We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to tear ourselves away to continue our trip, what a fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mizata Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mizata Point Resort to your Saves list
Mizata Point Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km. 86 Carretera Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Kimberley, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We had to tear ourselves away to continue our trip, what a fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

First of all, everything was fabulous - so instead of raving I'll try to give helpful info. First things first, George answered all our emails in a timely fashion, checked in with us a few days before our departure, arranged a shuttle pick up for us at the airport. This was all done without a hitch, what a nice way to arrive in el Salvador. Our room was basic, clean, had a lovely bathroom, plenty of hot water, lots of channels if we wanted to watch TV. Upon arrival we were greeted, handed a couple beers, and a grilled cheese sandwich, even though the kitchen had closed down! Coffee is on at 6:30 to serve yourself. We picked up some boards to rent next door, paid a local named Henry to give us some lessons and headed about 20 steps to the beach break. After our lessons we sat down for some delicious lunch and an afternoon by the pool. I can't stress enough how George and Wendy (sp?) looked after us. Our meals were so great, and the view from our room deserved $1000/night price tag. You NEED to stay here and see for yourself. If you're even thinking about Central America - this is the place. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
30
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently spent a few days here. Having stayed at hotels and houses closer to the city of La Libertad for many years this location was a great change. The wave is phenomenal and George goes to every effort to make sure you feel right at home. The resort itself is very impressive; brand new buildings and great attention to detail with the landscaping. Even if you don't plan on staying here, it is a great place to stop in for a post-surf meal, beer, and swim in their freshwater infinity pool. Very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent the full week with at Mizata Resort. Surf was good (have surfed it when it was much better, the swell was wrong) but the resort was remarkable. George attended to every detail and it works, works, works. Comfortable spacious rooms, beautiful landscaping and solid construction (appears to be up to US code). My son and I stayed for 8 days and then my son had to extend due to Hurricane Sandy. George and his wife Wendy took great care of us while we were there and then helped my son get his travel arrangements sorted out. Food was wayyyy beyond my expectations, excellent. This is a great place for surfers or families or travelers. Beautiful, secure, great food and the hospitality is fantastic. See you in the future George!!!!

PS: The resort opened in 2012. I read the "terrible" rating that was posted and it was posted in 2010. It is about another resort up the road!!!! Disregard it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mizata Point Resort offers three of the things I love most- surf, solitude and great service! The surf was ridiculously under-crowded (we scored the point break all to ourselves TWICE!), both the resort and the beach are beautiful, quiet, private and extremely relaxed, and everything about the service exceeded our expectations (George even baked me a chocolate cake for my birthday!). Try the shrimp skewers- they are amazing! And give yourself at least a few nights here to relax and enjoy the luxuries of a little tropical paradise. Thank you George and team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a great spot in the middle of the jungle.vExcelant food, and staff, with beautiful rooms, right on the beach. Surf is fun and uncrowded, the location and ammenities are top shelf, with delicous creme brulee! I will be back! Robert Houston

Room Tip: Every room is right on the ocean, with pristine views of what El Salvador is all about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 5 nights in mizata point resort and was awesome the food quality and quantity exceed my expectation and the resort is clean comfy and everything you need for a familly vacation.George and his familly are very welcoming and great host(George picked up himself from our last surf spot) rooms are big might need a fridge to be more accomodating.Beach start in mixed sand and cobblestone and end in a nice sandy beach with great sunset.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Gr8 stay at Mizatapoint resort for 6 nights. Were there in September -12. Its completly new built. The rooms are large, very very nice beds. Satelite tv. The bathroom is beautiful, and also with warm water. Wonderful family how runs the place. They cook exellent food! Missed refrigiator in the room. In restaurant they were some bugs, should smoke out this. Seen it been done at other places. The pointbreak dident really work for us, some locals surfed it the first day, stone hazard. Not the reef break either. The beachbreak is fun. A couple of peaks, friendly locals at the beach and in the water. 2-8 surfers in the water max, not crowded at all. If you want to surf uncrowded beachbreak this is the place. Dont leave anything at the beach tho. Mizata is a nice place and im sure in a couple of years there will pop out some more hotels in the area.
Good value for the price of the rooms including breakfast.Best place so far in El Salvador.

Kalle from Sweden

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mizata Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizata Point Resort

Address: Km. 86 Carretera Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizata Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where tranquility and peace meet great surf." Quiet, uncrowded surfing resort with private rooms with all the necessities, pool, restaurant, almost on the water rooms with views to die for. For the surfer looking for the out of the ordinary place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mizata Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mizata Point Resort El Salvador/La Libertad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizata Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.