We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Beach Hotel & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travellers Beach Hotel & Club to your Saves list
Travellers Beach Hotel & Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just returned from the Travellers Beach Hotel where we spent the second week of our honeymoon. We chose this hotel because it was the cheapest one listed when we booked the holiday, yet having read up about it, it seemed okay so we decided we would give it a go. We had made friends with some people we met on safari the week before, and they were stopping at the Voyager. When we dropped them off first, we did wonder if we had made a mistake as the Voyager looked fantastic, but as soon as we arrived at the Travellers we knew we had made the right decision.

The hotel itself is lovely. The grounds are beautiful, the location is perfect. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. I can't compliment the cleaning staff enough. Each day they were in, cleaning the room and changing our sheets. The room was immaculate and the bed was perfectly made.

We stopped half board, choosing to pay for our light lunch each day rather than go all-inclusive. The food was reasonably priced, and of top quality. The catering and waiting staff were also excellent. There was plenty of choice of food at all times of day, and the waiting staff cleared the tables as soon as we had finished each course. You would never get this level of service back home! All the staff were excellent, but I would especially like to give mention to Latan, who was our waiter for the week and was brilliant. He couldn't have been more friendly and helpful so special thanks to him for making our holiday special.

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly - everyone will speak to you, calling out a cheerful "Jambo!" as you walk past. This is true of the reception staff, all the staff working in the bars and restaurants, the cleaners and maintenance staff, the pool staff and the security guards. We felt like we had got to know everyone in that week and we were quite sad to leave there.

So, my advice to anyone reading this review and wondering whether to choose the Travellers Beach Hotel is to go for it. Over and over my husband and I said how we were glad we hadn't paid extra and gone elsewhere as we couldn't have got anything extra that we didn't get at the Travellers. I want to return to Kenya (both for safari and Mombasa), and when we do return to Mombasa I will definitely be staying at the Travellers again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor on the half-board side. We were overlooking the gardens with the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    202
    60
    19
    24
See reviews for
161
229
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here with our school when went out to Kenya to help with the local schools. The food was delicious and pretty varied, especially breakfast. The overall look of the hotel was beautiful and the view from our balcony was stunning. The staff were very friendly, however they did trry to fool us with tap water in bottles with a broken seal, so always check! But there was no hesitation to swap it for some real bottled water. The welcome was very heartwarming!

Some are definitely aiming to return in the future!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although visitor numbers to Kenya are pretty low at the moment, the attention to detail by the Travellers Beach Club (all-inclusive)) and its staff was still excellent. This family owned hotel is pleasant, clean and well served by its dedicated staff. Because it was quiet we were offered a choice of rooms and a change of rooms if we wanted. The first choice was accepted and kept.The hotel allocates a table in the dining room, which is always available & kept free whatever you choose to do. The hotel will always arrange trips or activities if you wish but does not push sales or services. The hotel was undergoing quite discreet refurbishment/decorating in this quiet season, but we felt there was no intrusion into our holiday. We will stay again and use the services of Somak holidays to book this location, whilst we also safari into new places in Kenya. The swimming pools were always immaculately clean.

Room Tip: Whilst all rooms at the Club are air conditioned(inclusive), the top floor can get very warm as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We only stayed here for 4 nights, after our safari, but what a quality stay it was. Very happy staff who we talked to, had been there for many years. This indicates a well run hotel. The rooms, the grounds were all well kept. We were on half board and found the food very good with an excellent choice.
Would we go again, Definitely

Room Tip: A room facing the pool, gives you a sunshine balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel was very good and the staff where out of this world always willing to help at anytime and always have time to talk to you like benson the doorman (well there is no door) he is very funny and Jackson the security man by the steps down to the beach he likes to talk about anythink and he makes you feel very safe, there are 12 security men in and around the hotel day and night the beach boys are not as bad as some are saying some of them do walk and talk with you when you are on the beach if you don't want this or don't want to buy anything just tell them no and they are ok with that and you still feel safe there the food in the hotel was also very good and hot all of the time and every day you had a new bottle of water put in your room which helps at night and I would go back there

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautiful place with wonderful people. We had a great relaxing holiday. We were made to feel very special by the staff. Would stay there again most definitely!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been going to this hotel on average twice a year for many years having stayed at several mombasa hotels previously. We now look upon it as our second home in Kenya, it would be very hard to fault it in any way. It is very clean in all aspects, all the staff are friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay and your holiday happy and memorable. We last stayed Feb./Mar. this year and are very much looking forward to our next visit later in the year. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones facing the sea but sometimes can be a bit noisy late at night with people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Beach Hotel & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Hotel & Club

Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travellers Beach Hotel & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Beach Hotel is dedicated to give you a relaxed and home like feeling. Travellers Beach hotel provides a 4 star accommodation facility with luxurious amenities to enhance your stay and make it a memorable one. The amenities include; telephone services, split air conditioner, balconies with panoramic view of the ocean and the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Travellers Beach Hotel & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel And Club
Travellers Beach Bamburi
Hotel Travellers Beach
Travellers Beach Hotel Mombasa
Travellers Beach Hotel Kenya
Travellers Beach Hotel & Club Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.