We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro's and Con's at Wayalailai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort to your Saves list
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
PO Box 6353, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Pro's and Con's at Wayalailai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Myself and my partner spent 2 nights here in January 2012. It was the 3rd island we went to and it had good and bad bits.

The surroundings are lovely and the bures are set on a nice, well kept garden near the beach. We had a bure with a balcony overlooking the sea. Our room was good, well furnished and clean.... the only problems were the fan switch was broken (not good in the heat) and our door wouldn't lock. We told the staff about this and they said it was broken by the last guests, we can move or just not lock our door.... we chose the second option as the location of our room was top-notch.

The food was okay but not always ready on time. One morning, the clocks had changed and none of the staff had informed the guests... so we were waiting a long time for our breakfast.

The staff were not as friendly as at other resorts. There was no entertainment in the evenings, which we were used to. We had a difficult job trying to get kayaks for an activity we had paid for as part of our trip.... we had to keep chasing after them for the use of the kayaks and eventually someone went to get one from the nearest island! The staff seemed quite lazy, choosing to lay in their 'staff room' watching TV rather than seeing if the guests were okay. We persistently asked to borrow the volleyball, after some time we were allowed it... and it didn't take long before the staff had taken over and the game became more of a competition than fun.

The shell bracelet making was good, with the local women... they did push for us to buy more, but we can understand why they want to sell as much as they can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
43
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I do not believe there were ever bed bugs here. I have stayed here regularly over the past 10 years, and the bures have been clean and well maintained and serviced. The staff are cheerful and the food gets better every year. I also stay at other islands in the Yasawas and rate Wayalailai as the best. The scuba equipment this trip was in need of upgrading, but the snorkelling gear, activites, food, bures, staff, was the best. Remember this is a Fijian owned resort, and alot of the revenue earned here goes back into the shcool, health, housing etc of the local village on the island, and so it should. So, don't expect the Ritz and if you want this standard of acconmodation, then stay at a foreign owned resort here, pay a huge amount for it, and come away not learning anything of the friendly fijian culture. Wayalai lai and it's owners and staff are friendly and clean, and I can't wait to bet back up there again.

Room Tip: There isn't a swimming pool here, The bure's are newer on the beach front than the ones beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 with my boyfriend for 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave!

the location is beautiful and the rooms are pretty ok but the staff and service was horrendous!
on my first night i went to the bar to buy a bottle of wine which was $40, i handed the man Solomon a 50 and he held up a 10 and said i only gave a tenner! i didnt question it and handed him another 50! when i sat down i checked with my boyfriend about the amount of cash we had, and we knew we were missing 50! i went straight back to the bar and told him i was sure i gave him 50 in the first place, and he said yes! when i asked for it back he asked me for another tenner in exchange for a 20! he was just trying to confuse me, i got my 50 back in the end without an apology.
any time you go to the bar/restaurant the local people and staff are all lying on the floor and seem very unhappy about getting up when you ask them for anything from the bar!!

the resort claims to have electricity and hot water!! we had no hot water and the electricity is on for about 2 hours at night!! half of our light bulbs were gone and it was a struggle to get someone to change them!

we went to the village ladies to learn to weave, however the price changes as they feel like it, when it says $5 on the signs in the resort! they are also quiet pushy trying to sell you more and more jewellery!

on the second day we booked the sunset hike and i was asked for cash upfront and i said i would put it on the room and the man got really annoyed with me! when we were on our way we were told we couldnt go to the top unless we had a torch which we clearly weren't going to have! we went the half way and were told you dont actually see the sunset as it is the other side of the island! the man who brought us up again asked us for cash when we said we only had our card he still asked again and again!!

on check out the following morning we paid our bill at reception and two of the men came looking for my boyfriend later that day saying they wanted cash for the tour! they couldnt get into their heads that we were using our card at the resort!

the food was terrible and always cold even if you are there before they sound the drum!! to make things worse i got food poisoning from chicken on my second day which ruined my final day in fiji on the awesome adventures seaspray boat!!!

this resort was embarrassing!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waya Lailai hotels

Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hi Folks,

This time we give our comments in English so that as many people as possible can read it and hopefully the management and the staff or the resort as well.

We did quite some island hopping on the Yasawas and we saw good and bad resorts. We had basic food and 5* delux food. Wayalailai Ecoheaven was the 5th resort on our tour and please let us explain why we rated it as we did:

Staff: No welcome singing as you usually have - they carried our backpacks, but this was all. Then we got a short briefing in front of the office from a staff member. We are no native English speakers, but usually we understand the language. But what this gentleman was trying to tell us - sorry we did not really get it. Even our questions did not bring us any clear answers either he could not give understandable answers or just was not in the right mood for it. All other staff members were usually occupying the hammocks at the beach - of course always the ones well protected from the sun. So we could only choose to set up on the sand or in a hammock in the plain sun. All in all it appeared that rather the staff of the resort was enjoyning a nice holiday than guests.......

Food: Ok, just let's forget about this. A cruel mix of leftovers (from the staff?) and always cold. Of course, always the same. A hard bun with fish on top - at the first glance this looked like nouvel cuisine - but it ended to tast very badly.

Bure: We had booked a beach front bure which was of course not available. So we got one in the second row. The bure was spacious and nice furnished - to bad that we had no light. We went to search for someone to fix it and they tried - but at the end they just told us that the generator could not produce enough electricity. To bad for us that the TV for the staff had a higher priority than the light in the bures. So we ended in the bure at 09.00 with our single headlamp and asking us why we were there. In addition the staff must have seen the complaints on Tripadvisor about bed bugs - and done some treatment to the matress - unfortunately it must be some very strong chemical product, it started iching just in the minute we got to bed. So we used our silk sleeping bag. The second night we were given a beach bure - one with working light. Our neighbours there had for two nights the same problem as we had the night before - no light. At the day of departure we wanted to shower - but there was no water. Staff told us to fix it soon - maybe soon in another year or two......

Activities: We wanted to do the tour to the great rock to watch the sunrise. Unfortunately not enough people to do it. Two days in a row. Just the hand line fishing with Moses took place, maybe the only pleasant thing within these two days.

Other: The manager visited his resort on the day we left. About 10 minutes prior to his arrival all the staff was working (for once) and they even set up a kayak on the beach (we never saw it before) and the waitress in the kitchen was for once very busy. So apparently they would know how to do - but they just feel better not caring about guests and just pretending to do so when the boss comes for a visit. I do not need to tell you that he ate different food as all guests......

That's it - please check our other reviews of Yasawa Island resorts - there are some excellent ones!

Room Tip: Insist on beach front bure - then you have at least a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The beach here is pretty nice, the area is more of a bay as its such a big island compared to most. The bure was fine, fan/double-bed/ensuite...we didnt have any insect/bed bug problems which other people have mentioned. Like with a lot of the islands further away from the mainland, they run on generators for electricity which turns off about 11pm....so if you want to make use of the fan at night..best go to bed early :) As i said, the power is turned off at times of low use, but thats understandable.
The food here was pretty good..you can get seconds if you are quick enough, but sometimes you only get one serve. Like a lot of the other resorts also, you can buy snacks like chocolate/crisps if you want to.

One of the main attractions of this island is the amount of activities you can do here. As well as the norm snorkeling you can go reef shark snorkeling (which is amazing), go on an amazing hike up to the top of the island (this is a must do - only average fitness is needed), visit the nearby village and school, and although it sounds geeky - the weaving (rings/anklets ect) with the local women is great.

Every island is different and has different positives - for me this one was the activities. A great place to spend a couple of days before you move on to your next island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, which was probably one too many. It is our second favorite, after Nabua Lodge.

The bures are ok, pretty big and spacey and looked more or less clean. There were some bedbugs in the dorms however, probably travelling from one island to another in the backpacks.

Food was pretty good, always a buffet and you can repeat.There is afternoon tea/coffee (free) with great cake (2 FJD).

The beach is nice but not nearly enough hamocks.

The setting is pretty dramatic, with the summit towering over the resort. We did the walk up there- it is VERY sweaty, but the views are well worth it. Its 10 FJD if you want a guide, but you can perfectly go on your own (just dont tell the staff :)

We also tried weaving bracelets with the local women, which was pretty nice.

There were some issues with some of the local men who hang out around the place (it is impossible that all of them worked there), specially in the evenings. One girl left some game cards on a table in the dining area, and some min later they were gone.. There was just her group of friends there and the local men. When she asked the group of men sitting there they said no (lying her in the face), becuz when she got really pissed the cards in some amazing way turned up (though some cards where missing).. The same happened with a pair of slippers and a football, and these didnt turn up.

Overall, a nice place but it does get a bit boring in the end... The evening entertainment is lame compared to other islands, but if you re happy just reading a book then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The first thought about the stay in this hotel is the ocean coast. There is a very nice reef there and you may spend hours snorkeling there without going to organized trips. 100 methers away there was a rock where we could find tens of crabs. The resort is under giant rock where you can go for a trip twice per day. Summing up, the location is perfect.

We didn't stay in single bures but in the "lodge" (six rooms in the row, two used by the staff). Our room was clean but it was not modernized for a couple of years (it reminded me old-fashioned Eastern European resorts from 1970's). I think that private bures looked better.

The food was average - I can't understand why during our 4-night stay they didn't serve any fish.

The resort is run by the locals and one of the best things there is that you feel that the whole village is somehow employed there - they either clean the rooms or prepare the food or participate in evening "Fijian nights" for tourists. Such activities were every day and are really unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Address: PO Box 6353, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayalailai Ecohaven Hotel Waya Lailai
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort Fiji/Waya Lailai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.