We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfetto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta di Seripa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sassetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenuta di Seripa
Save
You added Tenuta di Seripa to your Saves list
Sassetta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Perfetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

With a business traveller in the family and two young boys we were looking for a relaxing place to stay for a couple of days. We found Tenuta di Seripa on the web and it really was a great surprise.! BEST PLACE EVER... and we extended our stay!
We'll sure be back ... whenever my husband settles for a long weekend.
Miss you Massimo and Jin!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

With a major birthday celebration planned for the family “patriarch” in August, we wanted to find a place where all twenty children, grandchildren and spouses, ages ranging from 2 to 80, could gather for a week in Italy. We wanted someplace that would accommodate all of us, where we could have breakfast and evening meals together without having to fuss with cooking or housekeeping, with a pool that we could really swim in. Each of our sub-families has its own interests to pursue - sightseeing (most of them would be coming from scattered locations around the United States), beach and sun time, historic places and museums to visit, wine tasting, just walking in the countryside – so we wanted all of these to be available for day trips. We searched the internet for many days and hours for a suitable place anywhere in Italy and finally settled on Tenuta Di Seripa in the Tuscany hills (partly based on a very favorable recommendation we found on the Web from another family with similar criteria who had tried it and who had gone back repeatedly.
Our choice absolutely could not have been better: Tenuta di Seripa met and surpassed every one of our requirements and expectations. The setting is spectacular, quiet and away from traffic noises (at the expense of negotiating a rather twisting and dusty access road), but easily accessible to everything we had thought of and more. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, spotlessly clean; we occupied the entire place. Meals were delicious, never the same menu twice, adapted for the vegetarians and the meat-eaters among us. The pool is beautiful and big enough that the energetic could actually swim laps. Day excursions included Etruscan ruins, the island of Elba, a marble quarry in Carrara, a day on the Merrima beach at a semi-private club, a vineyard/winery tour and tastings, and Pisa and Lucca for those who hadn’t been there before. The birthday dinner itself was a gourmet production.
The unadvertised and unexpected biggest “pluses” of all were the hospitality and generosity of the manager-owners, Massimo and Jin. Both of them well traveled and multi-lingual in English, Italian and other varieties from previous professional incarnations, they took care of us like their own family; by the end of the week we felt like they were a part of ours.
The whole idea of getting the entire family together was a mission impossible; we had literally never managed to do it anywhere before. Three months later, practically every letter or phone call between Italy and the States still includes a comment about what a memorable and perfect time it was.

Tonci and Don Strombom
Venice, Italy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

In July, my small group rented Tenuta di Seripa for a week, during which my wife and I had our wedding reception. Our entire stay was perfect. The owners showed great love for their place, and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. The villa is secluded with a gorgeous view. The rooms are wonderful. The kitchen professional-grade (in itself a treat for me, a culinary hobbiest)

In every way, we felt at ease, and in paradise. The local town Sesseta is a short drive away. Suvereto, a well-kept Tuscan secret, is only about 20 minutes away, and worth the drive.

I cannot recommend this villa or its owners more highly, and we are now already looking for an excuse to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

A lovely farmhouse in the middle of the Tuscan hills. Massimo and his wife Jean are very welcoming and hospitable and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want. Jean cooked us 3 wonderful dinners each evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I cannot recommend this place and it's hosts highly enough.

The villa is just beautiful. A truly old world Tuscan villa but with all the modern comforts.

The gardens are beautiful punctuated with the scents of so many beautiful flowers.

The food is to die for. Massimo and his wife Jin produce a banquet for each meal. Fresh produce, nona's recipes and all made with a pinch of Italian flair and passion. Each morning, if you are close enough to the kitchen, you will wake up to the aroma of breakfast being prepared. And it just gets better.

The villa is an excellent base for day trips to Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and so many famous Tuscan sites. But if you prefer, you can just spend your day at the villa by the pool, eating like a king and recharging those batteries.

I will be back!!!


"

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This has got to be the best kept secret in Tuscany. A fantastically restored villa, beautiful grounds, a clean modern pool and best of all, the best food in Italy.

Make sure you take up the option of eating dinner at the villa. Each meal is freshly prepared with the best ingredients and best ancient Tuscan recipes.

I can't see how this place could be any better.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We've spent several summers at Tenuta di Seripa, and we have had a fantastic experience every time. The setting is pristine and private, the service is top notch and attentive, the meals are amazing, the surrounding areas are a treasure trove of medival villages.
We visited the place with out extended family, 10 adults and 10 kids, which meant we had the whole place to ourselves. The casual setting, large lawn areas and of course the swimming pool was crucial in making the experience worry free for parents. We cherish the memory of sumptous many-course dinners, enjoying the local wines while at the same time being able to supervise the kids playing outside.
The surrounding areas offer many interesting excursions. Classic destinations like San Gimignano, Lucca, Florence are all within reach for a leisurely day trip. Nearby the local villages of Suvereto and Sasseta are also great places to visit for a nice stroll and great dining.
We will be going back soon, I hope....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta di Seripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Seripa

Address: Sassetta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Sassetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sassetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Seripa Italy/Sassetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta di Seripa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.