We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Inn

Save Saved
You added The Strand Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Dunmore East B&B and Inns
mullingar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently had the misfortune of having booked 3 nights at the Strand Inn Waterford! the area itself is very picturesque but the Inn is very disappointing! the bedroom was very tatty with mildew round the patio door, the bad odour from the bathroom would take your breath away there was such a gap above and below the bedroom door i dont know why they bothered putting one up at all!! the breakfast service i have to admit was very good with friendly staff! its just a pity the bar and reception staff werent of the same calibre! Give it a miss there are plenty of lovely fresh clean B & B's around.

Room Tip: Give it a miss!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    19
    19
    18
See reviews for
35
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After seeing the Strandon the TV a couple of months ago I was looking forward to checking it out and wasn't disappointed .I love sea food and was delighted to see the amount do choice that was on the menu. It was a glorious day and the views from the hotel would take your breath away - it was like being somewhere in the south of France or Spain -truly magnificent.
I had the chowder which was a meal I itself -full of lovely lumps of fish .ithen had the lemon sole and again it was divine . I found the service fantastic especially Susan. The atmosphere was so relaxing it was like everyone there was For the same reason . We sat outside then for a few pints and watched kids down on the beach -just brilliant . One last few things I can say about the Strand is -don't ever take the chowder off the menu and I'll definitely be back -keep it up !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location but to me its lacking the 'boutique' element. The room wasn't fully clean with a few items rubbish under and around the bed (nothing sordid!) but would have been seen if hoovered. We were located over the bar (with timber floors) and I didn't get to sleep until after the bar staff cleaned up. I complained about the noise but it was insinuated that it was my own fault for booking so late as that was the only room left. The bathroom layout in our room and the stairs to the room would make it unsuitable for the elderly. The shower could also do with a pump.
On the up side, the day staff were very nice, the art is very nice, the bar was good fun and the food looked really good.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms over the bar 'especially if music on'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had our wedding in the Strand Inn in Dunmore East and we cannot recommend it highly enough.
Clifden was brilliant to work with and nothing was a problem. He guided us in planning the event and his suggestion to cut the cake later in the night when everyone was in party mood was a huge success!
We had a meal in the Cliff Restaurant followed by a BBQ in the Stand Inn. The food was wonderful and everyone enjoyed their meal. The BBQ was equally impressive as everyone commented on how their steak was cooked to order- We got loads of compliments on the food!
We loved the honeymoon suite, the views are wonderful and you could hear the water lapping up on the strand below.
We were lucky with the weather which added to the day, but if you ask Clifden, he might be able to organize that too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Had our evening meal here whilst staying over night at The Beach Guesthouse. Extensive choices on menu using locally caught and grown produce. Can recommend the beef stew with potatoes and the smoked mackeral and garlic / cheese potatoes. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Dissapointed. During my previous stay, I was really impressed with the Strand Inn I had been given a room at the top of the Hotel which was large, comfortable, clean, with a large bathroom with a bath, and with the sound of the sea audible from the window. Unfortunately, my return trip was quite different.We were given a really small bare room, overlooking the kitchen yard, from which the noises of the kitchen fan and the working kitchen could be clearly heard . The bed-spread was stained, as was a tiny table, the lights over the bed were broken and the bathroom was tiny. It was like staying in a completely different Hotel.
...the pictures of rooms on the Hotel website definitely didn't reflect this room and are misleading. " Kingsize bed" and "spacious bathrooms" it certainly did not have, nor a sea view.
We asked for a change of room, but no room was available.
Having said that the staff were all very helpful , and the restaurant is great with gorgeous food.
I had recommended this Hotel to friends following my previous stay, but unfortunately, based on my most recent stay I would have to withdraw the recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I'm Very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, We have one very small room and you happened to be in it as the hotel was full i could'nt move you. if you'd like to return i can put you in one of sea view rooms and offer you a very good rate. As Regards the light & stains this is a house keeping error and it has be dealt with. please contact me if you wish to take up my offer, regards clifden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The restaurant, pub area, was dirty. The fish pie was overseasoned with thyme, oregano with dill -- very strange flavor combination. The brown bread was good, apple crumble, very good and service friendly. The food was over priced for the quality we received.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Strand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Inn

Address: Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Strand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Dunmore East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.