We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Farmhouse Agriturismo in the hills of Como” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Marnich

Save Saved
You added Al-Marnich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al-Marnich
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Marnico, 8 | Como Lake, 22020 Schignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Schignano B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Rustic Farmhouse Agriturismo in the hills of Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Emanuele and company was Charming!! The food was real Italian farm to table experience. Menu changed every night for the three nights that we stayed there. The open kitchen was very clean. They even let us take a picture with the Chef and company for a great memory. If your looking for non tourist food and feel like you want to live in real Italy for a while than this is the place for you. A 15 to 20 min drive up in to the mountains off the main road of Como, you have none of the tourist traps to get in your way. We opted to go back every night and eat rather to eat in any of the other eateries down by Como. Accommodations was very clean, unique building that had a few room in each made it very quaint. And great views of the towns below. Very sad to leave and we will return. Thank you so much

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
24
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found the place very difficult to find. The climb up the mountain would have been
a chore for Sir Edmond Hillery. My GPS kept saying "I'm lost Too" Very poor signage
on the roads up to the destination. A sign is needed at the fountain pointing to their
Road! The facility looked very quaint when we finally arrived. I was displeased with
the remoteness of location and wanted to cancel immediately upon arrival. It was
very rustic, isolated and not worth the money. We stayed 4 nights because they
would not allow us to leave without charging full price for our reservation. Their
on sight restaurant was expensive and very small portions. It didn't taste
like there was any meat in the meatballs. French Hote Quisine pricing, French
Nuval Portions, and Highway Road Stop Taste.
Our room was not up to a reasonable standard. The toilet was broken. The
bathroom sink was added as an after thought; it was directally in front of the
toilet and one had to have acrobatic ability to slide on to the toilet. Hence the
broken tiolet seat from a previous client. They quoted 15 euros for our laundry
but charged 30. Our room also had old second hand furniture and worn linens.
Another annoyance was their insistance of us running a tab
like a Deluxe hotel. We have stayed at other Agritorismo's that make this
place look really poor. We stayed in Sept. 2013

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Not good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Marnich, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Al-Marnich, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,

i good remember you and your stay in our farm holidays, and sincerely, i dont good understand your double review (on Expedia.com and on TripAdvisor, too...), for the followings reasons...:

1) The Room n° 13 where you are stayed, was been your directly choice, because we have originally booked for you the Room n° 6, but on your arrival, we have suggest you to see this other room also (because very big, confortable and mutch appreciated, with a big and panoramic terrace also...), and you have selected this accommodation, however if we have warned you immediately, about the broken toilet tablet, that anyhow, we have changed/fixed the day after...: your reply after my warning about the brokend toilet (that you have good see and checked, before to decide and select the final room...), was been (more or less...): "never mind for 1 nigth and thank you, but we finally choice however this room, that we like".

2) You arrive in an high season period and you have booked with prepayed/not refoundable method and it's absolutely normal, to pay if you dont arrive ("no show") or if you dont want to stay for all original reserved period... But however, because we have understand your situation and your personal difficulty to drive on mountain's street (8 km only from Como Lake, but it's a mountain street...: not very large and with some curves...), we have immediately suggest you to stay one nigth only (like your original request on check-in...) and that we have refunded you really, if we was been ables to rebook the 3 remaining nigths (not so difficult, in high season period, in last second also...): you don't have accepted this potentially honest solution at your driving problem, but you have quickly decided to remaining for the all period (4 nigths...), in the room n° 13, also being aware of the broken toilet's tablet, at least for one day (impossible for us, to repair on the evening of your arrival...). So, it's incredible that you write now a bad review, only because you are remained all booked stay period, without any reimbursement option (that is not really true...): sincerely, i dont understand and i dont like, the guests like you...!!!

3) About the food in our restaurant, sincerely i dont remember if/and how many times eventually, you have really took a dinner, but i know for sure..., that you dont have understand our simply and natural cooking method...: soft italian traditional food, with no too salt and all biological and local produtcs... About the price, all are clear indicated on the menu "à la carte" and we have half-board solution also, if you took a dinner all days and if you book in advance, that is normally considered cheaper...: 25.00 Euro x person, for a complete menu, drinks excluded...

4) About the "Laundry Service" that you have payed 30.00 Euro, we have good communicate the price of 15.00 Euro for each laundry service...: so, if you have many clothes to clean, for us it's necessary to repeat a second washing service for the same price and the result is a total double price (15.00 Euro x 2 = 30.00 Euro for 2 laundry services...). I think to have good explicate you this..., during tha check-out and payment phase...

5) Sincerely, i dont understand your last assertion...: "Another annoyance was their insistance of us running a tab like a Deluxe hotel." We dont ask any "running tab" to our guests and i dont understand what do you mean...

In conclusion, i dont find any good feedback for to improve our service or our room's confort for all our future guest, in your review...: it's a simple "revenge", because we do not have permitted you to leave 3 nigths in advance (in High-Season period...), without any immediate penalty and you think also, to have payed 2 times the laundry service...

I'm sorry for my bad english and i hope you have good understand my reply...

Kind Regards,

Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Antonino Bonfiglio
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a charming rustic farmhouse, a short drive from Lake Como (if you go the opposite way to our sat-nav, which took us all around the mountain villages, rather than along the shores of the lake then up, but nevermind). The owners were lovely. One spoke English really well, the other a man didn't, but we still managed to communicate in our own fun way. There are goats, dogs, chickens, donkeys here and wonderful orchards growing their own food, much of it makes its way into their food. The view over the mountains is divine. The food, homecooked and rustic, is one of the highlights of my holiday. The room is basic, but comfortable. Do not expect the standards of a chain hotel in terms of a sparkling surroundings, (but saying that it is very clean, just not uniformly sterile). I would thoroughly recommend this charming place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is first time we stay in a place which is far from the main attractions.
I think that for us it whould have been better to stay near to the lake, since most of our days we spent at the lake. Also, since it is far on the mountain, nothing really to do at the afternoon or eavning.
We had a nice walk on the mountain, but this is the only trail.
The view is really wonderful.
The food is good and most ingrediants are raised locally in the farm.
The rooms we got where very very small.
The owners where very kind and welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband has been asking me to try agriturismo and I am very happy that I actually said yes, this time round. It was a unique and wonderful experience. We have been to Lake Como before so I agreed to try something really different. Al-Marnich is a hidden gem. We paid 65euros for the room (which is cheap for Europe). Then we had dinner and bought stuff from the farm (total of 81euros). The check-in was a fast one. To our surprise, the room is colorful, spacious and clean with a small balcony to enjoy a drink or few overlooking the mountain. 2 hours after we arrived, we went to the restaurant and had the most amazing dinner during this holiday. Everything was homemade and fresh from their own farm and garden. Authentic dishes and food specialties of the region are really unique yet delicious. We don't usually eat goat cheese that much, but the one that they have served (and made) actually don't have smell and unbelievably good. Unfortunately, I was too full, I couldn't take a dessert anymore. The breakfast was very good too. I can only write a positive thing about Al-Marnich. The owner is friendly but not to the extent that you will get annoyed. He gives you space and let you be. We bought 5 salamis and goat cheese to bring back home. I wouldn't think twice to come back to this place again. I will forever remember the feeling I had for this place. The only regret was we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the nature, the good food and the beautiful area. The pictures aren't enough to give justice on how beautiful the place is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable and authentic rooms, fabulous view, friendly owners. the place is quite and beautiful. We were 3 families with kids get 3 different appartments in same building. It was a great stay and it is warmly recommeneded for the peaple that looking to taste a real Italy farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We drove 8km up the mountain from Lake Como in the evening in the pouring rain which makes for an adventurous drive. With no reservations & dripping wet, the owners were so accommodating. They had 1 room available which they showed me...I loved the small, cozy, rustic cottage feel. While registering, they sat us down with some excellent red vino di casa and shortly thereafter, an incredible home cooked dinner was served with warm fresh bread...perfect timing! I enjoyed the ambiance and the authentic Italian feel. Breakfast was also wonderful. Fun to see all the animals and the mountain views were stunning. We extended our stay as it was so quiet and relaxing. A wonderful get away in a beautiful area high a top the mountains with amazing hiking. Great unique place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al-Marnich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Marnich

Address: Localita Marnico, 8 | Como Lake, 22020 Schignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Schignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Al-Marnich 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Marnich Guest House was born 18 years ago, in a very ancient original farm (1798 D.C.), That Mr Emanuele Bonfiglio (The Owner) has recovered and transformed in a nice and rural accommodation, in a strategical position, because really very near Como Lake (8 Km only). Al-Marnich is an accommodation (Farm Holidays Como Lake - Italy) near Como City (Schignano's Village - 21 Km from Como City). This is where you will taste authentic dishes and food specialty (Biorganic Food & Home Made Pasta - Vegan & Vegetarian Food Specialty). Availables B&B and Half Board accommodation includes double and family rooms, with some, boasting an original fireplace and/or a panoramic terrace or balcony. The property is surrounded by lush greenery, with a relaxing hiking trail and a small gym. To about 1 hour from Milan (Rho Fiera Expo), to 45 minutes from Lugano (Switzerland), to 25 minutes from Villa Balbianello (Lenno - Como Lake Beach) and to 15 minutes from the romantic lake Como (Argegno - Ferry's Station). More Info...: Free Parking, ADSL Service in the rooms on demand (Free), Free Wi-Fi in the shared area also, hair dryer on demand, laundry service on demand (15.00 Euro) and pets welcome (06.00 Euro x nigth). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Al-Marnich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al-Marnich Schignano, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Marnich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.