We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Business and Leisure Travelers Alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Kronberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Schlosshotel Kronberg to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Kronberg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hainstrasse 25 | 61476 Kronberg, 61476 Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Business and Leisure Travelers Alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel was impeccable attention to detail. I stayed here on business for four nights in early spring. Since this was my first European trip, I wanted to explore Germany's historical offerings while remaining close to Frankfurt. As far as price goes, it was the same price as a Holiday Inn Express in Frankfurt. The choice was easy. Kronberg and the Schlosshotel was that perfect experience. Even though the walk to the train station was a bit long, I do not regret my choice of accomodations whatsoever. The room amenities are very modern and well maintained. The linens very luxurious. Besides the building architecture, surrounding grounds (the walking trail and rose garden are amazing), and historical furnishings, the most impressive part was the service. I was so appreciative how, on one rainy morning, I asked the front desk for a taxi to take me to the train station. The woman said that all taxis were currently spoken for, so she offered to have the bellman drive me in the hotel's Jaguar XJ instead! Judging by the cars in the parking lot in the evening, it was clear that this hotel and associated restaurant cater to the upper class. However, I never had a glimpse anything but excellent hospitality.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for these wonderful comments. So many compliments about our hotel, the service and our staff are more than we could wish for. We always try to fulfill all our guest wishes and to make every guest happy and in your case, we had obviously achieved our goal.
It is a pleasure for me to share your feedback with my staff members.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    31
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
29
141
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My friend & myself arrived at 8am at this hotel & managed to check in early during the off peak season.We were picked up in a jaguar limousine from the train station. The service at this hotel was great. The staff showed concern for my friend after she sprained her ankle.
The manager also allowed us to partake of the morning buffet breakfast on 2 mornings (we arrived early)when we only paid for breakfast for 1night. The schloss hotel is located amidst greenery & a golf course & is great for people looking to relax at the hotel. The interior of our room is beautifully feminine with wallpapers in bright red colour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had arranged for a small wedding at the hotel and were extremely disappointed. We received the poorest service ever. No attention was given to this event, the other luncheon taking place simultaneously seemed to have been more important. Service staff continuously disappeared and seemed to be completely overwhelmed with the request for more bread and butter. When we asked for more coffee for the wedding party - out of despair at the reception - we were brought one single coffee. The serving of the food was uncoordinated - food arrived, the sauce for the food was brought 10 min later - and the food was then cold. This uncoordinated serving of food continued throughout the meal - there was always something missing and took until the food had turned cold. And after the cake was served, no more coffee came and all staff disappeared - signalling 'party is over'.
Instead of being waited on, we had to continuously make our way into the hall, trying to find service staff - but none was ever available.
Overall, guests were not treated with the attention expected of a luxury hotel.
This was such a tremendous disappointment for the guests and the hosts, the happy couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked a "Deluxe" room at this hotel 8 months in advanced. When we got to the hotel, we got a room that looked more like a prison cell than the one shown in the hotel photo or the description of the room. We advised the front desk clerk that the room assigned was not a "deluxe" room with "Sweeping panoramic views of the gardens and golf course". The room was actually a downgrade (Premium). We waited for over 2 hours at the hotel lobby waiting to talk to the reservations person. After seeing three more rooms, they were all poorly maintained and dingy. The hotel photos were probably taken in its glory days, there is no luxury. This hotel should never be even close to be called luxury hotel. We advised the front desk that same afternoon that we were going to check out the next day and move to another hotel as we were not getting the room we paid for. The hotel Front Desk Manager said that we had to pay for the 3 nights, despite they not giving us the room we paid for. After much dealing with the hotel and their less than honest ways to sell you a room that is not, we decided to check out the same day. The hotel agreed to finally charge for only 1 night (Despite their cancellation policy to be 90% of first night for no-shows). We agreed to pay that first night in full just to get out of that dumpster. After getting the invoice and paying EU245, I was charged three days later on my credit card the remaining nights! EUR440!... I called my credit card company and now have to go through the hassle to dispute the charge. Save yourselves a headache and a huge disappointment and go somewhere else like. You will be sorry if you come to this place. By the way, there is no gym or spa onsite, you must take a 10 minute ride off the property if you want these services. And there is no air conditioning in the rooms... mattresses are a thin foam... it is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
It goes without saying that we are really sorry to hear how upsetting your stay at our hotel was and first of all we would like to express our deepest apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

Although trying very hard it was to our disappointment as well that we failed to exceed your expectations towards the room as well as the service. Due to being a traditional castle hotel rather than a modern boutique hotel all rooms do differ from each other even though being within the same category. Unfortunately we did not have the room available you particularly saw in the pictures of the website.

Rest assured we were aiming to fulfill your needs as for example providing the very early check in on your arrival day but must admit that after all obviously without success.

It would be to our biggest appreciation if you could return to the Schlosshotel one day to give us an opportunity to convince you of the service that we can provide and to reinstall your faith into the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us at any time to give us the chance to discuss this with you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business meeting. Old castle-type hotel built by or for Queen Victoria though what got her here beats me! My room overlooked a golf course amidst pine trees with views to Frankfurt in the distance. Very large and comfy room. Best of all, the staff were excellent - almost too polite! Ordered room service and it came on time and was very good though a trifle expensive. Free minibar in the room was stocked with two beers and assorted mineral water and soft drinks and replenished daily. This was a nice touch. Location was unbeatable as a meeting place and was only 30 minutes from the airport. Bit out of the way to return to but if I could I definitely would.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floors overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Google Translation
Mit Ihren netten Zeilen über Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel haben Sie mir und meinen Mitarbeitern eine große Freude gemacht. Es ist schön zu wissen, dass Sie zufriedenen waren und sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben.
Auch für die freundlichen Aussagen zu unserer Servicequalität, unserem Ambiente und unseren Mitarbeitern danke ich Ihnen herzlich.
Mein Team und ich würden uns freuen, Sie hier bald wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel fantastic!
A castle that keeps all remodeled medieval style! Very nice place!
The service was exceptionally and helpful staff.
Recommended !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für die Kommentierung Ihres Aufenthalts im Schlosshotel Kronberg.
Komplimente dieser Art machen uns sehr glücklich und stolz.

Wir hoffen sehr, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stay anavergare 40 to 60 nights a year at diffrent Hotels and this was an experience to say the least. Most details and service were in top class and alot of the major Hotel chains should learn from Schloss. Make sure you stay in the main building as the rooms are better. We ate the first night in the hotel restuarant, price by worth it. It had great food and the wine list was top class.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
It was a great pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay at the Schlosshotel Kronberg. Thank you for sharing your positive impressions.
I really hope that your travel plans will bring you soon again to Kronberg and the Schlosshotel Kronberg we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Kronberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Kronberg

Address: Hainstrasse 25 | 61476 Kronberg, 61476 Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Kronberg im Taunus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kronberg im Taunus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Kronberg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Schlosshotel Kronberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Im Taunus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Kronberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.