We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cava” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Codorniu

Codorniu
Carrer de Can Codorniu s/n, 08770 Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Spain
938913342
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cava”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The guided tour was ok, the guide knew what he was talking about, but could maybe be a little more enthusiastic. We got a good insight in the family history and the beginning of Cava in Spain, which is nice to know ;-) Since I had been there 8 years earlier, I looked forward to the "train"ride through the cellar, but this time I wish there had been some audio during the ride telling us more about our surroundings as we rushed trough cellar after cellar. But I heard that they are working on it now, so that will take the trip to the next level :-) It is also supposed to be a lot of changes in the nearest future, so maybe I will come back in a couple of years?
The best thing with this, is definitely the tasting at the end. Two glass of two different cavas with lovely biscuits, but we wish there had been more ;-)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Insight into cava”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had taken the family on the rival and nearby Freixenet tour last year (which is excellent) so we did codornui this time. The tour is less informative but the complex is beautiful, the heritage comes out and you get more than enough cava at the end to pay off the admission price! I would thoroughly recommend a trip to either/both and if you pre-book you can get the tours in English. It combines well with a trip to the monastary at Montserrat if you have a car. Both are good half-day trips from Barcelona and can be done easily by train (Freixenet much better for public transport as directly opposite the station).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Impressive location but guided tour of limited interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went there on a recommendation of a local friend. He even gave us an invitation for 2 people to have a guided tour. I called to book the tour and everything looked ok ... until we came to the reception desk, where the lady has been unfriendly and arrogant. She did not want to accept the invitation voucher arguing this a a personal and nominative invitation (no such indication on the voucher at all!!). So we had to pay 8.4€ per person to take the tour ... and have the chance to buy some cava !! Not really customer satisfaction oriented.
The guide is very friendly, some cool anecdotes, in English and in French, make you feel comfortable. The Cava making as such is not of a big surprise for those who are familiar with champagne and other sparkling wine. The cellar itself is amazingly big, we took a small train tour at 40m underneath the ground. Lots of numbers and statistics.
Probably not a lifetime experience, but if you are in the surroundings, worth having either Cordoniu or Freixenet tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cava cellar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lady at reception desk was very unfriendly and arrogant.
The tour was interesting, similar to champagne cellars in France
Again the guide did not do any effort to communicate in another language but Spanish, only 1 tour per day in English.
Price per bottle approx 10% cheaper than carrefour

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the effort but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

...the tour is worth the effort but only to see the area and the buildings. Very limited tasting opportunities. Nothing really about the wine! We were glad to have done the more impressive Frexenet tour (walking distance) first or it would have been a disappointment. Don't let this turn you off but make sure you visit a few other sites too. We booked the week before!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codorniu also viewed

Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Codorniu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codorniu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.