We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of Italy in Alicante” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristaurante Spiga

Ristaurante Spiga
Calle Mayor, 11, Alicante, Spain (Casco Antiguo-Santa Cruz)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 771 Restaurants in Alicante
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo-Santa Cruz
København
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Little piece of Italy in Alicante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a three course menu and two wonderfull wines. Carpaccio was delightfully fresh and the shrimps in garlic sauce were very well cocked. The beef with pepper sauce was made just right.

Waiter was very friendly and attentive, spoke in half Spanish half Italian. He knew all about the wines that accompanied the main dishes best.

We were so full in the end, but the waiter insisted on providing a panna cotta + 4 grappa, on the house. We did not regret.

In full, true Italian food, nice atmosphere, and exceptional waiters.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    48
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not fresh pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The taste of the sauces on the pasta was good, but I was expecting fresh made pasta from an Italian restaurant. It was packet spaghetti :-( The waiter was quite rude in telling us to hurry up. Having said that, there was some Pizza con Ajo (garlic bread using a pizza base) for starters and that was very nice and fresh. So maybe stick to pizza if you visit?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went back three times during our stay in alicante pizza amazing and chocolate pudding mmmmmm a must to try .Don't miss out on this very nice place .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice little restaurant, with kind of a family feel. Food and service were absolutely ok, but not memorable. I would definitely recommend you try Sale & Pepe first - which IS definitely memorable on both front - and the craic is great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stumbled on this Lovely Ristorante during a short stop in Alicante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I were driving from Barcelona to Granada, and decided to stop in Alicante to stretch out and grab a bite to eat as well as take in some sights.

Just across the street from the Marina, we found this little Spiga. Since we are both from Italian decent we know that this was a good choice; not to mention the Menu del Dia looked pretty good for a fair price.

We were greeted by a waiter who guessed correctly that we spoke English. I mentioned that collectively we spoke English, Spanish, and Italian. He smiled and answered that employees and the owner were from the Treviso and Napoli areas of Italy; both areas of where our families are from.

We proceeded to order. I ordered the mussels and my friend ordered the eggplant and tomato bruschetta. Delicious! Our mains came out. Chicken with mushrooms and a pizza topped with tuna. Excellent.

While drinking our espressos, we chatted with the waiter and the owner, Diego greeted us. We chatted about Alicante, Granada, Barcelona, and how cold Canada is this time of year. The cook came to greet us, and we chatted in our Napolitano dialect together.

Diego offered us a shot of Limoncello which was well received and we continued to chat. Diego also told us how to get to the castle of Santa Barbara.

Overall, I think this was a great place to just saunter into and grab a bite to eat. Everyone was very friendly. The food and service was excellent. Spiga was also very clean. I would certainly return to Alicante and Spiga Ristorante.

Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristaurante Spiga also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Ristaurante Spiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristaurante Spiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.