We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a not so perfect area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marad to your Saves list
Hotel Marad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via B Croce 20, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a not so perfect area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to be out of noisy Naples and to have a base for being close to the area (Napoli, Pompeii, Ercolano, Sorrento etc)
I wouldn't call it a 4* hotel, anyhow it is very friendly and located in a great place. The view is magnificient (you can see bay of Napoli and mount Vesuvio as well); restaurant and the food is gorgeous, personell is courteous and polite (some with poor English though). The rooms and all locations are clean, breakfast was adequate, service was excellent.
If you're not with a car but with train (circumvesuiviana) it's advisable to print out your route from the station to the hotel before arrival - it can be very helpful. Since the hotel is almost on the top of the hill you need to walk a lot uphill, which to be honest it's not so fun when you have lots of baggages.
Torre del Greco itself it's not worth visiting or spending more time than necessary, anyhow it is situated in a good places so every attraction of the area can be easily accessed from here.
Not so many restaurants in the neighborhood (= none), it's advisable you eat at hotel's restaurant or at the place you visited that day (there are many many great pizzeria's and restaurants in Pompeii or Sorrento, and Napoli of course). There's a nice little grocery store close to Marad, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony in order to have a gorgeous view to Vesuvio and/or the bay of Napoli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this nice hotel to be out of Naples and to have a base for seeing the area. Hotel is clean; beautiful view if you have a room above the second floor like we did to see the gulf of Naples and the mountain. The breakfast was nice each morning and service was excellent! The price was good compared to others I looked at. At the bottom of the hill from the motel is a grocery store with fresh fruit , vegetables and etc. we bought some snacks and water there. Across the street from it is a gelato and pastry shop. Had a nice cappuccino there. The area is kind of grungy but most of the area around Naples is, but we walked from the hotel here and I felt at ease. I would return to this hotel because it was very relaxing after the hustle of Rome we had earlier in the week and to enjoy a drink in the garden or on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overall a good hotel in a quiet location. There was four of us sharing a room which could have been a bit bigger but had a good balcony area and very efficient air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with fresh fruit and a choice of mainly cold foods with pastries. The pool area was good with plenty of available sunbeds but the best feature was the lovely roof terrace where you could get a drink in the evening and watch the amazing view and sunsets. It was more difficult to get a drink during the day but when the waiters were working they were very helpful.

The area of Torre del Greco is fairly quiet but not very attractive (dirty and scruffy) and we would probably not return there. There is only really one restaurant within walking distance from the hotel and not much in the way of shops. However it is a good base to climb Versuvius (which is a must!) and to visit Pompeii etc. Overall I would recommend the hotel but not the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here at the Marad for 5 nights in July. Check-in was fine but check-in staff need to learn to smile! 2 rooms were booked - one for my husband, son and I and one for my mother-in-law and her son. Views to both Vesuvius and the sea from the balcony. Both rooms were OK but need updating, Bathrooms also not brilliant - smallish and a bit musty. Bedding was good and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Internet only worked every now and then in the room - better to go to reception area. No restaurants in the area (area was a bit of shock)! but the hotel served a really good evening meal with 4 choices for main course - fish included. Prices were reasonable. There is also a small icecream palour and grocery shop about 200 metres from the hotel. This was great for buying rolls, cheese and meats for a lunchtime snack on the balcony after climbing Vesuvius in the morning! Rooftop bar (Sky Bar) was the highlight for us with views to Vesuvius and Capri. Bar staff were very good and friendly - great nibbles served with the cocktails! The swimming pool is set underneath large pine trees and when the wind blows, loads of pine needles float into the pool. Staff were not too hot on fishing them out and if we wanted a swim we had to remove the needles first. This also made the pool surround a little unpleasant to walk on bearfoot. To conclude, this is a good little hotel if you are visiting Vesuvius, Pompeii and all the other sights.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea and Vesuvius view, but ask for one NOT underneath the rooftop bar - lots of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good size room, bathroom ok, chose the rooms with balcony and views (Vesuvius and sea). Free parking, 10 min walk from the station. Central situation to visit Pompeï, Ercolanum, Vesuvius, Napels. Continental breakfast

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with views (vesuvius & sea) and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in for night and it looks like basic hotel nothing premier. Was recommended by a friend but not the way it was praised. Internet in my room is not good and I am in old building which is operated by hotel but on other side.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from an eleven night stay at the Hotel Marad. The hotel is well located for visiting Mount Vesuvius, Sorrento, Naples and the Isle of Capri, all of which are easily reached by car or via the local railway station in Torre Del Geco which is just a short distance down the hill (a little harder walking back up). It is worth paying for a sea view as the view is fantastic and the balcony a lovely setting for a romantc evening. The evening meals were very good and further enhanced by the professional and attentive service of the waiters; the Sky Terrace is ideal for a great cocktail and a romantic dance; the pool a lovely hideaway. Ammenities in the immediate vicinity outside the hotel are a little sparse, there is a grocery and utility shop, small bar / pastry shop, tobbaconist and a restaurant just up the hill. Torre Del Greco, although a little untidy in areas is worth a visit during the day / early evening; it has a varied range of shops, a Marina with a fish restaurant and friendly little corner bar. All the Hotel Staff at the Marad were fantastic; contributing to make this a lovely romantic and quiet break. Steve and Jan, Plymouth UK

Room Tip: Recommend sea view from 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEPHEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Rosenthal
Palazzo Rosenthal
#1 of 1 in Trecase
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Relais Villa Signorini
Relais Villa Signorini
#4 of 6 in Ercolano
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marad

Address: Via B Croce 20, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Marad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marad Hotel Torre Del Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing