We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Low Mill Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low Mill Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved being at Low Mill. From the moment first walking in we relaxed. Tea and muffins appeared, luggage disappeared and we began our two days of utter comfort.
We had looked at the photos of Low Mill but they do not prepare you for the lovely proportions or the sense of well-being that prevail here. I think all of Jane and Neil's visitors will love the rooms and the food, both deserving of all superlatives, but what is exceptional is the easy atmosphere they both bring to the mill.
Our visit was as good as we could have hoped for and better than we could have imagined.

Room Tip: Try them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found fabulous accommodation, excellent food, and wonderful hosts. We loved the restoration of the old mill house. The location is beautiful, rain or shine. All told we had a memorable weekend and thoroughly recommend this for a complete escape.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Low Mill after long distance walking - the luxurious bedrooms and amazing showers in spacious bathrooms are just what we needed. We especially appreciate the genuine dog welcome. Add in great hospitality from Jane and Neil, and perfect breakfast we only wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the kiln room this time - has a really peaceful feel with views and sounds of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Low Mill with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I booked a few months ago and we were really looking forward to our stay.
Having built up great expectations, which began a couple of years ago after watching Jane & Neil on TV (The Dales) I can tell you all of them were met AND exceeded.
Neil is a really nice guy, friendly, helpful and a great Baker!! Jane is warm and welcoming and her cooking is superb, everything is cooked and seasoned to perfection, excellent choice using local produce, far better than any local restaurants and pubs (including Yorebridge House round the corner, good, but VERY expensive!)
The Mill is fantastic, just like the pictures on their website, only the bedrooms are much better in the flesh! We stayed in the Store Room, the cheapest of the 3, but absolutely fantastic, lots of nice little touches etc etc.
All the drinks are priced well, even the champagne, which we enjoyed a bottle of after our dinner, sat in the garden next to the river, with only the stars and each other for company!! Bliss.....
The position of Bainbidge is excellent, you are right in the middle of most places of interest in the Dales, we visited Leyburn, Hawes, Askrig, Grassington and a few others, all within 2 days.
Low Mill has now knocked our previous perennial favourite B&B off the top spot, by some margin!
We have already booked another couple of nights for Valentines next year!! This time we will enjoy the big copper bath and wood burner in the Workshop!! Roll on 2014!!!
Thank you both for a memorable weekend!!

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic so don't worry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed last night. Welcomed by Neil with a couple of ice cold drinks having cycled there from Harrogate. Our room was excellent, large comfortable bed, great copper bath and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was great, dippy eggs and soldiers and a full English...the whole place oozes quality, personal touch and a relaxed environment. Thanks also for the mug of tea whilst I mended the puncture!

Room Tip: The workshop is the room to go for...look out for the cow picture which I am convinced was a creativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Low Mill Guest House is a beautiful little find hidden away in tranquil Bainbridge in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales.

The guest house is wholly unique in that it was formerly a water mill and the history of the building is kept alive and well throughout the property. Neil is more than happy to turn on the water mill and show you it in action, which is a definite plus if you, like me, find these kind of things fascinating.

We stayed in the Kiln Room, which was clean, spacious, comfy and had great views of the river. The bathroom is modern and very stylish.

We only ate on one night, but the food was outstanding and a huge amount of it is locally sourced with is always nice to see. The homemade bread was delicious. The breakfast was also of a really high standard and the only issue is choosing what to have as it all sounded so tempting!

As with all guest houses and B&Bs what really makes or breaks the experience is the hosts. Neil and Jane were great throughout coupling top food with excellent conversation. Special mention for my new mate, Blackie the cat, too!

A gem of a place, in a gorgeous location, that absolutely epitomises all that is awesome about the Yorkshire Dales. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Kiln room was excellent, but having snuck a peek in The Workshop, it is probably worth paying that l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Low Mill Guest House in Bainbridge within the Yorkshire Dales

We first read about this highly unusual bed and breakfast setting in an informative article in the Guardian newspaper and were most satisfied with our recent experience of staying there in the Store Room. First impressions were outstanding in terms of location, decoration, hospitality and reception. After eating out at local restaurants we elected to have two evening meals at Low Mill and found the experience far better than eating out at a dedicated restaurant. We accessed lots of competent advice about what to do with our time when not out walking in the Dales and we were treated to a personal tour to see how this Mill had been tastefully renovated into its current residence. The photographs on their website attest to their uniqueness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Low Mill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Mill Guest House

Address: Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Low Mill Guest House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 18th century stone built cornmill in the picturesque village of Bainbridge. Waterwheel and working mill machinery throught the building. We have 3 luxury bedrooms and offer a fulldinner, bed and breakfast service. Beutiful riverside garden, open fires and central Dales location make Low Mill an ideal base for exploring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Mill Guest House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Mill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Low Mill Guest House to your Saves list