We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abama Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Abama Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abama Hotel Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687 Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Guia de Isora
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel & Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

An excellent hotel which is very luxurious and staff are very good, the golf course is difficult and may be too difficult for over 18 hcp for men but the views are spectacular, can only be played in a buggy. Both the hotel and the golf is expensive but treat yourself and you wont regret it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    495
    243
    109
    50
    37
See reviews for
355
357
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belle41
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a week in the Tagor Villas. We have very high standards and I have to remind myself of this wherever we go in the world and our first trip to the Abama is compared to some very, very good hotels. On arrival we were taken to the main bar and offered a drink, we were a little tired and ordered a rather expensive glass of wine each, the good news is this was complimentary, nice touch for the villas not the usual cava. We were then taken to our villa and met by the concierge who checked us into our room, in our room, nice touch. We stayed in 133, gorgeous with steps down tot the private Tagor pool. Room lovely, products lovely, pool lovely, comp drinks a nice touch. The hotel is as you would expect expensive 2 G&T's €23 (nice & large though!) we were given a buggy for the week my favourite thing about the whole week! Beach is lovely as is the beach bar, food was good and it's worth popping down to see the sunset with a cocktail. The hotel food was good, pricey though. We popped in playa San juan, recommend Jamon jamon for tapas, pretty good Rioja at €2, Marasala is lovely, great setting, great food.
Minor grumbles are the service in the private villa breakfast area hit & miss, service at the golf club bar pretty awful and frankly a bit Golf snobby which made me giggle, we have need to some very special hotels/golf clubs and they need to get over themselves a bit!!
That said all in all we had a lovely time, villas are gorgeous and worth the extra money, can't comment on the main hotel although we heard several complaints.

Room Tip: Tabor villas seem to main,y have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ok, I don't want to be too rude - not everything was bad, so let's start with the good things: the staff was really nice and attentive and tried best to save the 5* status. The rooms are spacious and the bed is heavenly - at least we slept well. The golf course is gorgeous. But, the hotel is huge and that's the problem: To be cost-effective the management is obviously forced to accept all kinds of large groups, in our case it was Tupperware with about 100 sales agents from Germany, staying for 4 nights and besieging the whole hotel compound like vandals. Sorry, but I'm still shocked. There was no way avoiding them, which would not have been necessary if they would have been less noisy. Moreover, because of the Tupperware invasion, as regular guests we had been moved for breakfast to different places, where the breakfast buffet was improvised and offered a reduced range of products. Besides the Tupperware experience there is one other point to mention: The hotel calls itself "Golf & Spa Resort", but if you want to use the Spa, be aware you'll have to pay extra 25,- Euros per Person to enjoy a steam bath or whatever. I've never had to pay for the Spa separately before, if the hotel is selling itself as a Spa Hotel. What kind of bluff package is that?! We did definitely not feel like staying in a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This large hotel is ideal for a golf trip. Regular shuttle buses to the Abama Golf Course. A spectacular but difficult course. The price as a hotel guest is significantly lower than for other players (200€).
Individual hotel rooms with spacious dimensions and balconies. Several special restaurants: try the Japanese Restaurant! Delicious breakfast buffet!
Friendly service.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely,the rooms are great clean and spacious but the prices in the restaurants and bars are just shocking ! The food was average as was the service and certainly not worth the exorbitant prices they are charging. If you are staying in this hotel I would suggest jumping in a taxi and going to the nearby town for your meals the 6€ for the taxi fare will easily be justified .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel , poorly trained restaurant staff. We tried the Italian / Argentine first 2.5 hours a real struggle so slow and avoid eye contact. The poolside restaurant was a comedy show . twice we sent food back that was cold . My wife and I watched table after table send food back . A real shame given the rooms are nice and the pools warm . Will not stay again. We went to the lopesan grand last year in melonares and it is streets ahead.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed here for four nights recently as my sister was there at a business conference. not the sort of place i would normally go to (don't play golf, don't earn a five star salary) but thoroughly enjoyed it.
it is what i would consider expensive (15 euro for a club sandwich by the pool) but i guess you should expect that at a five stat place.
the room was one of the basic but was very well fitted out and plenty big enough. the shower was a particular highlight.
the pools are beautiful and the staff are really friendly and very efficient. other reviews have noted the requirement to book, even though the restaurants are mostly empty. this is pretty accurate though we did manage to walk in to the Italian restaurant and get a table. the Michelin starred restaurants were booked well in advance but were not full so i suspect the hotel are booking to their staff availability rather than the physical space in the restaurant. something to be aware of rather than a criticism.
the beach is spectacular and if you're really lazy, you can get a golf buggy lift down to it (it is at the bottom of a very steep hill though there is also a lift).
last thing to note, the resort is a bit out of the way so if you want to head out, you'll need a taxi or a rental car.

Room Tip: go for a room with a sea view, the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abama Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abama Hotel Resort

Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687 Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abama Hotel Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Abama Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
Abama Hotel Resort Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abama Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.