We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky plumbing smell, not a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf

Save Saved
You added Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rocaberti s/n, 17491 Peralada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Peralada
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Funky plumbing smell, not a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable clean rooms, but the smell of even the tap water was nauseating. No bottled water was provided. Spotless bathroom still had urine smell. Spa area is wonderful! Restaurant food is OK for breakfast. Dinner was not worth the price at all. Monkfish undercooked and tough, gummy chicken. We recommend nearby Cal Sagrista for dinner. Golf is incredibly good!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your time in leaves your opinion about our hotel and services. We have taken note of the cons you comment and done the properly to avoid this will happen again. Although we try to get our best service for all our clients is ok for us to alert of what is not working, so we really regret you will find this situation. Nevertheless thank you for leave constancy of the good quality of our Spa and Golf. Thank you and hope to see you again to let you know we have seriously get conscious of those details and we have really improved it.

Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf SERHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
63
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wonderful place to stay situated in old authentic farm atmosphere. I'm not a golfer, but staying there with family has been very joyful. Generous rooms, very nicely decorated, very comfortbale with great facilities in the room. Great spa facility. Nice gardens. Breakfast was also unique experience with many local foods offered in a very rich buffet, excellent service and great views of the farms nearby.

We also had dinner in the restaurant that also offers local food and wine. All was just great.

Lastly, the teams' service is of the highest classes.

The places is located about 20-30 minutes comfortable drive from the north part actractions of Costa Brave including Roses, Figueres and Cadaques.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite that was extremely large with comfortable king bad, arm chairs, remote c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest,

We are really grateful that you have taken some of your time to let us know your good experience at the hotel. We really think you have done a perfect description of our atmosphere, a traditionalhotel that wants to remain the essence of our country giving us the opportunity to do it through our gastronomy and spaces. Thank you for your nice words and we hope to see you again very soon.

Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf SERHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrassa, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Don't misunderstand the title of my review. The hotel was fine, the location was very nice with great views. But everything looked a little bit decadent. I'm sure this hotel was a spectacular 5 star some time ago, but now it needs to step up and modernize if they want to keep up their status.

The room was roomy and spacious, but the Spa was small and very crowded. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed here for a week, using it as a base primarily for our visit to El Bulli (which is about an hour away by taxi - 100 Euros return, if you're interested!). We had hired a car in Barcelona, and you will need one if you're staying here.
It is beautifully located in (well, 5 minute drive from) the town of Peralada - one of the prettiest (and richest) towns in Spain. The hotel is situated in the middle of its own golf course (a hugely challenging, but impossibly crowded course - well over 5 hours for the round). The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the hotel itself has a "fine dining" restaurant (very expensive for what it was - but maybe my expectations were artificially high for the week!). It also has a fantastic indoor pool area (and outdoor for the warmer parts of the year), and a lovely wine bar to relax in (their own wine is very good value). Overall, it justifies its tag as one of the world's Small Luxury Hotels.
However, and these may be seen by some to be minor issues, but I was surprised by the following:
- no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms
- no hotel directory in the rooms (we had to explore the hotel to see what it offered)
- poor room service (took them four times to actually answer the phone)
- poor reception service (when we asked for help, they referred us elsewhere, rather than finding out the answer for us)

Having said that, we should note that we were travelling with our 5 month old daughter, and they accommodated her with no problems. They provided cots, bedding, and I believe also offer baby-sitting.
All in all, a great place to stay, relax, unwind, explore - but should polish off these rough edges if they want to make it to 5 out of 5.

By the way, top tip for restaurants in this area is not El Bulli (try getting in!) but El Cellar De Can Roca in Gerona. Better than El Bulli (in my humble opinion), easier to get into (being number 5 in the world, not number one makes a lot of difference, apparently), half the price, and just sensational! It's in Gerona, 40 minutes from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

This hotel is definitely worth a stay. We used it as a hub for our day trips to Figueres, Cadaques and the French Pyrenees. After a long day on the road it was a quiet, sanctuary from the days ride. The small town of Peralada was a short 5 minute drive with good restaurants, a casino and museums. The hotel also had a restaurant but with a limited menu but rather pricey. Service was outstanding at the hotel and you have access to the spa, golfing, horseback riding and bicycles. The rooms were very large and well appointed. Definitely a 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2004

The hotel is situated approx 2 mins drive from the historic town of Peralada which is among the 57 richest municipalities in Spain. The hotel itself certainly reflects this without being overstated or ostentatious. It offers ameneties to both the golfer and non golfer: driving range, golf school, challenging golf course, shop; indoor and outdoor pool, relaxing wine spa, pamper treatments, hair salon, gymnasium to name but a few! Peralada also plays host to a casino in the castle, and if you don't mind scenic drives through the lush green countryside, you'll find many a town or village just as quaint and picturesque. The only negative response to this enjoyable, cultural and relaxing experience would be that, as a relatively young hotel and golf complex, there was still building works (luxurious villas) on the outskirts of the complex. This, however did not impede in any way on my stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf

Address: Rocaberti s/n, 17491 Peralada, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Peralada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Peralada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peralada Hotel Girona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.