We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castilla Alicante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castilla Alicante to your Saves list
Hotel Castilla Alicante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paises Escandinavos, 7 | Alicante, 03540 Alicante, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for people who want both the beach and the city of Alicante. It is a clean,nice hotel with a decent breakfast. well, we missed the egg and baco!.
The hotel is close to the beach and you can easy go to Alicante city by tram - 1.45 e.
We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    130
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
141
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for eight nights in May. Generally the hotel is as a standard 3* hotel, I want to agree with most of reviews with good points, location - very close to beach and quiet place in a residential area of Alicante, staff very helpful, clean room, bus - in front of hotel to get to city center, tram - 1 minute walk. But, we booked the room with breakfast, which in my opinion was a mistake. It costs 6 euro, which I think it doesn't worth. It was the POOREST breakfast ever we had at a 3* star hotel. There's very little choice, there's no hot food at all, 1 type of ham, 1 type of cheese, a basket with fruits, butter, jam, some yogurts in the fridge, 2 types of juices, 2 coffee machines, muffin, some choice of cookies, toaster bread, rolls, 1 type of donuts, 1 type of croissant and that's literally all. And on top of that there were 2 notices at the entrance of restaurant and on each table that it is prohibited to take the food with you or the waiter could charge you. Question is: what food? Toasties? Bread? There are some cafes around, which I think can offer a better breakfast for the same money.
Also in the evenings(after 5) most of restaurants and shops surprisingly were closed, so in the evenings/afternoons we eat in the Los Charros restaurant for ex. (11 euro for the best chicken with seafood paella pp for ex. which we eat in Alicante) which is 2 min walk if you go left till a 24h working shop on the corner and then left again and it is going to be on the corner, or we ended buying food at this 24h shop. Also in this area people don't speak English so either you have to know a bit of Spanish or to point what you want:) Or take the bus/tram to center where more people speak English:)
So I must say that generally the hotel is good, if you don't take the breakfast and book in summer time when probably the shops and restaurants around are open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for long weekend with 76 year old mother. Rooms were simple but clean and all had balconies (not much sun though due to direction they face). Pool cold but clean and big enough to have a decent swim, with plenty of loungers, chairs and tables. Breakfast was cold buffet and everything was fresh and tasty. Tram and bus stops are right outside hotel and excursions are available (although we didn't go on any). Beach is only one block away and the surrounding area is full of good restaurants and bars - average price for 3 course meal + bread+ wine was 13 Euros and a small beer and tapa cast E1.50. Staff were quite formal but friendly and helpful when asked for information.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view of beach and may get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stay a few days in the Castilla Hotel in Alicante in the begin of May.
It's a very clean hotel with a very friendly staff.
The breakfast is good and the way to the beach is very short.
The next time when we are in Alicante we should choose this hotel again!
Perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a few to the swimmingpool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hello Chums! Well now, let's look at this hotel with the benefit of the healing quality of time.
The weather in Alicante at the time Late April 13, was pretty awful and unseasonal, We did have a few sunny but windy days.

On arrival we were delighted to see our old friend Mr Chumley Warner on reception, much bustling and hustling saw us get into our rather bleak room. This is a 3 star hotel in a potentially 4* location. Room was clean, quiet and view over west side as all the rooms are.
Staff I must mention were generally very good, most of the waitresses also.

Located on the tram and bus line and near the beach and shops could have made this an ideal hotel. The decoration of the dining room in black and grey window nets was an interior designers travesty and very dreary. The cafe/coffee shop attached to hotel was again a cold bleak and clattering bus station waiting room sort of place.

FOOD, where is the chef I keep asking? It seemed microwave Mick had been hired for our first night's meal. It was appalling the one waitress seemed depressed to be serving us such horrors, she never seemed to cheer up. House wine cheap at 6 Eurothingies. PS better dump your Euros as they won't be around much longer!!

We ate in each night, there was the occasional shaft of culinary daylight, but overall, and when the dessert offering was taken into account it was BAD, BAD. Note it was a waitress service so no buffet as we always usually have.

Breakfast was paucid no hot food.

This is a hotel for travellers and locals not for holiday makers. What a pity as the location is quiet, handy and ideal for a good rest. Booked on Expedia.
This is a budget hotel and we were glad to get home. To be fair the weather played a large part in the depressing atmosphere.

Cheers for now ! pip pip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Castilla for several days in February .......... we found the staff all to be so very friendly and helpful. The Hotel was kept spotlessly clean and tidy. A special mention to the Reception staff for their patience explaining the tram services!! And also a special mention to the waiter Jose from Argentina - what a pleasant young man - hola from the Manchester City fans!! The room we were allocated was a corner room with great views out to the sea..... kept very clean and the bed was super comfortable too, I would suggest asking for a high floor when booking...... there are two functioning lifts.
Breakfast was fine - mostly continental but for the English pallette there was cereal and fruit, juices, toast and preserves, yoghurts, danish pastries etc etc - no eggs or bacon sorry!
It is an easy five minute stroll down to the wonderful prom which went on for miles backed by lots of small eating places - sadly most if not all closed when we went at night. they are however open during the day. several bars along here too. The beach was utterly AMAZING such clean sand even after the storm we had one day........... lots for the kids to do with swings slides and witches hats etc - there is even an assault course and work out bikes fitted into the sand for the more active adults!! Within easy walk of the hotel down the rears streets were plenty of small restaurants - all good - although most do not open until late - maybe 9pm in the winter months.. not sure about other times of year - we were caught out at first thinking everywhere was closed - then eventually found somewhere open to dine and an our walk back to the hotel around 11pm found them all open!!
I can highly recommend this Hotel .... so much so that we plan on returning next April when hopefully we may get better weather to enable us to spend some days chilling on that wonderful beach!!

Room Tip: choose a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The main draw for me going to this hotel was the San Juan Beach which was a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The beach is just miles and miles of beach with a wide walking/running/cycling area. When going on the beach the first 50 metres deep is volleyball, football, basketball, children areas – all free of course. Then the rest of the beach, as you get closer to the sea, is either plain sand for you to lay your towel on or pay 4 euro for a sunbed.

The hotel is in a late 70s tower block, one of many in that area which are predominantly residential. It has had a makeover with a very nice reception and all areas were spotlessly clean. Front desk staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful. Bar staff were very helpful but as you’d expect with a lesser command of English. No question of a 3 star standard and comparable to maybe a Premier Inn back home but with larger rooms.

We didn’t eat in the hotel as there was so much around, including a Mc Donalds I’m afraid to say on the beach front but apart from that you can have anything you like from traditional Spanish to Chinese or pizza. We usually ended our night in the hotel bar as a bottle of wine was 6 euros.
You are in the suburbs of Alicante which funny enough is very Spanish. You’ll get by with no Spanish but a little would help.

Getting there.
A taxi is always an option and as at April 2013 it was a fixed price of 27 euro from the airport to the hotel. However, if you follow the bus directions from inside the airport it takes you 2 floors up to the C6 bus. The bus 2.75 euros takes you in to Alicante town, where you get off at the stop Puerto Del Mar. The C6 has a digital display and voice announcements so you can get it wrong.

At the exact same bus stop where you get off the C6 you can catch the 21 or 22 bus which stop outside the hotel for another 1.40 euro. Alternatively if you walk 200 metres to the right you can get the C4 tram. BTW catch the C6 also at the same stop to go back to the airport.

We took the bus which took about 20 minutes. There is a digital sign at the bus stop to say when the next bus is arriving, take the 21 out of choice as it doesn’t go to as many back streets as the 22 bus. As with most journeys the last half mile is the most difficult so I looked for some markers to help. These buses don't have arrival information displayed.

As you are approaching the street parallel to your hotel you will see a Holiday Inn on the left, easy to spot day or night. At the end of the ‘Holiday Inn’ hotel street the bus will turn left and this is the street the hotel is on but it is a long street. Half way down on the right you’ll see a distinctive restaurant called The White Pepper (which has large green signage if travelling at night). Your hotel is 2 stops (about 300 metres) on the left hand side but the busses stop on request so be careful and the hotel main entrance is not facing this road and you can only see their conservatory facing this street which has the hotel name in white writing on glass so is difficult to spot.

So get off the bus 2 stops after the white pepper, look across the other side of the road about 5 degrees left and you see the face of the hotel with a large sign on it.

We spent 4 nights there and were very pleased with the hotel, defiantly a ‘go backer’ for a great hotel at a very reasonable price. When exiting the main entrance go left to some 24 hour shops for you water etc but also left is the lovely cafe 2000 which opens at 7.30 and the owner cannot do enough for you and as she lived in London for a while spoke perfect English.

Room Tip: A deluxe room for an extra few euros a night gives you a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castilla Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Alicante

Address: Av. Paises Escandinavos, 7 | Alicante, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castilla Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castilla Alicante is a three star hotel that has been certified with the "Q" of Quality trade mark. The hotel has been recently renovated. It is located in the city`s north and placed in a charming environment. Only 50 metres from the beach "San Juan Playa".Wich has been awanded a blue flag. A few minutes drive from the citycentre , the much filmed "Ciudad de la Luz" , the Airport "EL ALTET" , the Exhibition Centre ( IFA) ,The theme park "Terra Mitica" the ,"Terra Natura" off the A7 / A31,and 300 metres away is the Golf course " Alicante Golf ".Hotel Castilla Alicante has 155 rooms, all recently redecorated and are equiped with full marble bathroom, large balconies , satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, safety deposit box ( optional) and the majority have sea views. The rooms majority has free wi-fi connection under availability .All rooms have air conditioning and central heating .There are also non smoking rooms alarms.Hotel Castilla Alicante is a suitable location to combine business, sport and leisure, where relaxation and rest are guaranteed.Moreover, we have conference rooms and banqueting with suites varying capacities (350-25 people ) , a restaurant with a capacity of 300 people , swimming pool, childrens play area, undercover parking, a terrace with a cafe-bar, a Cafe lounge with a TV area, a limited room service, a laundry service, a florist, excursions, a ticket service, car-rental available at reception, Green Fees reservations and information about the golf courses . Close to the hotel, there is an office for local shows, Commercial Centres, restaurants, pubs and high speed wi-fi connection on the main floor. Full equipped kitchen of our own specialised in Home made and mediterranean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Castilla Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castilla Alicante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.