We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
UK
1 review
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We spent a week at this hotel over New Years & enjoyed evey minute of it. The service was excellent, from the reception we received by the Manager Heike to the all the hotel staff.
There was a variety of different dishes daily with a fabuluos spread on New Years Eve. The rooms were peaceful, clean and very comfortable.
We found plenty to do. Jet skis available just short walk down the beach along with a handfull of some very nice bars & restaurants. We didn't have to go far to find the local nightlife. Il Covo bar/restaurant is right next door. Great!
I stayed here 4 years ago and noticed some very positive changes. The rooms & bathrooms are new renovated & workmanship is really good.
Will definately be returning soon. Keep up thje good work Kenya Bay

  • Liked — The service by staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
62
58
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I stayed at the Kenya Bay Hotel as it was recommended by a friend. It was the most interesting stay I have had in Mombasa in years. The staff are courteous, the animators are innovative, friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent and well planned. The activities were enough to keep my family active, and most important the rooms were quite and well serviced. I am looking forward to another memorable holiday at Kenya Bay - more days this time!

  • Liked — Hospitality and the Involvement of the staff
  • Disliked — One has to book early to get a room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in December. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms as I was told it was a 3 star when i had booked it. The rooms were operated by key cards, there was a safe and TV present aswell. The Air conditioner even had a remote! The bathroom was very modern and was equipped with magnifying mirrors and hair dryers.
The food at the hotel was overall very good. I found the staff very friendly and especially helpful at the beach front in getting beds ready and delivering the much needed cold drinks while soaking up the sun!
The location of the hotel is excellent, restaurants and night clubs are literally next door. Go-karting (which i went to twice) was located a few minutes away aswell!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rss123
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Kenya Bay is excellent in every respect: friendly and efficient staff, great food (always a variety of dishes at all meal times), and ideally situated on bamburi beach (with options for arranging various watersports next door at Aquadrome, big bonus!). We stayed in rooms which had been newly renovated, the bathrooms were superb.

Oh and how could I forget...free internet!

Also found that the rates are cheaper if booked via their website. Having visited mombasa on numerous occasions in the past 20years, I can thoroughly recommended staying at Kenya Bay!

  • Liked — Location, food, rooms
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We contacted the hotel for a holiday stay after various non -satisfactory stays at some hotels in North coast. To our amazement the rates were similar to what we were paying elsewhere and getting bad food, overcrowded facilities etc. We were so happy last year with our stay that we decided to come back to the hotel this year and plan to come back next year! We spent quality time together and had fantastic food. The waiters and staff are very friendly and trustworthy. They listen to any matters raised whether minor or major.
The evening programme events after dinner add flavour to the enjoyable stay at the hotel. The swimming pool is great!
We have come to love this hotel and have recommended to some of our friends.
Mr. & Mrs. Cyrus Khalusi,
Nairobi, KENYA.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet.
  • Disliked — Beach - no collective responsibility to clean ocean trash.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Due to Bamburi Beach Resorts Manager not honouring their written confirmation just to earn a few more shillings IMy Kenyan wife and I checked in to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel at about 15minutes notice, gave us the Kenyan Resident rate by makibg sure my wifes name was the lead. No problem with choosing whichever meal plan you want. We needed to have a room to put our luggage for the day due to the fact we were travelling on the train on the following evening, The Bay's solution was a late check out at no extra charge. Also saw them check in some new guests early and arrangfor breakfast at no extra charge on the Sunday. They also had no problem with visitors from town (we had to organise some things with a friend who was getting married in Shanzu). The staff were all excellent at every stage of our stay

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The Reserving of tables for breakfast when there werent enough tables in the 1st place
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

My stay at Kenya Bay blew all expectations. Not only did the location meet all my needs but it felt like staying in a second home. All the staff were on hand ready to answer any questions and attend all my family's needs. It honestly was one of the best holidays of my life, watching the sun rise and set every day over the Indian Ocean. Thanks Kenya Bay for making my holiday picture perfect!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.