We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Quattro Gigli

Save Saved
You added Albergo Quattro Gigli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Piazza Michele da Montopoli, 2/A, 56020 Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here more than once and I loved it each time. Especially appreciate the cordial service from Renza and Fulvia and Fulvia's husband and aunt. Breakfast overlooking the romantic hills of Tuscany. Excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
27
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulous location, has an wonderful restaurant, competent and friendly staff and is one of my favourite hotels. It also offers excellent value for money. Whether for work or pleasure, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the landscape, rather than the ones that face into the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonderborg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderfull hotel, with stunning views and a very nice decor. We were received with open arms, and felt immediately at home.

Located 5 minutes drive from the motorway, between Pisa and Florence, with very easy access to both these cities, also takes only about 50 minutes to drive to the stunning medieval town of San Gimignano. Parking is 2-3 min walk from the hotel and is free. We were there in August, which unfortunately meant that most of the Monte Poli was shut down, the temperature was on the other side of 35 degrees, so we were a part of the time 'forced' to relax by the pool or in the room which had air conditioning.

The hosts went to great lengths to help the guest with any questions, addresses to wine merchant, etc. The hotel restaurant was quite excellent, and we ate here quite a few times. If you are here in august please remember to put on some mosquito repellent on before going down, the mosquitoes are VERY aggressive. The owner speaks English so did several of the staff members, we had no language problems.

Montopoli is a very authentic town, all inhabitants still say good morning and good evening to each other even the tourists, the people are friendly and easily send a smile to the city's guests. There is a post office 5 minutes from the hotel and also is a cash machine 5 minutes from the hotel. Natural surroundings are fantastic, and if you go to San Gimignano you will get a fantastic view along the ride.

We have already decided that we will return here at a later date.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have stayed here four times in recent years, and find it ideal for touring Tuscany with day trips from Siena to Pisa and beyond. You can even park and train into Florence, 45 minutes away. The rooms are well kept, and many large, some with king-size beds (rare in EU)
We have often enjoyed delicious dinners in the restaurant, which features a wonderful selection of ancient dishes along with the more popular local cuisine. The location is quiet, in a hilltop town, and features delightful views of the Arno valley below.
Parking can be difficult, but never impossible.

Room Tip: Try the wing uphill from the lobby, with valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in 4 Gigli for just one night, because we were on the way to the south of the Tuscany. We found this hotel through a German magazine and were very happy to have found it.
Not the first view it was a bit ofma dark dungeon, but when we opened the curtains and the hatches, it looked very nice. It's as clean as you can get it in Italy. Mostly it doesn't look like it, but it is clean.
The food was just great, we had a perfectly prepared and tasteful dinner.
One tip though: take loads of mosquito spray with you. These insects are everywhere and the're very aggressive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Albergo in Montopoli Val d'Arno, Tuscany, a nice little hotel, in a small village, near both Pisa and Firenze. The hotel is old but very charming. There is A/C, a nice pool and a fantastic restaurant! The breakfast is served for the guests, while watching the wonderfull view of the landscape. Choose this hotel if you like to relax, experience real Italian atmosphere and enjoy great food. Notice that the restauarant is closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I've planned a romantic dinner in this "nice" restaurant, but in spite of their particular location, the dinner was really disgusting, i've tried several restaurants in the whole Tuscany, and i've to confirm that their kitchen it's not the tipical one of this region.Furthermore also the dishes were broken. Totally to avoid!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Quattro Gigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Quattro Gigli

Address: Piazza Michele da Montopoli, 2/A, 56020 Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Montopoli in Val d'Arno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Quattro Gigli (Four Lilies) owned and run by the Puccioni Family since 1930, is situated in the centre of the ancient town , and precisely in the 14th century palace once housing the Podesteria (residence of the town's Podestà). The inside is convenientely restored and offers an atmosphere of real tuscanity, consisting of hospitality, kindness and privacy.The bedrooms have all comforts: their balconies face green amphitheatres preading up to the sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Albergo Quattro Gigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Quattro Gigli Italy/Montopoli In Val D'Arno, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Quattro Gigli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.