We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional Tuscan experience - without equal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta La Bandita

Save Saved
You added Tenuta La Bandita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenuta La Bandita
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sassetta B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An exceptional Tuscan experience - without equal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

It is hard to put into words the emotional appeal of this magnificent villa. The superb location, the extraordinary facility (beautiful rooms), the remarkable food and management and staff that are wholly dedicated to a relaxing, enjoyable experience. I see that "lyndaMtl" didn't have a great experience but, having stayed here twice, I think that was a very rare exception. Daniella, the owner, is gracious and lovely and sets the tone for a remarkable stay. Everything is remarkably balanced: Low key yet sublimely elegant. Attentive without being overbearing. Rooms are spacious, very tastefully appointed with generous amenities. The silence during the day -- and night -- is blissfully deafening. The chirping birds and occasional hee-haw from the donkey or neighing from the horses or the honking of the geese is all there is to "disturb" the gentle wind rustling the trees. Most of what you'll eat there is literally home-grown, including the wine and olive oil. You will, like us, leave this experience very sadly. The thoughts of returning some day will provide the needed solace until that becomes a reality. Without a doubt, we recommend Bandita for the discriminating traveler who appreciates the best Tuscany has to offer. We count the days until we can return! GRAZIE MILLE, DANIELLA. BRAVA! CIAO!

Room Tip: Our favorite is Room 14; includes a balcony/porch. Many from which to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at La Bandita. The grounds, view and villa are just breathtaking. We had a room in the main villa and it was very comfortable and grand. The cool breezes in the mountain made it perfect for sitting on the terrace to eat, relax or simply read a book.

We drove into Castagneta Carducci for one afternoon and enjoyed walking the village and having lunch there. The rest of our meals were at La Bandita and the food was very good. Breakfasts were plentiful and full of variety. Dinners were well prepared and although a bit slow, good service. We did have one funny event, when we were waiting a while for our main course, the waiter came by to see if we wanted to order dessert. Oops, I guess they forgot about us. He remedied it quickly and we had steaming hot food in front of us in no time.

We did walk the grounds, but didn't really spend any time at the pool. We enjoyed our relaxing and romantic stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just came back from a 5 day stay at the hotel. Never received a warm welcome when we arrived .We were given the impression we were distrubing the owner Daniella. We checked in at the hotel around 6pm I was given the key and quiclky escorted out of the office. I Had to go back to the office to get the wi fi password when I started asking the girl who works in the office some questions I was more or less told I was taking up too much of her time, I presume the owner had somewhere to go and wanted to lock up for the evening. The rooms were not what was expected for a junrior suite they need to do extensive renovations. Breakfast is served at 8am not before and nowhere at the hotelcan you get a cup of coffee or juice you have to wait until 8 am. Thanks to the staff who made the experience bearable. As much as the owner was rude and impolite the staff were quite friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights and had an unforgettable time. Our room was nicely decorated and quite spacious, the bathroom was fairly big and we even had our own shaded terrace-balcony facing one of the olive groves which we used when we wanted to get out of the sun. The bed was very comfortable, but slippers were needed as the red floor kept painting the soles of our feet!

We couldn't fault the hotel staff - Emilio and the others were all friendly and as attentive as they could be even during busy periods of the day. It was really nice to see Daniela the owner most days, and to receive a free bottle of the estates home made olive oil upon arrival. The staff were particularly accommodating at the poolside, coming to take drinks and food orders.

The breakfast choice was vast - a buffet of cereal, croissants, ham, cheese and a lot of cakes! The hot chocolate is delicious too. We ate in the restaurant in the evening twice - the food was slow to arrive but on a starry evening sat outside it's nice not to feel waiters hovering over you!

The grounds are beautiful - olive groves surrounding the three buildings. We explored further down the hillside when one of the groundsmen was feeding the animals (a collection of geese, pigs, goats, horses, donkeys and chickens) and he helped us spot the wild boar they keep which like to stick to the shadows.

Tenuta La Bandita is a perfect place to take life easy - reading in the hammocks, relaxing by the pool and having long meals outdoors. Make sure you have a hire car though if you want to explore the neighbouring towns.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Unfortunately we were placed on one of the most depressing hotel rooms I have ever had the misfortune to stay in (tiny; dark & gloomy; stain on headboard; damp black & white prints of the English hunting season; no signal on television; single beds pushed together). Thankfully following a complaint we were moved to a much nicer room (3 times the size; beautiful antique furniture). I would strongly recommend checking what room you will be put in as the difference in quality is amazing. If we had seen any pictures of the room we were given on the website then we would not have booked there.

There isn't a very open, welcoming reception but instead an 'ufficio' which sometimes has the door shut so the staff don't always feel approachable.

Unfortunately the bathrooms appear to be the ones originally installed when the hotel opened in 1997 (hit and miss dribbling hot water). The hotel food was average at best (I would definitely recommend a visit to Castagneto Carducci or Sassetta for dining out however) and the breakfast was disappointing (dry bread; stale croissants and a choice of cakes and cereals; instant coffee). Any fresh coffee or eggs come at an extra cost, but unfortunately we weren't offered these as the waiter was rushed off his feet.

The waiters do Daniela an absolute credit as they were warm, friendly and helpful at all times, despite sometimes being visibly stressed and explaining that they were having to run the shift alone for one reason or another.

The hotel is in a stunning location with tremendous views and not far from Castagneto Carducci, which was a lovely little hilltop town. I would recommend eating there or at Sassetta where we had a great lunch. The only thing I would say is make sure you check what room you are being put in as it massively affects your experience of La Bandita!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in June and a fabulous time. The house is amazing with so many beautiful pieces of authentic furniture and such a feel of italian character. The nearby village os Sassetta is only 5 - 10 mins drive away and is so untouched by tourists it is a joy to see. There is a great little shop selling local produce, a tabbachi and a few pizzarias (selling the best pizzas we had!). The restaurant at La Bandita though is lovely - everything they serve is grown or reared on their surrounding land and there is a fab view to enjoy while having dinner. The breakfast is also a great standard not to mention the first class waiting staff who can't do enough for you! The only negatives (which aren't really negatives) are the pool area which could be improved although is still very nice and certainly quiet and peaceful if that is what you are after. Also, our room overlooked the restaurant (which meant we had a great view) but were woken quite early each morning with the breakfast preparations. However a beautiful place well worth visiting for some peace and quiet and real untouched Italian culture!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouy en josas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

we spent 10 nights in this charming hotel and we have been enchanted by the place: the location is great for those who seek after a quiet and relaxing place to unwind during summer; Due to the location in the tuscanese hills, the air is often breezy and not too hot during summer. Actually we did not use the air conditioning in the rooms. the rooms are stylish, though a little dark for the 2 classic ones we had but we did not stay inside so as to enjoy the pure blue sky of the region; the best place of La Bandita is for sure the terrace where you can enjoy breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is made of a great buffet with a large choice of products, very fresh; A regret: no freshly squeezzd orange or fruit juice....And for dinner the food which is made by a team of local cooks, comes at 80% from La tenuta...very "bio" and generous plates...The service is very friendly, discreet and pleasant. A special mention to Luciano who speaks at least 5 languages and provides a careful and effective service at the restaurant. Having dinner on the terrace is a must due to the breathtaking view over the village of Sassetta, nestled in the forest facing the hotel. If you stay at the hotel you can relax at the pool or play tennis in the middle of olive trees and cypress trees. Overall the site is recommended for those who want to escape in a peaceful environment, but not if you look for lively places with nightlife. And the hotel is not far from the coast if you prefer to enjoy the beaches. Several nice old villages can be also visited around. Do not hesitate to ask the owner Daniela and her team for a smart advice on what to see...
La tenuta la bandita is truly the place where you will get a friendly welcome and you will feel like going back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Bandita

Address: Via Campagna nord ,35, 57020 Sassetta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Sassetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sassetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta La Bandita 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tenuta La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Bandita Hotel Livorno
Tenuta La Bandita Italy/Sassetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta La Bandita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.