We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explanada Hotel Alicante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Explanada Hotel Alicante to your Saves list
Explanada Hotel Alicante
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   San Fernando, 18, 03002 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Alicante B&B and Inns
alicante
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Perfect hotel in the center of Alicante. Close to everything but quiet too. The room was fairly spacious for a city center hotel and the bathroom was new. Small balcony was also appreciated.
Great for walking along the Explanada and port and tram not too far either. Surrounded by good bars and restaurants.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

When we first arrived the lady at the reception was so miserable and rude. No one showed us to our room we were just left alone. The first night we suffered the room was so cold and we didn't know how use the heater/air con. There was a flat screen tv on the wall but we couldn't find any English channels until the last day of being there. What annoyed me the most was the shower. The hot water would only run for about 40 secs, after that it was freezing cold. We could barely have a shower! The shower is small so you can't shower together because the glass will knock you out. The shower head was gritty and rusty, needs changing. When you come out the shower the bathroom was freezing cold it just wasn't good enough for what we paid. Breakfast is from 8-11am. It was pretty basic, bread that wasn't in a bread tin, croissants, cheese ham etc orange juice tea, hot chocolate. The bread was always stale. There's a mini bar in the room watch out for that as they charge you for each drink you take. The wardrobe doors didn't shut or even slide properly, it was a nightmare! One of the bed side light wasn't working it was ridiculous and to top it off you couldn't lock or shut the balcony doors properly so at night it was very drafty! Also don't request a balcony room as you will get no sleep. The road is too noisy at night you have the bin people clearing the bins. One more thing to add the fridge in the room made a lot of noise it stopped us from sleeping. I could go on about this so called hotel but I won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Explanada for 3 nights.
It is ideally located, and can best be described as a bit 'cheap and cheerful'. The room was small, but clean and comfortable, albeit that the beds were clearly not designed for anyone over about 5'6"....and unfortunately I am over 6' tall !
We tried to turn the heating/aircon off, and even though it did say it was 'off', the fan continued to come on for about 30 seconds, every 2 minutes or so.
The toilet was probably the noisiest I have ever flushed....but that was nothing compared to the noise of bins being emptied, streets being cleaned etc all through the night. Appreciate this is hardly the fault of the hotel though !

Room Tip: Try not to get room 106 - on the corner, so you get the noise from 2 roads, instead of just 1 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This place was so crap that I don´t know where to start. Let me first explain that the HOTEL is false advertising as they are not even on the Explanada Street but the Street behind it. The room was cold and the shower was hot one minute and then FREEZING cold. The in room fridge was so loud that I took it out of the plug at night in order to sleep. Then the next morning when we entered the breakfast area. It was an epic fail. They only had to offer tea, croissants (those cheap ones you buy from the Aldi that are in packages of 20 for €1) and this cost €13! I ended up not paying a cent! How can you call that breakfast when you don´t even serve eggs and then charging people €13! Come on what a bunch of crap and the hotel is the same Price as Eurostars Lucentum who literally is a hotel of 4 stars unlike this crap which is a converted apartment into hotel but still feels like apartment. Cannot believe that they are 3 stars. They are just an apartment thus legally not allowed to have starts.

I am so angry at this place that it was so expensive and the quailty utterly crap. I have stayed at hostels with better service than this.

Room Tip: There are no rooms as this hotel is NOT on the EXPLANADA thus your view is another building. God wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We were looking for a hotel for a 1 night stay in Alicante that gave us a balance between location, value & quality and after our stay found the Explanada proved the ideal choice. The location is excellent, in the centre of Alicante, a few metres from the Paseo Explanada and a short walk from the marina, lift to Castell De Santa Barbara, beach and Alicante old town, with numerous restaurants and bars in the vicinity. We arrived by public transport with the tram stop Mercado a 10-15 minute walk and the C6 bus to the airport a 5 minute walk away near the marina. On arrival we found the staff friendly and helpful and the check in quick. Our room was a non balcony room on the 3rd floor which was large and well furnished with a comfortable bed and had a large shower en-suite. The room was equipped with a mini bar (which didn't seem that cold) and a flat screen TV with English Sky news channel, however the TV was fitted above the wardrobe which probability wasn't the most comfortable angle to view it. The room had free Wi-Fi which worked well. As stated our room was non balcony room (there probably not a lot to be gained by paying the extra) but it is worth noting the window in the room is above normal height with obscured glass, basically it's purpose was just to let light in. This wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was served in a reasonable sized room on the 4th floor and was a normal continental type, absolutely no problem with unlimited coffee/juice etc. We had prepaid so check out was straight forward, however due to our late flight the staff kindly kept our luggage in a secure room. As stated this hotel was a good balance with our requirements and we have no hesitation in recommending for a stay in Alicante. One tip, don't use the American restaurant/bar in the same building (not associated) drinks are a rip off, but we can recommend the tapas bar and the restaurant in the next road (30m's away) both are good value and very good in their different way.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time.

Plus points:- Great location for the harbour and beech. Easy to walk to the main bars and restaurants. Very clean and we had a junior suite which gave us the mini fridge (which was broken but they fixed it straight away) and daily top up of water soft drinks and chocolate! The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Negative points:- None really of any importance but it was very warm in the breakfast room and could have been nicer with the sky lights open. Four mornings of the same breakfast got a bit boring but it was fresh and plenty of it. My husband’s moan was they advertised satellite TV but we only had Sky news.

Would recommend and go again.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back without the french doors as these face onto the road - or take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Hotel was in a great location 5 minutes to beach and in the middle of Alicante.
Arrived late at night met by a really helpful receptionist who checked us in and gave us a lot of useful information,nothing seemed to much trouble for him.
Room was perfect,great shower very clean bed, and the towels changed every day.
C6 bus as advised on here was perfect.

Room Tip: room 402 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Explanada Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explanada Hotel Alicante

Address: San Fernando, 18, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explanada Hotel Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Explanada Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explanada Hotel Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.