We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Farm Living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Marnich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Al-Marnich to your Saves list
Al-Marnich
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Marnico, 8 | Como Lake, 22020 Schignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Schignano B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian Farm Living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We drove 8km up the mountain from Lake Como in the evening in the pouring rain which makes for an adventurous drive. With no reservations & dripping wet, the owners were so accommodating. They had 1 room available which they showed me...I loved the small, cozy, rustic cottage feel. While registering, they sat us down with some excellent red vino di casa and shortly thereafter, an incredible home cooked dinner was served with warm fresh bread...perfect timing! I enjoyed the ambiance and the authentic Italian feel. Breakfast was also wonderful. Fun to see all the animals and the mountain views were stunning. We extended our stay as it was so quiet and relaxing. A wonderful get away in a beautiful area high a top the mountains with amazing hiking. Great unique place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    50
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent , unique place to stay, rooms are very cosy and well decorated nice and colourful. Very animal friendly defiantly recommend a walk around the farm friendly dogs, cats donkeys goats and chickens.
There is a different menu for each night all homemade, organic made and served with love, real Italian passion!
Breakfast is amazing, homemade still warm loafs of bread, homemade cheese, salami, jams, yoghurt it was divine.
We had a balcony over looking the hills and a beautiful view of the stars :)
Recommend a minimum of a two night stay to Take all there is to see in.
The staff are great we are even friends with the owner now keeping in touch over the internet.
Great experience and will defiantly will be returning soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just fabulous! Fabulous authentic Lombardic food, incredible hospitality, comfortable rooms (better that the photos suggest), great value, amazing atmosphere, killer location just 15 minutes drive from the lake. Fabulous...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I travelled extensively whilst living in Europe but there is one place that still leaves us pining for more – Al Marnich! We stayed there over Christmas one year and it wasn’t just the fireplace that warmed our hearts. This place is truly magical! Perched high above sea level you are guaranteed of white Christmas. On one side lies Italy and on the other is Switzerland. The Italians call this holiday farm resort an ‘agriturismo’ and it’s uniquely situated as an Alpine Paradise. The dining room was a representation of a bygone era expertly balanced with stone and antique handcrafted furniture. We thought we had been transported back to the Middle Ages.

We were served a dazzling specialty at dinner time as an appetizer. It was a platter of different cheeses, freshly sliced pear with walnuts and a crucible of local honey. How rustic is that? White wine helped us set the tone for the rest of the evening and dinner was a baked delight superbly offered with home grown vegetables and fresh salad. The rooms must be seen to be believed and it was all worth writing home about! Can't wait to visit again. Salvino

Room Tip: The rooms with an open fire are a must for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This review is after our second visit to Al Marnich. The first was a few years ago and happened to be our first time at an agriturismo. The drive up the mountain winding around roads with great views of Lake Como is an experience in and of it's self. Just put in the coordinates from their website into your GPS and get driving.......towards the end it seems like you are going to end up in the middle of nowhere....but keep going and you will end up in paradise. We always arrive later in the evening as we are driving from Germany. This most recent time, upon our arrival the owner and his wife, welcomed us and our dogs. We sat in the common room and they provided us with light snacks and wine. A wonderful gesture after the long drive. This visit was right before Christmas so there was snow on the ground which added to the ambience. We had requested a room with a fireplace which was perfect for this time of year. The rooms are rustic and simple yet comfortable. You can't come to a place like this an expect the Hilton. The views from the windows are beautiful with houses dotting the mountain landscape. Breakfast is typical Italian with meats, cheeses, breads and jams. However, in this case, it is all homemade/local products. The dinners are phenomenal. It is truly a family affair with the wife of the owner and their son cooking and waiting on guests. The menu actually offers several choices. There is a fireplace in the dining room as well to add to the coziness factor. The food is delicioso...as is the vino. If you want a true Italiano Agriturismo experience around Lago di Como.....pick this place and you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: If winter time...request fireplace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This little farm house tucked way in the mountain side is an absolute gem. It may be a little hard to find, but, once you get there, wow is it worth the effort. It's simple basic pleasures, no tv and no phones, a beatiful getaway from it all in stunning surroundings.They make their own salami and bread which is also a delight. The hosts are very welcoming, and their home made food in the restaurant is also stunning. My only regret is, we only had 3 nights here. Having breakfast and hot Italian coffee on the veranda each morning with a view to die for, is a memory I shall keep with me for ever.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just had 6 nights in this place and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was very rustic and basic but perfectly adequate. We were plenty warm enough despite outside temperatures being around freezing. The bed was comfy and warm and the shower wonderful.
Breakfast was fine, lots of choice, all homemade and kept us going most of the day.
We had dinner the first night, perfectly ok if a little uninspired.
The view was amazing especially as we had six inches of snow the day after we arrived. A walk up the mountain is essential to appreciate the sheer peace and quiet of the place in contrast to other mountain areas around lake Como.
We found our way easily the first day, it is well signposted from the main road although the distance indicators are variable. We often arrived from days out visiting relatives late at night and nobody seemed to mind and we saw lots of wildlife on the drive up the mountain to boot.
Would definitely recommend. We had a wonderful week. Owners and staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 10, could only have been improved with a fireplace. wonderful balcony instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al-Marnich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Marnich

Address: Localita Marnico, 8 | Como Lake, 22020 Schignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Schignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Al-Marnich 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Marnich Guest House was born 18 years ago, in a very ancient original farm (1798 D.C.), That Mr Emanuele Bonfiglio (The Owner) has recovered and transformed in a nice and rural accommodation, in a strategical position, because really very near Como Lake (8 Km only). Al-Marnich is an accommodation (Farm Holidays Como Lake - Italy) near Como City (Schignano's Village - 21 Km from Como City). This is where you will taste authentic dishes and food specialty (Biorganic Food & Home Made Pasta - Vegan & Vegetarian Food Specialty). Availables B&B and Half Board accommodation includes double and family rooms, with some, boasting an original fireplace and/or a panoramic terrace or balcony. The property is surrounded by lush greenery, with a relaxing hiking trail and a small gym. To about 1 hour from Milan (Rho Fiera Expo), to 45 minutes from Lugano (Switzerland), to 25 minutes from Villa Balbianello (Lenno - Como Lake Beach) and to 15 minutes from the romantic lake Como (Argegno - Ferry's Station). More Info...: Free Parking, ADSL Service in the rooms on demand (Free), Free Wi-Fi in the shared area also, hair dryer on demand, laundry service on demand (15.00 Euro) and pets welcome (06.00 Euro x nigth). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al-Marnich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al-Marnich Schignano, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Marnich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.