We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise in an out of the way situation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tana Del Ghiro

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
La Tana Del Ghiro
via provinciale Monteleone 3500, 47020 Roncofreddo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A little paradise in an out of the way situation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just to clear up some confusion about the location. La Tana is in Monteleone di Roncofreddo not in the centre of Roncofreddo as Google maps have it. Your satnav will find it.
We were in the area of San Marino earlier this summer and it was blisteringly hot. So we were looking for somewhere quiet and shady with a pool for an overnight stay. After much surfing i hit upon La Tana.
It consists of a main house and a block of ( I think ) 7 bedrooms in a row, looking across a wide lawn to a good sized swimming pool. The rooms are much lovelier than my description implies. Large and well appointed with plenty of space and excellent bathrooms, and a nice sitting space outside, separated from the next room by a canvas curtain.
The views, from the back, are outstanding. All the way to the Adriatic coast.
When we were there, fairly early in the season there was only one other room occupied and they were out all day so we had the garden to ourselves.
The owners were able to recommend a nearby, very rustic and typical of the area, restaurant for dinner and we found it good value and enjoyable. Lovely pasta.
In the morning an excellent breakfast was served in the main house, most of it with home made baked goods and jams. I cannot think how one reviewer can describe it as "sufficient". It was much more than that. I will resist my usual temptation to go off on a riff about how bad Italian hotel breakfasts usually are. La Tana, of course, is not a hotel. It is the home of a lovely couple who share it with you.

Room Tip: There may also be rooms in the main house, but we were very pleased with the one we had in the moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bologna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Brand new country house in a small village near Longiano (Rimini). Family run business by a very nice retired couple. Good breakfast with homemade bread, cakes and cookies. Perfect for relaxing in Romagna countryside. Rooms: confortable bed (hard mattress)., very clean, air conditioning. Not easy to spot the hotel sign form the road if you arrive at night..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Country house in the hills, the car is a must. Weather is very cool. Rooms good, bed perfect. Some trouble to make the tv working. Breakfast: sufficient. Forget if you have kids with crawler.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRICA B, Owner at La Tana Del Ghiro, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
We are very sorry you did not feel your stay with us was exceptional.
We really value all of our clients' comments and therefore kindly ask you to tell us more extensively what you found in the service that was not good, in order to help us improve it.
We really appreciate your collaboration.
Kind regards,
La Tana del Ghiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Very good guest house. We stayed here for 3 nights in May. En suite rooms were large and done out to a very high standard. Amazing views from the bedrooms. Nice big pool. Guest house in the hills so a car is required. The owners of this B&B could not do enough to make our stay one to remember.
[-]

  • Liked — bedrooms and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Tana Del Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tana Del Ghiro

Also Known As:
La Tana Del Ghiro Italy/Roncofreddo
Address: via provinciale Monteleone 3500, 47020 Roncofreddo, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Forli-Cesena > Roncofreddo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roncofreddo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills over Cesena and Forlì, in the heart of the nature of Romagna, Tana del Ghiro is a very welcoming and cosy bed&breakfast, where each detail adds value and characterizes the location as an elegant country house dedicated to giving the best in hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Tana Del Ghiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tana Del Ghiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Tana Del Ghiro to your Saves list