We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel closing for face lift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sakura

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sakura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enrico de Nicola, 26, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy (Formerly Mercure Napoli Torre del Greco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Torre Del Greco
American Expat
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hotel closing for face lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were told we were the last guests, as the hotel was shutting its doors the day we checked out Sept. 2. I hope Mercure will revamp and reopen the property because it has a lot going for it with very large rooms, the lovely pool, and close location to Vesuvius and Pompeii. I can't fault the hotel terribly much for the price we paid, but let me tell you it was a pure comedy to watch the bathroom fall apart! In all we slept well and enjoyed the good wifi. I hope when they reopen the place will have the complete makeover that it clearly needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    31
    15
    2
See reviews for
20
33
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is one of those old fashioned, poorly taken care of hotels in Italy. The rooms seem not to have been changed in over twenty years, old -not vintage, old- furniture and installations. We had to open the air conditioning box to get it working, the extra bed for the kid was old and shoddy. The service was not too good, it took some time for them to fix the room for us and forgot the extra bed so we had to ask for it again. The swimming pool is very good but it is open to the public and closes at 6 PM for them but also for the hotel guests, we think it should be open for the guests later, after a hot day visiting the ruins of Pompeii or Herculano in a hot august day it is quite a relax to have some time spent in the pool. On the other side, the situation, in Torre del Greco, half way up to the Vesubio is nice if you get there by car, in a quiet environment with nice sights, parking facilities are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is quite nice but the staff don't speak much English. The dining room was only open for breakfast and dinner.nthe breakfast for 8 euros was not worth the price.

The hotel is not easy to get to unless you have a car. The town does not have taxis and I never did figure out which bus stops close to the hotel. You can get one on the main street close to the Circumvesuviana train station which will take you to within half a kilometer of the hotel. However, it is all uphill. Not okay for older people and it is a bit of a workout if you have luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here just the one night as we were visiting Pompei, the location is great, the rooms tired and in desperate need of refurbishment, the staff are helpful, the restaurant overpriced with very average food, if you are planning a quick visit to the area and don't eat in the hotel it's fine providing you get a deal on the room rate!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a very good hotel, clean, good location for my purpose, very friendly staff, the only negative comment was the qulity of breakfast which was not good and I could not see even one waiter while I was having my breakfast. Dinner was excellent. Also very good price

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakura

Address: Via Enrico de Nicola, 26, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy (Formerly Mercure Napoli Torre del Greco)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sakura 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.