We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother if your vegetarian” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Varadero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Varadero to your Saves list
Barcelo Varadero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda La Gaviota 1 | Playa de la Arena, 38680 Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dont bother if your vegetarian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I went for a weeks all inclusive in March. We are both vegetarian but we usually manage to get a decent variety of food to choose from. Everyone does a vegi pizza and pasta, right? NOT ON THIS OCCASION!!! After two days of salad for both lunch and dinner we asked at reception & were told that we would be accomodated....Not so! We were lucky to get vegetables. I mean, there was chips with cheese.... and ham through it. Who does that?
It was like playing Russian Roulette with food as there were little or no signs to tell you what you were eating. At the end of the week, and on the day I flew home I became really unwell, so what does that tell you?
Other than the food, the rest was ok.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same with A/C which was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    482
    308
    118
    92
See reviews for
530
459
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel does not cater for the English. Food is shocking if you like goat or veal everyday go ahead, all I ate for a week was pasta. There were flies landing on all the food and birds were flying through all the while you were eating. The bread rolls were like rocks and you were restricted to when you can have tea or coffee as the machines weren't always on. It was bedlam people were pushing and shoving like they'd never eaten before. There was no proper entertainment and miles away from anywhere you have a few shops that weren't always open.

We travelled on a bus to a market, a market to me is loads of stalls this had 5! the beach was tiny and quite a walk away. We came because we read the feedback from trip adviser but it was all lies what a waste of time and money we wanted to come home the first day but it was too expensive for flights back. The bed was as hard as rocks and the apartment had small insects in, very out of date room and rubbish shower. My partner is sick so we wanted a nice holiday break but this didn't happen we will never go to Tenerife again. Most disappointing.

Room Tip: No rooms they all look the same I guess they are all the same inside this out dated hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Large complex where the apartments and facilities are kept clean. Lots of pools for adult and children alike. Short straw where we ended up in block F, furthest block away from reception & restaurant but close to kids pools.
Request block D if you want pm balcony sun!
Food fine albeit a limited choice of 'kids' food. Ten minute walk from the small selection of shops in Playa de la Arena, where there's also a beach area.
We hired a car to explore a bit and to take ourselves to the Loro Parque attraction on the north of the island, and Aqualand in Costa Adeje. Easy access to motorway from the hotels location.
For what we paid in the kids Easter holidays we couldn't really have expected more.

Room Tip: Block F gets afternoon sun on the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed here for a few days at the end of february with my hubby.
the hotel is okay for a few days but wouldnt like to stay here for a week or longer.
good points.... help yourself to drinks at the bar. this prevented queues and you could make your drinks to your own liking.
good sized pools with plenty of sunbeds. one of the pools is heated in winter.
rooms are spacious and the beds were comfy, plenty of wardrobe space.
plenty of outdoor areas to sit and have a coffee or cold beer.

bad points..... the rooms were basic and in need of an upgrade.
the food was not the best ever. we tended to eat out in the evening across the road at a lovely bar.
the hotel in general need of an upgrade. This hotel is a 2 star at best.

We had a really nice short break at this hotel. Yes it is very basic but reflected in the price. We found it a great base to explore the area with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
the entertainment is not our choice, very cheesy, karaoke etc.. but okay i guess for a short break.
We have stayed in much better quality hotels but we knew we were getting a cheap deal when we booked so cannot really complain.
Would we stay here again? maybe!!
go with an open mind and do not expect anything more than a 2 star. Be prepare to eat out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have the sun late afternoon/evening time on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Self service All-Inclusive, but also good value sums up my overall impression of this hotel.
From the moment we checked in, when we were given a map of the hotel layout, with a vague circle around our potential destination and NO assistance with baggage. This set the tone for our stay. If you want it find it and dont expect much help from the staff. The central pool area was well laid out and beautifully maintained. Plenty of sun beds, but the usual shortage of sunshades. Warning, take your own beach/pool towels as non are provided.There are 5 terraced pools on different levels to provide variety. The pool bar opened at 10.00 until 17.30 when it moves into the hotel until 23.00. Self Service everything!! Self service bar with Local beer, spirits and wine, both at the pool and in the main hotel. The self service food and soft drinks are fantastic for families with young children, especially the ice creams! Child freindly menu's all day from 10.30 until 17.00 at the pool bar. The main restaurant was rather hot, so many people opt for the cooler terrace outside. Again everything is self service, great salad and dessert choices. Hot dishes were only hot for the first 5 minutes, but were replenished regularly, self service coffee and soft drinks from dispensers!
The rooms were adequate, much as we had experienced before when we stayed at the same location for Christmas 1999 as a time share exchange. I think all that was different were fresh towels! Wi-fi connection at 50 euros for 2 weeks was a rip off. Just walk across the road, down the hill to the Sunflower Restaurant (about 300 metres), buy a beer for 1.50 euros and get free connection for 2 weeks, logon code on the bar! The 3 star rating may be extravagent, but it was good value, the sun shone and you could spend many happy hours trying to outdrink the Russians!

Room Tip: Take a round 2 pin adapter to recharge you cell phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great value for what we paid. Nice varied meals, large, bright, clean rooms. Lovely large balcony with sea views. Peaceful, lots of sun loungers, great weather. Rooms are dated but comfortable. It is a 3 star so as long as you manage your expectations you won't be disappointed. Great for a value, sunny break in the winter. Restaurant can get busy but didn't cause us an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Arriving in pitch dark during driving rain and howling gales, with torrents of water running down the road outside the hotel was an unpromising start. However first impressions of the hotel were much improved next day in daylight.
We found the staff friendly and attentive, particularly in the restaurant where they were very busy. Reception staff helpful and the cleaning staff really good. Staff came immediately when we reported broken glass at the entrance to the list.
Yes the rooms are dated but spacious (we had a one bedroom apartment for the two of us).The food was plentiful if unadventurous but we had expected this given the price and star rating.

If travelling without kids ask for a room away from the play area and the shallow pool end.

What could have made it better ? - a little attention to detail for example Replacement of the bedside light bulb and shaving mirror light which we reported on day two and were still not working when we left at the end of the week. Repair of the treadmill in the fitness room again out of action with no apparent attempt at repair or replacement.

Having worked in resort management I know when the weather is poor guests' attention and concern focuses on the other matters which are often overlooked if the sun is shining and everyone is having a good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Varadero

Address: Avda La Gaviota 1 | Playa de la Arena, 38680 Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Varadero 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Varadero Hotel Guia De Isora
Barcelo Guia De Isora
Barcelo Hotel Varadero
Barcelo Varadero Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.