We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we booked an extra night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holidays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Holidays to your Saves list
Hotel Holidays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Litoranea 154 | S. Maria La Bruna, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“So good we booked an extra night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Getting into the area is especially fraught if driving, as we were.  The Italian style of driving appears chaotic, disorganized, unruly, etc.  Expect lots of beeping as mopeds make people aware of them in an endless cacophany! Then there is the area itself which is residential in the most part and looks uncared for.  During the week it is quiet but at the weekend it has lots of visiting family groups.  It is not touristic at all. This appeals to me but it probably is not for everyone.  If you are expecting 4 * you won't be booking here in Torre del Grecco.

Driving into the area in our comvertible car and we feel conspicuousus amd the top is down and we are video recording.  I actually put the windows up just in case somebody tried to snatch my camera out of my hands.  I have to say; however, that we have spent time in San Remo, Florence, Rome and Naples and have only encountered one possible pickpocket attempt.  It was just a feeling I had whilst standing in the market place in Florence, of someone being much too close and of touching my bag.  Being brought up in London serves me well. I trust my intuition.

The hotel was relatively easy to find once on the coastal road.  It looks one of the nicest so you cannot miss it.  It is virtually oposite "Lido la Sirentta"

The car seems relatively safe behind the gates and from our large balcony, we can see the car, the sea and the mountains, as well as lots of low rised residential dwellings, some of which are covered in some graffiti.  The rubbish on the streets built up over the weekend as well which I found unattractive.

It is mid September and the weather is lovely.

The balcony is large and has 2 plastic garden chairs but a table would be nice.  It's a pity and there isn't any table in the room you can drag out either.

We are early by approx 1 hr but check in was easy and our early arrival not questioned.

The reception staff are wonderful!  They are warm, friendly, helpful.  Nothing is too much trouble for them.

The room:

It has a portable old style tv. A fridge with mini bar.  Soft drinks are 2e.50 and water is 1e50 so cheaper to buy it in a local shop.  It is well stocked though with drinks.

Our room is a little dated but perfectly clean and functional.  We are on a budget so get the cheaper rooms. There are recently renovated ones.The bed is comfortable.  There is road noise with the balcony door open but not too bad when closed.  I sleep well every night.

Air con works fine and is quiet.

The lampshade on my side of the bed is crushed but it works.  There is a telephone too.

We have been in the room 30 mins and a guy comes to fix the window shutter.  I had not realised it was broken.  It worked as far as we were concerned but oh well.  We stay whilst he fixes it.

I have time to notice the pale lemon walls are scuffed with dirty marks.  Some paint is peeling so there is bare plaster by the balcony door.  It is ok though.  For the price we paid of 55e I am not expecting too much and I feel we have chosen really well.

There are plenty of plug points in the room. 

The bathroom has a toilet, bidet, shower, hand basin with scuffed old tap.  It is perfectly clean and adequate.  Large people may find the shower tight.  The towels resemble thick waffle sheets but I prefer these I am surprised to say.  There is a hairdryer and it works and some complimentary soap and one shower cap between us.  It doesn't bother us as we don't use them anyway. 

Wifi is not available in the rooms, only in reception and communal areas but it works very well, even on the stairs.  Most of the time we have found that often even when a hotel says there is wifi in rooms, it rarely works anyway.  No false claims here.

We have come from Rome which is madly busy and this place is just so peaceful that I forgive it's lack of splendour, fashionability - it lacks all that but it is so quiet that I welcome all that I would normally expect from a resort - which this is most definitely not.  If you are from London, expect a more faded Jaywick or Clacton.   It has definitely seen better days, but I still like it.  It's like visiting an old Auntie somehow. :)

Eating out:

Locally there are a few restaurants, most of which keep Italian hours.  One that seems to be open all day and is very good is "Il Sorrentino" on Via della gatta. If you come out out of the hotel, turn right and keep walking until you see a yellow coloured sign for the restaurant.  It is down a side street and there is also a small supermarket and fruiters shop opposite it. Pizza is great, spaghetti al la vongole is delicious, caponata tasty. So good we returned and it is probably the best restaurant local to the hotel.

Returning back to our room and from about 4-6pm we simply relax on the balcony in the warm sunshine.  It is really nice.  Yes, we can hear traffic but after the traffic of Rome, this is tame in comparison.

Breakfast:  it is served from 7.30 to 9.30am.

It consists of fresh bread, butter, a variety of jams and Nutella spread, fresh fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, cereal, juices, fresh croissants (cornetto), tea, coffee, milk.

I didn't dine in house so I can't comment.

The cleaners clean your room daily and do a fabulous job.  The room is faultlessly clean.

Reception is manned 24/7 and you can get a tea or coffee at the bar any time and it is good value at approx 1 euro for either.

I really liked the hotel so we stayed an extra night.  We felt welcomed and were very comfortable here.  I shouldn't like the area as it is a bit run down, but I do.

If you find yourself in Torre del Grecco and you want a good budget hotel, I can say without hesitation that this is it and it is a quiet respite from town or city life.

I really commend the staff here. They are doing a brilliant job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed just for a weekend in March 2013 as friends; mainly visiting Pompeii and a bit of Naples. We found the room to be clean & comfy; there were *great* views, the food was lovely & the staff were very helpful. I do recommend this hotel, mostly for those with cars for convenience but were relying onpublic transport and we managed ok. You can message me if you have questions re public transport to/from the hotel & local area.

Check in is simple & brief, there is a lift & the hotel is quite large but still quiet & tranquil. At the end of each corridor, there is a balcony you can go out on to & the views across the bay of Naples are stunning! Our 3 person room was at the side of hotel facing across the bay towards the city of Naples. The seafront, although quite rundown & local is very nice for a stroll at anytime of day. Just next to the hotel is a small funfair that seems to be a permanent feature & we certainly would've gone there if we had time.

The room we had was a good size for the 3 of us,with a small mini-bar, air con & big doors out on to a big balcony with chairs. The patio doors have a big metal shutter that can be bought down-we presumed as a defense against bad weather, but I assume for blackout as well, as the curtains are thin & white. The bathroom was a reasonable size & very clean. All the staff w emet were friendly & helpful: most worthy of note is the breakfast waitress. She saw us at the train station on the way back from Pompeii, recognised us & gave us a lift back to the hotel in her car, chatting merrily all the way!

The food at breakfast is very good, continental style. There is a wide variety of juices & hot drinks, croissants and rolls, meats & spreads etc. The views from the dining room are spectacular & just lovely at that time of the morning - or evening! In the evening the staff are 1 chef & 1 waiter who work very hard & the restaurant doesn't come alive really until half 8ish. The food is really very nice; we had steak & chips one night which was gorgeous, gnocchi which was yummy and some great local seafood/fish. They aren't so forthcoming with a menu though so be sure to ask for one especially & the waiter doesn't speak English very well at all.

Transport wise; we took a taxi from Naples to the hotel which cost 60E. It was good just to get our bearings, but not a great option money wise. We went to Pompeii ruins on the Sunday. Outside the hotel on the opposite side of the road is a small bus shelter which is were the "shuttle bus" stops. Acording to Reception the bus will take you anywhere you want in Torre del Greco; it cost 1E per person, per journey, try to make sure you have the right money. There is no timetable posted & the general idea is that you just hang around until it comes! The shuttle is a plain white mini bus, but if you stand overtly, he will stop for you. We took the shuttle to Leopardi Train Station (the bus drops you off, you'll see a church ahead of you, go down the road on the right of the church & you'll come to Leopardi ahead of you).
Leopardi is on the mainline between Naples & Sorrento and Pompeii only took us 10 mins from Leopardi Station. The station itself is small, covered in graffiti, very quiet but clean. The ticket office is never open & the barriers are open all the time, so we didn't have a chance to buy a ticket, but did so on the way back: it only cost 2E if that. It only takes just over half an hour on the train to get in to Naples.

So yes, don't go expecting swift or clean-cut travel connections and you won't be disappointed. We had no problems getting to Pompeii & Naples at all. We found everything easy at this hotel; clean & comfy and they have a great tourist info pack at Reception, even if the translation on the info is a bit sketchy! If you're happy to take things at an easy pace then this hotel will be good for you. With the sea on one side & the mountains on the other, this a scenic location but just like Naples itself there is a lot of delapidation and litter around, which can be shocking at first.

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view of the sea; views are great! Wifi connection in the Reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is good for those who want to live among the locals and not the tourist with beautiful ocean views. At night we would go to the carnival next door. Yes you might have a problem with English, but you are in ITALY!!! So enjoy. We got the best Pamini from a truck parked along the fair markets (huge for 4E). We put the kids on some of the rides and enjoyed the locals on summer strolls.

Angela who works so hard serving the breakfast is about as sweet as her name. She will bring you a cappachino if you ask, coming from Seattle we are abit fussy about our coffee.

As far as the room goes, it was very cramped but we did not spend much time in our room. Parking was safe and gated. We ate at some of the beach front cafes but you need to remember that you have to eat italian time as they shut down everything during the hot time of day.

As far as complaints go regarding beaches is that you can always find the public beach as it is the one where the embrellas don't match. Every beach has one.

I suggest you drive to sorrento as it is very close and by freeway. Or take freeway to Messina. Beaches in Naples seemed dirty. Best beach is in Minori and parking is only 3E per hour. Great Free Beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

You would think that mid-June would be considered generally as a potential tourist season - but not in Torre Del Greco. The only thing open was a bar on the sea front, and upon asking if there was a restaurant open nearby we were told "no". The Hotel restaurant was open, if you wanted to sit on a gigantic round table for 10 people without a cloth on it and have your order taken by the chef who seemed to have personal hygiene issues.
The hotel is on the seafront, but you have to pay to get on the beach and the road is busy - could not have the window open at night. No terrace, no outside seating. It was good value - we paid 50 euro's per night B & B - and ideal for Vesuvius and Pompeii.
I would advise simply staying somewhere else - Castellmare looked ok, or in Pompeii town where tourists are well catered for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Pros:
24 hr Attendant
Across from the ocean
Large clean room
Elevator
Girl at breakfast was so nice and a hard worker
Close to Pompeii
Private gated parking

Cons:
No wifi in the rooms
Older furnishing
Bathroom floor was wet when we checked in.
We must have been there during some high school holiday, there were lots of noisy teens going from room to room all night long.
Kind of a remote, run down neighborhood

This is a budget style accomodation. If you're ok with that and just need a place to sleep, it'll be fine. If you want something nice and more Americanized, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived early evening after a long drive from Rome, were a little exhausted and possibly a little short tempered but the reception and staff were extremely nice and very helpful. English was a little scarce upon arrival but it seems most other staff spoke enough English to get a conversation going.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach, we had lovely views of both Vesuvius and the sea / beach which was really lovely. Common parts are clean and nice.

The room was spacious, relatively clean (bathroom could have been cleaner) and the air conditioning was really great! TV was a little outdated, and a little bulky for the size of the room - flat screen TVs anytime soon? Other than that a very lovely room.

The breakfast was very simple - lacking freshly pressed orange juice, and cold milk for breakfast. A buffet with many selections, from cereals, yogurts, bread, fresh fruit, cold meats... Really lovely. With tables overlooking the bay - what more could you want! The teas and coffees however are self service from a large heated container which isn't as nice as one which is made specifically for you, or with a nice coffee machine!

The surrounding area is very poor, and filled with locals who do not speak English (or French or Spanish for that matter). Although on the drive to the hotel you see many restaurants or caffees, they seem to be empty at night, and not manned, some lovely bars on the beach where a nice drink can be enjoyed watching the sunset over the bay. For dinner however - the best bets are Pompeii town center or a little further for Sorrento which are a little less poor filled with lovely restaurants and great local wines.

Very close to Herculaneum, Pompeii, Sorrento, and Vesusius - all of which are worth seeing. (especially Vesuvius - although the people working there were despicably impolite and rude, speaking barely any English and very very short tempered - be sure to have the exact change for the parking and entry tickets, €2.50 for parking and €8 to get into the national park - have it to hand or else be dismissed to the back of the queue / be shouted at by people working there. No press concession, and for EU students with student cards €5)

The restaurant part of the hotel is... absolutely astonishingly good. Manned only by one man, who does both cooking and waiter-ing. Although the service may be considered a little slow it was absolutely fantastic. The fish was very fresh, the meats were excellent, the salads (although a little salty) were extremely good and the deserts (although not many on the menu) were very good. The pasta dished were second to none and all that done by a single man. Absolutely astonishing. The pricing is extremely fair - with dishes nearing €8 on average - really excellent. So good we actually ate there twice in a row out of three nights.

The down side to the hotel is that there is not direct access to the beach, the nearest is directly opposite the hotel but it seems to be a private beach which can only be accessed by a caffee / bar - they seem to want you to pay for the use of the beach. Something not quite right there. The rooms can be a little noisy. The hotel can also be a little difficult to access without a car. The hotel's internet access is extremely hard to setup - and does require a laptop rather than just a phone.

If you decide to drive to this location - BE WARNED - other drivers (guessing locals) are TOTAL IDIOTS (when driving). We had many very near misses due to other drivers claiming right of way or pulling out of places without indicating, or notice. It seems that the use of indicators does not exist in Italy nor does the use of mirrors for that matter. All drivers are impatient and driving like utter lunatics. Avoid Via Nazzionale if you want to live.

So all in all a lovely hotel - if in a little disheveled area, and no free beach access. A little noisy but very good nonetheless. Do have dinner at the hotel' restaurant - absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room at checkin they are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oro valley, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here because the price was reasonable and it was midway between Ercolano and Pompeii. The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful. The room overlooked the beach across the street. The neighborhood is a bit noisy at night. Transportation is required to reach the hotel from the Circumvesuviana station. Use 1 euro on the collectivo bus. Everything stops running at 9 P. On night my wife had to stand at the bus stop by herself until some guy offered her a ride and then I jumped in. Get off of the train at Leopardi station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holidays

Address: Via Litoranea 154 | S. Maria La Bruna, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reception is open night and day because we want that the guests can have our help at any time of the day.Not only the tourists but also the working guests find in our hotel very comfortable rooms with air conditioning system, mini-bar, hair dryer in the bathroom with shower and a free WI-FI place next to the bar open night and day, or the internet point room.The convention with the Beach, a few steps from the hotel, the private parking, guarded and free and, by request, taxi service and guide make the stay in our hotel still more comfortable and delightful.All the credit cards are accepted : Visa - Mastercard - American Express - Bancomat. La Reception è aperta 24 ore su 24 per poter ricevere, assistere ed informare gli ospiti in ogni momento della giornata. WI-FI zone gratuita.38 camere tutte con tv, bagno/doccia e aria climatizzata e di cui alcune hanno il balconcino sul mare.La Spiaggia convenzionata a pochi passi, il Parcheggio gratuito, e su richiesta servizio Taxi e visite guidate permetteranno ai clienti di trovarsi ancor più a proprio agio.Tutte le carte di credito sono accettate : Visa - Mastercard - American Express - Bancomat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.