We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely guesthouse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Broom Lodge

Park Broom Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park Broom Lodge to your Saves list
Park Broom Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Park Broom, Crosby on Eden, Carlisle CA6 4QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely guesthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were visiting friends in Carlisle and Lockerbie a couple of weekends ago and rather than put ourselves on them we looked on the Internet for somewhere to stay. What a lucky find Park Broom Lodge was. Our room was lovely; just big enough, warm and cosy, comfortable bed, T.V. and a very nice en-suite bathroom. The couple that run the guest house were really nice, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing, everything cooked freshly to order and it kept you going until dinner time. We would recommend this establishment to anyone staying in the area and would like to thank the owners for a wonderful weekend. We will certainly be returning next time we visit our friends. John and Linda Dawson.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for your review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Good luck with your efforts to improve the lives of the young people you look after--- you deserve to be really successful
Hope to see you again on your next visit to our beautiful part of the country

Kindest regards

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    42
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
61
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Thanks to Kath and her husband we were made exceptionally welcome upon our arrival. we were greeted with a nice big pot of tea and some banana and walnut cake mmm very nice indeed so the wife said lol . the place was spotless the service was outstanding. There is a very warm and homely feeling in this place . Next morning we came down for breakfast and after reading some of the reveiws on here all i can say is o.m.g excellent the food was outstanding. if you want a bit of tradition this is certainly at its best. Kath i wish you and your husband all the very best for the future and we will definatley be seeing you both again very soon once again thanks again for looking after us xx steve & donna henderson

Room Tip: this is just how staying at a lodge should be
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking he time to write this review of your stay.We are still chuckling from your story about your stay in Bradford!
Hope to see you again soon
Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Park Broom Lodge, while working away from home in Carlisle. I will not hesitate to return when work brings me back to North Cumbria. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished and are impeccably clean with wonderfully comfortable beds. During a particularly cold, wet and windy January week, the hotel was always warm and cosy with the roaring log fire in the lounge a particular attraction! The Cumbrian cooked breakfast is magnificent: fresh ingredients, cooked to order, piping hot: never had better! Charming and accomodating hosts who allowed me to extend my booking at short notice without difficulty. And most importantly, fabulous value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are looking forward to your return when work brings you back to Carlisle

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a very busy time over Xmas we were looking forward to our short break at Park Broom Lodge. We were not disappointed. Our stay was both comfortable and relaxing. Our son and our mad Collie Rigby were made very welcome too! Our ensuite rooms were fabulous with our own corridor for Rigby to sleep in.
We were made to feel at home by the owners and had use of their comfortable bar, restaurant and lounge with log burning stove. Rigby enjoyed running around the large enclosed garden.
We had an evening meal and breakfasts that were of a very high standard. I can honestly say the breakfast was the best we have ever had in any hotel we have stayed in!
This hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Carlisle and Hadrian's wall. I hope we can return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you ,your husband and your son,Rigby was lovely too,we hope you will come back soon and see some more of this beautiful area

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thanks to Kath and her husband we had the best stay after a rather unpredictable journey over on Stena line on january 3! We arrived late that Night and Kath was still up to greet us and help out with the small details. V kid and dog friendly too. Fantastic breakfast; Michelin quality and choice. We'll definitely be back again next Christmas and this coming summer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay,I expect that was one of your more memorable journeys from Ireland !
Hope your next visit will be a little less exciting!

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was an excellent stopover when travelling up to Scotland this Christmas and not far from M6. We had a lovely welcome with tea and biscuits by the fire. Room very comfortable and clean crisp sheets - wonderful. Left the next morning to continue our journey to Inverness knowing that we would have a very comfortable stopover here on our way back. Dinner and breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this guest house and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely compliments ,it was lovely to meet you and we hope you come back to visit on you next trip to Scotland
Happy new Year

Kath and Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Extremely welcoming, on arrival greeted with tea and biscuits. Newly refurbished room was warm and very comfortable; wall mounted flat screen TV, tea/coffee and biscuits provided. We met up with friends so didn't have the evening meal but breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and all local produce.

Hotel taken over 3 months ago and new owners are obviously making every effort to negate the previous negative feedback. Overall all credit to them and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review,its nice to know how much you appreciated all the hard work we have put in to making the accommodation comfortable and we are both glad you felt so welcome ---you were all a pleasure to look after!
Hope to see you again

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Broom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Broom Lodge

Address: Park Broom, Crosby on Eden, Carlisle CA6 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Crosby on Eden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crosby on Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Broom Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Broom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallfoot Hotel And Restaurant
Park Broom Lodge Crosby On Eden, Cumbria - Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Broom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.