We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta La Bandita

Save Saved
You added Tenuta La Bandita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenuta La Bandita
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sassetta B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“lovely sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

very secluded, a lovely hotel ....never have to leave

Very reasonable wine list and amazing food

The owners were right on site at all time to ensure great service

Old period manin building and sizeable pool

and amazing views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

There are only two words for this hotel:
SIMPLY AMAZING!!
Clean, calm, relaxing and the service is just flawless! Wifi is all over the place partially because there is no phone reception, but it's amazing to able to search online virtually anywhere. One of the best hotel i have stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very well maintained old country villa that is a perfect getaway for a night or two. The rooms are furnished with antiques, as is the rest of the villa. The restaurant on the premises is superb--the malfatti with porcini mushrooms were to die for--and offers a superb view over the local terrain due to its being situated atop a hill. You will definitely need a car, as the location is not within walking distance of anything. If you're looking for a place to chill out either as a solo traveler or as a couple, you will like it here. It's upscale but not fussy, with a real flavor of Old Italy. Good wifi throughout. Would happily come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, while researching a place to stay after arriving in Rome, the comment about the laughing donkey intrigued me. My research of its website and trip advisor cinched the deal!
Upon our arrival the Villa was a welcomed retreat, the suite upstairs was rustically inviting, the patio doors brought in a beautiful breeze and a view of a village nestled in the middle of the mountain across the way. My husband fell asleep immediately in the comfortable bed. I went downstairs and explored the inn, a classical Tuscan style. The comfortable inviting parlor,the magazines of both culinary and scenic delights awaited me. It was just begging me for a glass of local vine. I gave in, but my host suggested a table on the patio watching the sunset. Good idea. (Ok, I had two)
While experiencing the most tranquil environment high in the hills, the laid back setting, the service both attentive yet private, I heard the magic sound, the braying of the infamous laughing donkey! I felt like I was in the middle of a movie.
I can go on forever, I loved the inn, the Resturant was great,all farm grown products, intimate setting, incredible service and fabulous wines...
I have recommended this inn to my friends, my travel agent and now to you with no hesitation. I will return!

While not a luxury inn, if you are looking for upscale rustic inns in a true Tuscan style with a private romantic setting, this place is for you!

My only suggestion would be to fix railing on stairs and invest in down comforters......
Thank you for a memorable stay and making us feel special... Oh, my husband woke up for dinner and loved it..

Lyn Ambridge



K

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are a young couple from Holland with a 15 week old lovely baby. We checked tripadvisor before visiting the location and, to be honest, did not book it yet on booking.com because of some negative comments besides a lot of positive ones. But the photo's where very promising to us and gave a good feeling so we decided to choose 3 locations and visit them first. Bandito was the first location. We didn't went to the other 2 anymore: We arrived at a beautifull villa and had a warm welcome by the owner Daniele (so we don't regonize the negative comments about her in other reviews). Daniele showed us 3 different rooms/apartments. All 3 a dream. One even more beautiful than the other and sometimes I was having the feeling walking into a "North and South" scene (remember that serie?). It really shows that the owners put a lot of effort, energy and money in this big but beautiful location. We choose the standard room because it was near the pool and on ground floor so easy when you have a baby. Within 30 minutes a made came in to bring fresh flowers. How cute! The main villa with breakfast and diner room + relax (living) room is just wonderful. Outside a romantic terrace where you also can choose to have your breakfast or diner. Even lunch is possible and on request they bring it even to the pool! Perfect staff! Galid is the best waiter ever! Very kind and professional and speaks fluent French, Italian and German! The food is absolutely high for Italian standards. We are from Holland, really used to good restaurants and not easy to satisfy but Villa Tenuta La Bandita is absolutely an Italian dream come true! Not 3 but for sure 4 stars!

Room Tip: Ask Daniela to show you some of the rooms before you choose. Some bathrooms and showers are bigger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is in the middle of the hills and hard to find, but we didn't have any big problems (though driving during daytime is highly recommended). We loved the place and used it as a two night stop to begin a drive through wine country. It was one of our favourites. Animals roam the property and some get eaten for dinner! The restaurant was great and the food was obviously very fresh. We will travel back here whenever we return to Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just ended two weeks vacation on a roundtrip in Tuscany. Pisa was bad, Siena was fantastic, the beach was too crowdy, San Gimignano was excellent, Lucca was great, Volterra too...but the place that we definitely will return to, is Tenuta La Bandida. We read a lot of different reviews before we decided to go there, just for one night. We ended up being there the last four nights, and then we had to return to Norway.
First of all: The food was excellent (don't let any of the other reviewers tell you different), the swimmingpool was refreshing (even tho we needed to clean it for bugs once every day), the rooms were just as majestic as you read about in the fairytales and the colourful owner made the stay a perfect ending on a perfect vacation. The last night we woke up in the middle of the night, and we were sure it was a drunk man playing saxophone in the garden. Fortunately it was just a singing donkey..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Bandita

Address: Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Sassetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sassetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta La Bandita 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tenuta La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Bandita Hotel Livorno
Tenuta La Bandita Italy/Sassetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta La Bandita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.