We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than "a villa".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Racchiusole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umbertide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Racchiusole
Save
You added Racchiusole to your Saves list
Racchiusole, 06019 Umbertide, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much more than "a villa".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have no hesitation in recommending this delightful, well -appointed villa. The tranquility of
the remote hillside setting together with the very fine furnishings and fittings of the homely
buildings and the attentive (but not intrusive), kindly help of Ann & Tony Russell make for an
idyllic holiday location. The fine tennis court and swimming pool provide for the energetic members of a group, while the sun-blessed terrace or gentle walks might suit the less able.
An absolute 'must' for anybody planning to explore this part of Umbria.

Room Tip: All en-suite doubles are fine; the twin, ground floor room has adjoining shower/WC facilities - n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racchiusole, Owner at Racchiusole, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your generous review; we are pleased that we were NOT intrusive! Hope you and yours have a lovely and calm Christmas. Tony & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Some said we were a little crazy inviting my in-laws on part of our honeymoon, but when you find a place like we did in the Umbria hills above Umbertide, you have no choice but to share with friends and family. My new bride, her parents, and two close friends, rented a villa a short distance from Umbertide, and an hour's drive from Perugia, high in the hills overlooking a gorgeous valley. Tony and Ann, UK ex-pats, have spent over a decade carving out beautiful villas on their property to share with travelers. The villas are nothing short of emaculate, new properties, built with an old world feel. The bedrooms were well appointed, the downstairs common areas beautifully decorated, and the kitchen fully stocked with all the appliances you might need for your Italian feasts. The grounds are also well manicured and the pool is inviting during the heat of the afternoon.

One of the perks of renting from Tony and Ann, is an option for a cooked dinner that Ann will bring down from the main house upon request. We found this to be a welcome option as it kept us from having to cook and to allow us to have wine at dinner without having to climb the mountain by car in the dark. I highly recommend this at least for a few of your night.

The villa was also centrally located in Umbria and afforded us the opportunity to day trip to Siena, Assisi, and several other towns in the Umbria Tuscanny region. I only wish I could add an additional star for the wonderful hospitality of our hosts, who made us feel like family during our stay.

We look forward to another reunion at Racchiusole in the future. High recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racchiusole, Guest Relations Manager at Racchiusole, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
With guests like you, it was not difficult to make you '...feel at home...; it was fun. Although we sensed a loved-up atmosphere, we didn't actually know it was your honeymoon; if we had known, we would have baked a cake. Congratulations!
PS. Thank you for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We are long term Umbria veterans, having stayed in over half a dozen different villas all over Umbria, Tuscany and the Marche, for well over a decade - and three of those have been houses on the Racchiusole estate - which we have now visited 4 years on the trot. And the reason is simple - for once, the website blurb actually falls short of the place. The villas themselves deliver all that is promised -- and more. The pools are properly landscaped, generously proportioned, and beautifully furnished -- forget cheap plastic, sun-bleached loungers, and eye stinging chlorine, its all wrought iron, beautifully made, and done with a loving touch. The kitchens have genuinely high end fittings -- a bit intimidating (the gas ranges are pure Raymond Blanc) but again, a refreshing change from the usual villa afterthought barely adequate cooker/microwave/small fridge combo. The result? Fantastic time cooking and eating in, for the days not spent hoovering up the amazing food on offer in Umbrian restaurants. The bespoke espresso machines are just the kind of extra touch that tell you, this is is a place that has been built from the ground up by people who know -- and care -- about well-being and pleasure. And there's teh rub -- the magical USP of the place -- you only have to meet Tony and Ann (who live on the estate too, and whose vision it entirely represents) to realise they are just geniuses!. My wife and I are in awe! We spend hours there fantasising about what it would have been like to have done it ourselves, before realising it takes really special talent and tenacity to achieve what they have -- so we just sit back and bask in the fruit of all their work!

Adn the setting -- wow! Nowhere we have stayed in the region has offered the kinds of view that Racch doe s-- fingers of early morning mist miles below, hilltops in every direction, 5, 10, 20 miles away - you just drink it in, and unwind and unwind and unwind! (To be fair, this is truer of Calachiesa than Scopteccio which is lower down the hill, tucked into a wonderfully private bowl of trees and track -- we have been there twice and loved it too).

All in alll a truly truly special place -- and wiht all that we most love about Umbria -- art, food, landscape -- a stone's throw away. Every time we go, we find a host of new hill top towns to visit -- its inexhausitble. We will be revisiting as long as they can bear to have us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The villa was more than I ever expected. My daughter and I went there to be with my two nieces and their boyfriends and additional friends of my niece. It was perfect with 5 bedrooms, including the guest house and 5 bathrooms. The views were spectacular looking out over the valley. The pool was awesome. It was such a beautiful villa. Thanks Ann and Tony for a wonderful time at Racchiusole.

Barb Smith

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We would like to give Ann and tony a big thank you for allowing us to experience the peace and beauty of Racchiusole. The villa was fantastic, the pool fresh and the home meals Ann cooked were fantastic.
We went for two weeks and spent our holiday with another family, both of us having 2 kids each ranging from 4-9 and we couldn't rate it high enough. We have never been so relaxed and the peace was fab.
Had a couple of evenings in umbertide and a couple of day trips to the water park and Assisi but there was nothing better than coming back to the villa to relax and have a drink looking at the view.
Thank you once again for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very relaxing time was spent with our family at Racchiusole. Tony and Ann were warm and friendly hosts, and we enjoyed two delicious meals cooked by Ann. Our beautiful villa was home from home. Our grandchildren enjoyed the pool where we spent most of our time, but had to escape the midday heat with a most welcome siesta! The villa is quite remote, with a± 20 min drive to Umbertide for shopping, but shop before you head for the beautiful hills, and then relax and enjoy a wonderful peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited for a week with family, including two young children and college students. All loved our time at this most special place. I cannot say enough about Tony and Ann. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome. We took day trips and also enjoyed being at the house and cooking ourselves (and enjoying the wonderful meals delivered by Ann and Tony. Just delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Racchiusole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racchiusole

Address: Racchiusole, 06019 Umbertide, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Umbertide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two exquisitely restored traditional villas, with 21st century facilities, on private gated estate in the Umbrian Hills near Perugia. Both sleep ten, all ensuite, terraces, professional kitchens, fine furnishings, separate media areas. Own private pools, tennis, golf nearby. Magnificent distant views which seem to go on forever. Assisi, Florence, Siena and many others only a comfortable drive away. Perfect holiday place for families and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racchiusole Italy/Umbertide, Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Racchiusole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.