We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
nairobi
1 review
“easter holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

excellent superior rooms, loved the shower.. room set up and cleanliness up to scratch. help full staff. could use with a room service menu in the room for food.

Room Tip: definitely go for the superior rooms.. more spacious and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    88
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
73
60
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Kenya Bay is located right on Bamburi Beach and we really enjoyed staying there for 5 nights. The food was good and you can swap dinner for lunch, if you're on 1/2 board and know ahead of time you won't be there for dinner. Very convenient and flexible!

Evening entertainment every night at 21:00. Friendly staff who come serve you drinks while you're laying on the sunbeds. Can put the drinks charge on your hotel bill, so no need to carry any petty cash while laying out. The room itself was fine for the amount of time we spent in it (not much), so no complaints there.

NOTE: they do not accept US$ issued after year 2000. This is not stated anywhere on the hotel website or at reception. BIG PROBLEM because we set aside the exact amount of US$ to pay upon checkout on the last day. Two of the $20 bills were the older series (all green) and they wouldn't accept it. We didn't have any other US$ on us, since it was the last day and we were leaving. It was a whole fiasco and they expected me to go to the ATM and exchange shillings for new US$ bills. Luckily, we found some friends who had newer $20 bills to let us borrow!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I really liked it for a short stay in Mombasa. It is safe, rooms are clean. And you have access to the fabulous beach just a minute walk from your room. They are quite flexible. If you are going to safari very early in the morning they will offer you early breakfast. They can even send you a postcard if you leave them. We had small lizard in our room once but the action was really fast and it was removed swiftly.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Sadly, I have mostly brick bats for this hotel. I booked the renovated room with a supplement for my 6yr old twins.
Rooms weren't ready, even though we arrived 2hrs after check in - kept waiting 30min.

Then we found the following room issues:
* only on extra single bed - ended with a child in with us - yay....:-(
* damaged shower head sprayed the whole bathroom with water, regardless of the angle
* tiny wee bath/shower combo
* safe not working, nor the fridge (switched off & mouldy)

The other major yuk was cockroaches around the buffet area on multiple occasions!
We won't be back.

Room Tip: If what we stayed in was a renovated room, there are no good options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice palm tree garden with monkeys and lizards and crabs walking freely. The deluxe rooms are under renovation, our room (105) was renovated but looked still in need renovation (molds on the wall, but bathroom looked nice). Our room was next to the Acacia restaurant, with sea view, in the silent side. There were guards in both side, felt safe. Big room, with efficient and silent aircon. Comfortable bed. Clean room, cleaning stuff very nice and helpful. Nice pool and a small children pool. There was some Kiddies play area, but noticed just one day before leaving, we did not get any info about it and about the entertainment programs from the hotel stuff. There were every evening (from 9pm) shows (acrobats, dancers..) on the stage, that kids loved. Food was good, but many times dessert disappeared quickly if you did not come early. There were african, indian, italian, even hungarian food (which was very good). We were on half board. Breakfast was the same, sausage, eggs (made different ways), baked beens, some indian,jams, fruits. Dinner with soups, and a good selection of different dishes, with some cakes and biscuits and fruits. Tea was served at 4pm with sponge cookie for hotel guests. This was really nice, it was very good to have a warm tea (coffee, hot/cold milk) even the temperature was 37 degrees (mid December). There was a local wedding arranged one afternoon with tribe performance that we could watch from our terrace from 15 m. It was interesting. There was disco/dancing nights at the stage and at the Frangipani bar, but we never attended. There were nice beach restaurants just outside the hotel, eg il Covo (italian) with very nice food, in european prices. The sea was very warm, approx 29-30 degrees but not very practical for swimming due to high tides. Sellers, trip organizers on the beach, this seems very annoying for some people, I did not mind it at all. We reserved trips with Smile Tours on the beach, we were very satisfied. Good location for trips to Tsavo, Ngomongo, Malindi, boat trips. Haller park is 2 kms away. Free internet at the lobby and wifi in public areas. Big LCD TV in room but only a few channels, sometimes only one working. Nice long walks on the beach, sunset not visible.

Receptionists not very helpful, no information told us about meals, entertainment programs. Renovated room did not look really renovated (moulds, fridge was min 35 years old, BUT worked fine). One chair on the terrace, after few days the friendly cleaner gave us another one without asking for it.Small ants in the room, everywhere. Restaurant, bar are not airconditioned, flys are on the food. Not even fans operated. Not enough sunbeds around the pool. All reserved from morning, I could not have any during our one week stay. Well maintained garden but coconuts and palm leaves falling regularly. Packed food on trip days is very poor (dry toast bread, with one egg, tiny croissant, two bananas, with no any drink). A bottle of water would have been just fine to give us. It was a bit expensive, compared to european standard but everything is in Mombasa for tourists.

I liked the hotel and recommend it!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms on the right side of the Acacia restaurant are silent and with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for 1 week. Old and dated. security box did not work. We asked to be fixed but it never happened. We had a TV without a remote control. We asked for a remote but we never got one. Tried to asked for help for booking tours but the front desk was not helpful. We ended up walking to the Bamburi Hotel to get help. Not fan of the food either. Even though we paid for 1/2 board we ended up eating most nights at Yul's restaurant a few steps from the hotel.
Also...not the hotel's fault but we could not swim in the ocean during the day because the low tie took place from the morning until 3pm. The only good part of my whole trip to the area was going to Tsavo National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Pretty empty hotel (especially for a mid July!): 30 people max. The regular rooms have seen better days!!! Thank goodness our stay was for just 3 days and we had just experienced a wonderful 8 day safari in premium camps/lodges. I could not wait to leave to go home.The old rooms(AC) are very worn and damp. Although, they come with a terrace the door did not lock. We asked for it to be fixed but it was not during our stay. Moldy/worn sofas. Painting needs to be done. Bathroom full of calcium and dirty joints. This is not what a 100 euros hotel should look like (more a 30 dollar old motel). We complained and just got a room not on the ground floor and looking a bit nicer. It looks like they are renovating some rooms and the deluxe rooms are better but for 240 euros you can get a better hotel for sure!

Nice staff, trying to entertain you every evening (dances) trying to make the best of that run down hotel. Buffet food is ok with some local cuisine but very basic. 2 PC with internet free of charge. Beach is nice but loads of sellers so nobody actually tan on it without being harassed.. You can walk though and go to nearby Il Covo or Roberto’s or Yul’s bar for lunch. You tan on your chair by the swimming pool overlooking the beach (security with baseball bat keeps sellers away!). The sea has tide.

Bamburi Nature trails in front (can rent bikes or walk in a reconverted cement factory + butterfly garden). Plus Haller park nearby if haven’t seen enough animals on safari + supermarket not too far (need matatu or tuk tuk (1.5 euros)), Cab from the hotel are way overpriced (10 euros round trip). Matatu to Mombasa 50cent(local) 70(tourist) or 20 euros cab from the hotel. Don’t be scared

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.