We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Mill Cottage, Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just back from 2 days based at the Riverside. Room was lovely, very clean and warm and the breakfasts were great. Roxana made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. It was lovely meeting you both and I'm very pleased you've enjoyed your time here. Maybe we'll see each other again if you decide to visit the area any time in the future. Thank you again, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely b+b in a beautiful location. The service was very good, a very nice host. Has a vintage look inside, very cool. Breakfast was excellent, would definitely go back again. The Wensleydale cheese factory is just down the road, in Hawes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to see that people leave here happy and I'm pleased you appreciated our vintage look, it goes well with the character of the building.
Kind regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location for walking. Lovely clean room. Breakfast superb. Roxana really freindly and made us feel very welcome. Some nice antique touches around the rooms gave an old world feel while still being modern. Would definitley go back again.

Room Tip: 4 Poster was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the décor, I think everything works together to give the place a bit of personality :)
Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wow... That just sums it up in one word! What lovely staff. They are so welcoming and can't do enough for you. The rooms were spotless, so clean and tidy. I can't rate this b&b high enough. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
What can I say, thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I wish you all the best. You're always welcomed here so don't hesitate to come by if you're in the area. Regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a few nights at Riverside B&B whilst visiting the Yorkshire Dales National Park on a walking/hiking holiday in between Christmas and New Year. Roxana was a fantastic host - very friendly, lovely and helpful and made us feel at home straight away. Our room was warm and cosy, the home-cooked breakfasts were excellent, and the location of the B&B is spot on - right in the middle of the Dales. Just a 15 minute drive away from the famous Aygarth Falls, and 15 mins in the other direction to Hawes and the Wensleydale Creamery (definitely worth a visit for the wide range of delicious free cheese on offer!). As the name suggests, the B&B and right next to the river which provides a very scenic setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here at Riverside. You're right we are located in a very special place, I feel very lucky to live here. Maybe we'll see each other again. Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Super friendly and accomodating owner. Cozy clean rooms, a bathroom you can actually fit in and very nice breakfast. Highly recommended! Only thing is try to get there before dark, the locals who know the curves in the road drive A LOT faster :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. You're right, the locals do drive faster on these roads, I guess it's a lot easier when you're used to them. You just have to come back until you get used to them :) . It was my pleasure meeting you both and I do hope you enjoyed your road trip around the UK.
Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

An exceptional hostess who keeps a little gem in the heart of the dales. A great base to explore the national park. A B&B where tradition hits contemporary. WILL be returning in 2013, just hope it doesn't rain this time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your great review. What a brilliant way to end the year! I look forward to seeing you again in the new year and I do hope we have nicer weather.
Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: High Mill Cottage, Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up until the 1890's, High Mill was the village corn mill, after which it became a sawmill. In 1912 the Bainbridge Electric Lighting Company took over the site but The National Grid reached Upper Wensleydale a few years later and the mill returned to being a sawmill, driven by the old water turbine. It now has a different role that welcomes the discerning visitor, inviting them to delight in its heritage. We offer three rooms with generous en-suites, the two doubles with Four Poster Beds and a twin bedded room with stunning views, all furnished in keeping with the surroundings. All rooms have hospitality trays, hairdryers and flat screen TVs with DVD player and there is a separate TV lounge to relax and unwind in should you so wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Bed And Breakfast Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.