We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful relaxed and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio Urgoiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio Urgoiti to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arritugane, s/n, 48280 Mungia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mungia
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxed and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a really good stay. The hotel is well located and is a lovely old building renovated to a high standard but preserving many of the old features Breakfast was good continental style. Ate in the bistro a couple of nights and was also good. My travelling companion had suffered an injury on our journey the the staff moved mountains on a Sunday morning to ensure she got the proper medical attention. During the week the staff enquired how the injury was healing and offered any help they could. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    58
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
80
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 1 night prior to taking the ferry back to UK from northern Spain. Lovely imposing building set in golf course just outside Bilbao, near airport. Excellent reception staff, beautiful clean reception area. Very large bedroom with balcony and great views, fabulous bathroom. Swimming pool and gym looked good - no time to use, only in hotel 12 hours in total.
Bar/restaurant area/outside seating pretty standard Spanish decor, good staff, basic menu, reasonable prices - really good food and reasonably priced drinks.
Loads of free parking in the grounds, 1 minute drive to the main road network - Bilbao ferry port around 25 minutes away.
Would definitely use this hotel again - no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent two days on past October in this wonderfull Hotel. Since we made reservations for two days we were upgraded to a superior room with great view to the valley, were we could sip our drinks in the evening watching the magnificent sunset.
Very good service, gentle staff, good brekfast although not largely provided.
It`s away from the city, so you need a car, it has a large parking area at no cost, with easy access to the main roads for day trips, Bilbao, San Sebastian, etc. (tip: bring a gps)
The heated indoor pool is nice, but the water just warm.
Didn`t play golf, but the golf course looked fine, with the drive range just outside the Hotel.
Th room was very good, large, with very comfortble bedding and a fully equipped bathroom.
It was the perfect spot to explore the Basque Country

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at this hotel late and departed early the next morning. Therefore, I wanted something clean and comfortable, close to the airport. This hotel is a much better choice than the usual airport hotels.

The rooms are huge, mine had a balcony overlooking the surrounding region.

Breakfast is great, plenty of things on the buffet table like pastries and cured meats.

My only one criticism would be the shower - it was more like a fire hose and there was so much pressure in it that it wouldn't stay held up against the wall.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is very close to Bilbao Airport and has its own par 3 golf course! Unfortunately, I arrived in the middle of three days of torrential rain, so Golf was not an option. The building is an authentic Manor House/Palace. The rooms are large and very nicely appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I actually liked it so much I booked myself in for another night later on my trip and was then given one of the top floor rooms which was absolutely huge! The 2x2m bed was lost within it. The bathroom was about the size of a london hotel 'suite'. Needless to say I loved it. Getting to/fro Bilbao is easy with a car.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenaidaSolano, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Urgoiti, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive impression of Palacio Urgoiti. We hope to see you again soon in the Basque Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We came to Bilbao after a one week stay in Barcelona where our hotel was well located but pretty shabby. So, I wasn't really expecting much from Palacio Urgoiti, I was even more iffy about staying in Mungia instead of in Bilbao, but I am really glad we did. The hotel is very close to Bilbao airport a big plus for weary travelers. We hired a car and I have to say because the hotel isn't centrally located it makes sense to have one.

I really appreciated the way the hotel was decorated, the quiet location and the comfy rooms. We had a ground floor room with a terrace, the rooms are spacious and clean and so are the bathrooms.

The breakfast room had beautiful views of the surrounding golf course and greenery and while the breakfast buffet was standard, the satff were friendly and helpful. Not everybody could speak English, but we were in small town Spain and I view this as part of the experience. There were a few families with children staying while we were, small children were even helping themselves to the breakfast buffet and staff seemed relaxed about it. Our one year old was throwing food on the ground and he was still getting smiles. The highlight of our trip was asking a waiter for restaurant recommendations at the next town we were planning to visit. He was very familiar with the area and we left with a list of restaurants to try, we tried most and they were great.

Overall, a great place to stay if you have kids, are travelling by car or need some peace and quiet. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a beautifully redone 17th century palace. Wonderful room, nice balcony and great bathroom. When we checked it we noticed that our tv did not seem to be working. Since this was our last night in Spain (and we had not seen tv in two weeks) we were interested in a bit of news catch up. We were told the hotel was completely full, there were no other sets available and too bad. Clearly a bit more could have been done. The same front desk person made us a reservation for dinner which the dining room did not seem at all ready for. In such a wonderful hotel I expected a bit more ambiance in the dining room.

That said, when we had to leave for the airport in the dark the next morning we came to truly appreciate the location of this hotel. We were at the airport in under 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio Urgoiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Urgoiti

Address: Arritugane, s/n, 48280 Mungia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Mungia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mungia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Urgoiti 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio Urtoiti is a boutique hotel with golf, near the airport and to the center of Bilbao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palacio Urgoiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Urgoiti Bilbao
Palacio Urgoiti Hotel Bilbao
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti Spain/Mungia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio Urgoiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.