We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planasker Old School

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marvig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planasker Old School
Marvig HS2 9PQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Marvig B&B and Inns
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Your own piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We could not fault the Old School in any area. Fantastic accommodation and food with hosts that could not do any more for you. The fact you have your own lounge and gorgeous wood burning fire just added to the experience and we will definitely be back with our dog Charlie again. A big thank you to Heather and Martin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Wonderful B&B - not conventional in that you have your own self contained quarters - large living room bedroom bathroom and small study / library - only one couple/group can stay at a time so no whispered breakfast conversations! The breakfasts are excellent with all the usual Scottish goodies and dinner can be provided too The restoration has been brilliantly done to give a wonderful Victorian feel with lots of interesting pictures and antiques to look at. There is even a real fire which is great in the evening The views outside over the loch are wonderful - this place is a bit off the beaten track but is all the better for that!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We will come back and recommend to our friends. Excellent food, Beautiful and peacefull place. We felt extremly welcome by Martin and his familiy. Thank you for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was the highlight of our holiday. The area is beautiful and the accomadations top notch. Our stay was made cozy and comfortable by the owners. The attention to every detail was obvious and appreciated. This B&B has our highest recommendtions and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We visited Planasker Old School last June for one night and said we would return for longer next time. We have just returned from a 2 night stay and from the minute we arrived felt right at home and started our stay with a very welcomed cup of tea/coffee and cake. Heather and Martin are helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, thank you for everything. We had dinner both nights and the food was fabulous and the breakfast superb. The location and tranquillity definitely make this place a "piece of paradise". We will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Almost don't want to tell anyone about this place as we want to keep it to ourselves. It was in a fantastically quiet and beautiful location, the house was gorgeous and Martin and Heather made us feel really welcome with special treats and a great breakfast. We would recommend to anyone and will hopefully go back ourselves at some point.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Staying at the Old Schoolhouse was the highlight of our trip to Scotland. If you want to experience the beauty of Lewis, stay with some of the most welcoming and hospitable hosts, and get a taste of history, stay at Planasker Old Schoolhouse. This is a gem of a home--and it really feels like a home. The building is immaculate and beautifully decorated, the views are lovely, and the hosts are the nicest you could hope to find. We will definitely be making a return visit to Planasker.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planasker Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planasker Old School

Address: Marvig HS2 9PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Marvig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marvig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planasker Old School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Planasker Old School to your Saves list