We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Al-Marnich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agriturismo Al-Marnich to your Saves list
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Marnico, 8 | Schignano (Como), 22020 Schignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Schignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a charming rustic farmhouse, a short drive from Lake Como (if you go the opposite way to our sat-nav, which took us all around the mountain villages, rather than along the shores of the lake then up, but nevermind). The owners were lovely. One spoke English really well, the other a man didn't, but we still managed to communicate in our own fun way. There are goats, dogs, chickens, donkeys here and wonderful orchards growing their own food, much of it makes its way into their food. The view over the mountains is divine. The food, homecooked and rustic, is one of the highlights of my holiday. The room is basic, but comfortable. Do not expect the standards of a chain hotel in terms of a sparkling surroundings, (but saying that it is very clean, just not uniformly sterile). I would thoroughly recommend this charming place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is first time we stay in a place which is far from the main attractions.
I think that for us it whould have been better to stay near to the lake, since most of our days we spent at the lake. Also, since it is far on the mountain, nothing really to do at the afternoon or eavning.
We had a nice walk on the mountain, but this is the only trail.
The view is really wonderful.
The food is good and most ingrediants are raised locally in the farm.
The rooms we got where very very small.
The owners where very kind and welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband has been asking me to try agriturismo and I am very happy that I actually said yes, this time round. It was a unique and wonderful experience. We have been to Lake Como before so I agreed to try something really different. Al-Marnich is a hidden gem. We paid 65euros for the room (which is cheap for Europe). Then we had dinner and bought stuff from the farm (total of 81euros). The check-in was a fast one. To our surprise, the room is colorful, spacious and clean with a small balcony to enjoy a drink or few overlooking the mountain. 2 hours after we arrived, we went to the restaurant and had the most amazing dinner during this holiday. Everything was homemade and fresh from their own farm and garden. Authentic dishes and food specialties of the region are really unique yet delicious. We don't usually eat goat cheese that much, but the one that they have served (and made) actually don't have smell and unbelievably good. Unfortunately, I was too full, I couldn't take a dessert anymore. The breakfast was very good too. I can only write a positive thing about Al-Marnich. The owner is friendly but not to the extent that you will get annoyed. He gives you space and let you be. We bought 5 salamis and goat cheese to bring back home. I wouldn't think twice to come back to this place again. I will forever remember the feeling I had for this place. The only regret was we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the nature, the good food and the beautiful area. The pictures aren't enough to give justice on how beautiful the place is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable and authentic rooms, fabulous view, friendly owners. the place is quite and beautiful. We were 3 families with kids get 3 different appartments in same building. It was a great stay and it is warmly recommeneded for the peaple that looking to taste a real Italy farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We drove 8km up the mountain from Lake Como in the evening in the pouring rain which makes for an adventurous drive. With no reservations & dripping wet, the owners were so accommodating. They had 1 room available which they showed me...I loved the small, cozy, rustic cottage feel. While registering, they sat us down with some excellent red vino di casa and shortly thereafter, an incredible home cooked dinner was served with warm fresh bread...perfect timing! I enjoyed the ambiance and the authentic Italian feel. Breakfast was also wonderful. Fun to see all the animals and the mountain views were stunning. We extended our stay as it was so quiet and relaxing. A wonderful get away in a beautiful area high a top the mountains with amazing hiking. Great unique place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent , unique place to stay, rooms are very cosy and well decorated nice and colourful. Very animal friendly defiantly recommend a walk around the farm friendly dogs, cats donkeys goats and chickens.
There is a different menu for each night all homemade, organic made and served with love, real Italian passion!
Breakfast is amazing, homemade still warm loafs of bread, homemade cheese, salami, jams, yoghurt it was divine.
We had a balcony over looking the hills and a beautiful view of the stars :)
Recommend a minimum of a two night stay to Take all there is to see in.
The staff are great we are even friends with the owner now keeping in touch over the internet.
Great experience and will defiantly will be returning soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just fabulous! Fabulous authentic Lombardic food, incredible hospitality, comfortable rooms (better that the photos suggest), great value, amazing atmosphere, killer location just 15 minutes drive from the lake. Fabulous...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Al-Marnich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Al-Marnich

Address: Localita Marnico, 8 | Schignano (Como), 22020 Schignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Schignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agriturismo Al-Marnich 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Marnich Guest House was born 18 years ago, in a very ancient original farm (1798 D.C.), That Mr Emanuele Bonfiglio (The Owner) has recovered and transformed in a nice and rural accommodation, in a strategical position, because really very near Como Lake (8 Km only). Al-Marnich is an accommodation (Farm Holidays Como Lake - Italy) near Como City (Schignano's Village - 21 Km from Como City). This is where you will taste authentic dishes and food specialty (Biorganic Food & Home Made Pasta - Vegan & Vegetarian Food Specialty). Availables B&B and Half Board accommodation includes double and family rooms, with some, boasting an original fireplace and/or a panoramic terrace or balcony. The property is surrounded by lush greenery, with a relaxing hiking trail and a small gym. To about 1 hour from Milan (Rho Fiera Expo), to 45 minutes from Lugano (Switzerland), to 25 minutes from Villa Balbianello (Lenno - Como Lake Beach) and to 15 minutes from the romantic lake Como (Argegno - Ferry's Station). More Info...: Free Parking, ADSL Service in the rooms on demand (Free), Free Wi-Fi in the shared area also, hair dryer on demand, laundry service on demand (15.00 Euro) and pets welcome (06.00 Euro x nigth). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Al-Marnich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Al-Marnich Schignano, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Al-Marnich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.