We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“la dolce vita in toscana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta La Bandita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta La Bandita to your Saves list
Tenuta La Bandita
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Sassetta B&B and Inns
jouy en josas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“la dolce vita in toscana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

we spent 10 nights in this charming hotel and we have been enchanted by the place: the location is great for those who seek after a quiet and relaxing place to unwind during summer; Due to the location in the tuscanese hills, the air is often breezy and not too hot during summer. Actually we did not use the air conditioning in the rooms. the rooms are stylish, though a little dark for the 2 classic ones we had but we did not stay inside so as to enjoy the pure blue sky of the region; the best place of La Bandita is for sure the terrace where you can enjoy breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is made of a great buffet with a large choice of products, very fresh; A regret: no freshly squeezzd orange or fruit juice....And for dinner the food which is made by a team of local cooks, comes at 80% from La tenuta...very "bio" and generous plates...The service is very friendly, discreet and pleasant. A special mention to Luciano who speaks at least 5 languages and provides a careful and effective service at the restaurant. Having dinner on the terrace is a must due to the breathtaking view over the village of Sassetta, nestled in the forest facing the hotel. If you stay at the hotel you can relax at the pool or play tennis in the middle of olive trees and cypress trees. Overall the site is recommended for those who want to escape in a peaceful environment, but not if you look for lively places with nightlife. And the hotel is not far from the coast if you prefer to enjoy the beaches. Several nice old villages can be also visited around. Do not hesitate to ask the owner Daniela and her team for a smart advice on what to see...
La tenuta la bandita is truly the place where you will get a friendly welcome and you will feel like going back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The area is breathtaking, the view was gorgeous, and the food was amazing! The staff were some of the friendliest people we met on our 9 day tour of Italy. Our room was quaint but extremely comfortable and clean. They have a garden on site where they grow the vegetables they use in the meals they prepare, and I don't think I have ever had anything so fresh and tasty! I would strongly suggest staying and eating dinner on the patio overlooking the town of Sasetta, and if they are serving their garden vegetable lasagna you should order it for sure!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This was the last hotel we stayed at during our two weeks in Tuscany – and it left us with a great final impression. We arrived at the hotel late in the day after a scenic but tiring drive from San Gimignano. After being shown to our room, we noticed a small problem. We called the front desk, and within minutes, someone had arrived to fix it. Soon after, the front desk called again to ensure that everything had been taken care of, and offered to upgrade us to a premium room in the main lodge.

Our upgrade was superlative. Every detail of the room was meticulously designed, from the remotely-controlled skylight shades to the corner fireplace, bathroom fixtures and lighting. It was just what we had hoped for after a long day of driving and walking.

We opted to have dinner at the hotel both evenings of our stay. The dishes prepared by the chef featured local ingredients, many of which were grown on the grounds, so everything was fresh and very flavourful. The servers – and in particular, the main server – spoke English fluently, and were especially friendly.

Breakfasts were no less stellar. I think I can say without reservation that this hotel featured the best breakfast buffet of any of the four hotels we stayed at during our trip. Each morning, there was a spectacular spread of fresh items: flans, quiches, pastries, fruits of all sorts, sliced meats, cheeses, and an array of other foods.

Both days, we took advantage of the large estate property. We enjoyed seeing the animals that lived on the grounds, and noticed their carefully maintained natural surroundings and the obvious care with which they were treated.

All in all, this hotel was superb.

  • Liked — Gorgeous setting; terrific food
  • Disliked — Nothing; everything was superb
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

I have never been accused of being an exceptional linguist, so it's not surprising that I was speechless when I arrived at Tenuta La Bandita, not to mention breathless at the beauty of the villa and the surrounding area. From the moment my wife and I arrived we felt warmly welcomed by Daniela and her staff. After arriving and going for a brief tour of the villa, we were shown to our beautifully appointed, spacious, and lavishly-furnished room. This is where we called home for a week this October, just a short 13 km (7.9 mile) drive off the main highway set in the rolling Tuscan landscape complete with nearby quaint little medieval towns, incredible forests, wonderful vineyards and olive groves, and unbelievable vistas in all directions. Daniela's home, Lucian's (the head waiter) hospitality, Clarissa's culinary excellence - and indeed the entire staff and setting - combine to make everything perfect at Tenuta La Bandita. You won't regret your choice if you include this villa in your travel plans while in Tuscany.

Calgary, Canada

  • Liked — The wonderful rural setting in the heart ot Tuscany, but also only 15 minutes from great beaches.
  • Disliked — Sometimes mid-day it was easier to go into one of the nearby towns for a meal than to eat right at the villa, but we were there during low season.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed just 1 night on our way through. Great location; hidden in the hills, but easy to find. Beautifull panoramic views. Nice pool. Free internet. Main building was nicely decorated with a fantastic terrass.
Best breakfast we had during our 3 weeks in Italia. Dinner prepared with tastfull selfgrown products.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

The hotel offers a very good value for money. It is in a lovely, secluded place not too far away from the seeside. The terrace has a beautiful view on the valley and Sassetta. The restaurant is nice to eat at. Staff is wonderful, with a mixture of Italians and other Europeans.
We were only on our way-through to but it should be very nice to stay here and just relax in Tuscan, forested hills.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed here in June 07 at the end of our trip to Tuscany. And it's not difficult to find - just get directions before you travel.

From this location, you are a 30 minute drive to the beach in San Vincenzo - clear blue water. Castagneto Carducci is about a 20 min drive away and has wonderful views. Don't miss the Michele Satta winery at the bottom of Carducci!

La Bandita is a beautiful spot. The main house is filled with antiques and the views from the terrace are lovely. It definately has an old world, romantic charm.

Our accommodation was away from the main house, near the pool - which was a real plus in such hot weather. The room was nicely decorated but the bathroom had seen better days. When we reported a problem to Daniella, she did try to fix it. But we were left with the impression that it is a longstanding issue they haven't yet addressed.

Would definately return again, but would stay in the main house this time. We found the staff to be top notch and the evening meals were some of the best we had during the trip.

  • Liked — surroundings, excellent staff and fine food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Bandita

Address: Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Sassetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sassetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta La Bandita 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tenuta La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Bandita Hotel Livorno
Tenuta La Bandita Italy/Sassetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta La Bandita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.