We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freixenet Winery

Freixenet Winery
Joan Sala, 2, 08770 Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Spain
938917000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Freixenet Winery like an insider
Small Group
$90*
and up
Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in Barcelona and visited the winery and enjoyed the tour very much. We tried to reserve our tour online, but for whatever reason could not using their website. We called them from England, and they were very kind, helpful and reserved a place on the tour. We travelled there from Barcelona Sants station were you can buy a train and tour ticket for E10,60. Leave plenty of time to get there, as it took us nearly two hours and a half to travel from our hotel in the gothic area of Barcelona. There is meant to be two trains an hour, but with delays on the metro and over ground train we turned up for the tour 20mins late. The staff where so lovely and allowed us to join the tour late and took us down to the cellar to meet up with the group. The tour is very pleasant and the old cellar is very traditional, dark and musty, very much how you would expect an old cellar to be. A train takes you around the newer part of the cellars and warehouse. Then you go to the bar area where you are given one glass of cava to try. The bar is very pleasant, and you can buy different cava by the glass from E2,00 for a good size glass. We were there during a very rainy day, and we stayed in the bar sampling all the different cavas for a couple of hours. After the bar experience there is a nice gift shop where you can buy bottles, gift sets and all sorts of things and very reasonably priced. We bought a set of three mini rose cava bottles for E4,00 and drank them on the train journey home. All the staff were very helpful and polite. Very enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Cava a new found discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had never taken to wine very well in my life. After learning about the process from our very knowledgable guide, I learned to appreciate all the efforts that go into making a fine bottle of cava. I think If I stick with the sweeter cavas, thanks very much Christina by the way on your selections for uus and your reccomendations. This was a great tour for anyone who wants to apreciate the old countries and the history of wine making in Spain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not too fast, not too slow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An instructive tour but without providing so much information as to become laboured and dull. The included sample of Freixenet Cava was delicious, and it was great to have the opportunity to sample (at reasonable cost) some of their less common wines.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good time, nice tour...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came here as part of a tour group. It was really nice and informative. The staff and tour guides were really great. You got to see both the modern and the old fashioned areas and methods which was cool. One thing I would say to be mindful of is that if you are highly allergic or reactive in any way to mold, especially black mold, some of the older cave areas have a lot of this and you will want to make sure you have any allergy treatment medication you might need. My wife gets very symptomatic around mold and it did bother her a bit but not so it spoiled the trip. Just be mindful of this in case it bother you too. Overall this was a really nice visit and tour and i would definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Barcelona side-tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Barcelona for more than a week and wanted to experience an easy-to-get-to winery. From the Barcelona train station this is an easy jaunt and the train stop is literally right at the Winery. The staff was welcoming and the winery is beautiful and interesting. The process of making their famous cava was explained and shown in great detail. The wine-tasting following the tour was fabulous. Afterwards, we walke a short distance to the little town and found a great place for lunch, that was recommended by the staff in the winery's store. All in all, this day was one of our highlights of the trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freixenet Winery also viewed

Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Freixenet Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freixenet Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.