotel Apartahotel Alicante Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For a suddenly arisen opportunity to go to the sun one week near Aliacante, it was this hotel that was vacant. We definitely wanted to have access to the pool and there are not many hotels in Alicante that have and we did not want to pay a lot of money. Therefore, we choose this apartmenthotel which was a nice surprise. A nice clean apartment with two bedrooms with comfortable beds and two bathrooms, living room and kitchen area. Cooking equipment was very basic, just basically plates, cutlery and pans. Nor is there an iron and ironing board , but it is apparently available from reception . On the large balcony there are tables and chairs.

We had booked half board and the breakfast was really good with several hot dishes, good bread and cold cuts, fresh fruit, etc. The dinner (or lunch if you liked) consisted of three dishes and it was quite ok. The hotel is situated near the airport, but you do not hear the airplanes which is good.
However, it's far from everything else, which means that either you get to rent a car, or go by bus or taxi if you want to go into the city. Travelling by bus from the hotel was smooth although the buses seemed to come a little when they want to, We never found the bus stop on the opposite side though so that meant we had to take a taxi back to the hotel. Taxi one way from downtown to the hotel costs about 10 E and bus one way around 2 E per person depending on which bus you take . A tip. Before you go into town check if there is any holiday. We made ​​the mistake of going downtown such a day and everything was closed.
To summarize, This is an ok hotel if you want to sunbathe and swim in the pool in a quiet place and take a trip now and then, but nothing for those who want to stay in the town center with access to the city 's entire range.

Room Tip: There are penthouse apartments that seems to have a better view than the other apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    92
    61
    17
    18
See reviews for
63
79
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were here last year and came again this year but the service is really disappointing. The staff so far are not so helpful specially the restaurant. We ask a man for a wine glass as there was none in the room but he almost suggested to me to go and buy it yourself. That would be ok but as we are self catering surely in a European country you would expect to find it in your apartment and
also othe essential utensils ie chopping board, cereal bowls.The most disappointing of all is the pool area,wich is supposibly a child friendly area.The pool is constantly full of clumps of hair which is disgusting and unacceptable. The pool area constantly smells of urine. We have ordered ice cream for our 3 children and most disappointingly out of the selection on the board which was falsely advertising a wide range of ice cream only a handfull is available and the cone was soggy. Broken and dislodge tiles around the pool side. The chlorine and other chemicals used in the jacuzzi is breath taking literally. And what is the most horrendous thing for us is we have highly recommended the hotel to our best friends to join us. We only hope it can't get worst. If it does we are oblige to warn everyone with our experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is 3 or 4 miles from Alicante city with no paths in between so, if you haven't got a car, get used to buses or taxis. Its set on a steep enough hill and for us was a bit of trek from the bus-stop at the bottom of the hill. Having said that the Alicante Hills Aparthotel is clean and offers good value for money. The bar and dining staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good and reasonably priced.
The Alicante Hills hotel is a good base from which to explore Alicante city and the surrounding countryside. A visit to Benidorm, just a 45 minute bus trip away is recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

hotel was excellent as a hotel if you dont want to go anywhere. if you are in a family or group of over 4 people as we were and you wanted to go into alicante itself, you can not get a taxi to take you all. you end up having to get two taxis as they only carry four people(5 including driver). you can not walk from the hotel to alicante as there is a major dual carraigeway at the end of the road from the hotel. there was a bus running but we never saw it. we ended up getting a hire car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel itself is clean, the staff are polite and helpful. The room/apartment again was clean with a kitchenette( basic utensils) but a full size fridge with freezer compartment was a bonus. The A/C was a must this time of year. The pool was clean and of a good size with plenty of loungers available. The 2 Hot Tubs needed a good clean as they were always in use. The food available from the café was ok but with a limited selection. Also the hotel shop sold the very basics. The hotel is only 10 mins taxi ride from the airport and Alicante town centre.

Now for the bad points: This is a new hotel on top of a hill, is nothing else there. NO SHOPS NO BEACH. To get to any of these you need a car or a taxi which the hotel can arrange for you.

If your return flight is a late one like ours (after 4.00pm) it is well worth paying the extra 25 euros to keep your room, otherwise its a check out at 12.00pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were put up here for 3 days after Ryanair cancelled our flight due to the French air traffic controller strike. Our room was decent enough except for the lack of a kettle, but apparently you could request one from reception.

My only gripe is that on our first morning there one of the cleaners attempted to rob my girlfriend's phone. We returned from breakfast to find the cleaners in our room so we left to let them get on with cleaning. Upon returning my girlfriend couldn't find her phone which she swore she had left on the bed. I phoned it and could hear it ringing in the distance, so I opened the front door and the ringing got louder. I walked up the hallway to the flat the cleaners were currently in and the ringing got louder still. At this point I thought "OK I don't want to jump to conclusions; this may have been an honest mistake. The cleaner may have accidentally rolled the phoned up in the bedsheets when replacing them without noticing". I started going through the bedsheets basket only for the perpetrator to calmly stroll over and hand me the phone from her handbag. She said something to me in Spanish and then calmly wandered off to continue cleaning the room. We informed the hotel staff who said they would "look into it", but when we asked them about it later they didn't seem interested.

In short, nice place, scumbag cleaners!

One last thing, I would like to give a special mention to the woman working in the bar who despite clearly being worked to death still had a smile on her face. Lovely lady.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aguilas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for an early or late airport departure /arrival,simple and clean, with the advantage of a kitchen bring breakfast with you for that early morning departure. The staff are very good and if you book the hotel through its website it is not only cheaper than most comparison sites but you also get free secure parking

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exe Alicante Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Alicante Hills

Address: Glorieta Reino Unido 6, 03008 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Hotel Apartahotel Alicante Hills)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Alicante Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Exe Alicante Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Alicante Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.