We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cava a new found discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freixenet Winery

Freixenet Winery
Joan Sala, 2, 08770 Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Spain
938917000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$109*
and up
Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and...
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Cava a new found discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had never taken to wine very well in my life. After learning about the process from our very knowledgable guide, I learned to appreciate all the efforts that go into making a fine bottle of cava. I think If I stick with the sweeter cavas, thanks very much Christina by the way on your selections for uus and your reccomendations. This was a great tour for anyone who wants to apreciate the old countries and the history of wine making in Spain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not too fast, not too slow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An instructive tour but without providing so much information as to become laboured and dull. The included sample of Freixenet Cava was delicious, and it was great to have the opportunity to sample (at reasonable cost) some of their less common wines.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good time, nice tour...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came here as part of a tour group. It was really nice and informative. The staff and tour guides were really great. You got to see both the modern and the old fashioned areas and methods which was cool. One thing I would say to be mindful of is that if you are highly allergic or reactive in any way to mold, especially black mold, some of the older cave areas have a lot of this and you will want to make sure you have any allergy treatment medication you might need. My wife gets very symptomatic around mold and it did bother her a bit but not so it spoiled the trip. Just be mindful of this in case it bother you too. Overall this was a really nice visit and tour and i would definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Barcelona side-tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Barcelona for more than a week and wanted to experience an easy-to-get-to winery. From the Barcelona train station this is an easy jaunt and the train stop is literally right at the Winery. The staff was welcoming and the winery is beautiful and interesting. The process of making their famous cava was explained and shown in great detail. The wine-tasting following the tour was fabulous. Afterwards, we walke a short distance to the little town and found a great place for lunch, that was recommended by the staff in the winery's store. All in all, this day was one of our highlights of the trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Tour - Amazing Caves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My friend and I wanted to do something a bit different while in Barcelona so rented a car and drove out to Sant Sadurni for the Freixinet tour.

Very friendly team at the information desk and very good tour guide around the Caves. Very cool to see both the old and the new - I clearly preferred the old caves which are stunning in the way they are built and also that the traditions are still kept in this area.

At the end of the tour there is a nice tasting and you can buy additional drinks - which we did and we got to try some of the slightly more different types of Cava.

Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freixenet Winery also viewed

Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Freixenet Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freixenet Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.