We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Severin Sea Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Severin Sea Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bedlington { - NORTHUMBERLAND}
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My stay at Severin Sea Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Severin Sea Lodge and I found the hotel very very nice, staff were very friendly rooms were large and clean and the food was excellent. The swimming pool and the grounds were very well cared for. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the higher rooms and found the view was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    129
    43
    27
    7
See reviews for
55
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i went with a few friends for one night as we were moving on to the south coast...
the rooms were amazing and clean ...we got upgraded to the superior room, which was nice and had a view of the pool and the sea.
the swing bar was my favourite place in the hotel... it over looks the beach and sea and was great for a sundowner drink.
we got great service and hospitality.
the only thing I did not like was the breakfast.... but all in all was a great hotel.

Room Tip: get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east markham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ahd been to Kenya to see friends and as part of the flight deal we had a one night stop in Mombassa as we had an early flight to UK.
When we had taken this before we had been placed in a not very nice hotel and an awful room.
What a surprise the Severin Sea Lodge was. We will certainly return here and use as a base for a safari holiday.
Room was excellent, staff were friendly, food in the a la carte was not only excellent quality but excellent value. Oscar the waiter was very funny insisting he was 6' 3'' when in reality he was 5'10''. It was a very funny evening and we really enjoyed it. Nice guests as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited here end of Sept/ start of October and booked here with Thomson. Excellent value for money and great rooms and pool. Watch out for the monkeys, really funny and cute but will steal anything.

We came here B&B which I would recommend, I think we might have got a little bored of the buffet.

On arrival our room was upgraded, really nice service in the hotel and really helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Honeymooned at this hotel, and felt like it too, we were treated amazingly from the moment we arrived. the service we had from everyone from the restaurants to the bars and even the pool lads ( SILAS, we were treated like celebs, the food amazing the setting even better, we would return in the blink of an eye, and would recommend anyone if you get the opportunity visit this amazing country and let it change your life as it did ours, highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is a brilliant place to stay, Just come back from 2 weeks there, the service, staff rooms are brilliant. The rooms have just been refurbished and are cool clean and comfortable. The food good, a mixture of a la carte and buffet loads to choose from, slow service at times when busy but if you are in a hurry let the staff know and they will be double quick. The manager was brilliant he donated lots of surplus supplies to our charitly to help out a local orphanage. Just to mention too the all important air conditioning was amazing never let us down was clean and comfortable and did not get the usual throat thing going on, so well serviced thanks to adam's company http://www.panashcoairconditioning.com
I have been to Kenya 3 times in 18 months now, stayed in differing hotels and apart from the amazingly expensive white sands I cannot fault this hotel. You won't be dissapointed. Thanks to management and staff for making our stay one to remember x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I just checked to see it was convenient but not at all, there are more hotels with same service and better prices (half of it). The only nice thing is the pool facing the ocean and its garden, but if you are in another hotel and going there for a drink is the same....

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.